User panel stuff on forum
  98 posts on 4 pages  First page1234Last page
General Discussion
2006-07-14, 22:58
54 posts

Jul 2006
Story:
We need more active players in the qw-community. As the 10year anniveristy has gone by I was thinking it needs a reincarnation.
So we started chatting on irc about what is needed to get new players in the game we came up with a few suggestions.

And I also want to say that fix has a point about CB.
So my suggestion is a reintroduction to QW and making a sign-up on the duelmania page. If enough sign then we go over to CB and make the tournament happend there.
The thing is with the CB suggestion. Is that we need some experienced and hard working admins for it to work and if needed I will help out in anyway that I can ( I was an admin in duelmania a year ago ).

Quakeworld reintroduction plan:

Reintroducion of quakeworld ( Quakeworld II maybe )
More advanced clients with auto-update and auto-download for missing files etc
Change the default texture to better quality ones ( since the default is shit )
More details in the options ( more commands in an advanced menu )
Easier change of texture
More maps need to be introduced ( I know we have tried but we play the same maps as we did 10 years ago )
Some introduction for new players
More help if the game doesnt want to start or connect to a server
A browser with support for downloading/installing mods ( ctf, tf , ra )
A mod/program for Multispeccing a live game with coverage
A newbie tournament.
More FFA servers.
An server auto-update browser ( kinda like ASE)
The main part for all this is that new players watch the gfx first and the feeling second, so you have to make
a good first impression or else you lose 50% of the new people that brings us to a Cool intro.

We could use alot more suggestions.
But mostly for a project like this
We need:

Programers
Designers
Testpanel
Mapdesigners ( again )
Someone to program a auto-download/update system.
And ofcourse someone to cordinate everything