User panel stuff on forum
  9 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2020-03-09, 08:05
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Sep 2019
Hi!
I'm on my MacBook trying to play nQuake/ezQuake.
After a whole lot of problems I was able to fix it (with help from people over here).
Now, however, I can't play using my mouse fully.
I have 'contact' but I can't use it more than strafe, etc.
I can't look down/up/to the side.

Tried everything from mlook, in_grab, in_released, in_raw etc.
Nothing works.
When I try to allow_scripts it just says that its 'write protected'.
Tried to put it in the cfg, but still nothing works.

How the f*** will I be able to play and use my mouse fully?

Best regards,
Chaosin
2020-03-09, 19:33
Member
203 posts

Registered:
Feb 2011
I'm far from an expert but all I can say is it works for me

Have you tried with the trackpad just to see if that works?
To be clear, it's +mlook, not mlook.

Also scripts are write protected probably because of your ruleset. /disconnect, /ruleset default, enable your scripts, then /reconnect.

Finally, what version of ezquake are you on? Might want to try an updated version versus what comes with nquake.
And what version of MacOS?
2020-03-10, 08:42
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Sep 2019
BLooD_DoG wrote:
I'm far from an expert but all I can say is it works for me

Have you tried with the trackpad just to see if that works?
To be clear, it's +mlook, not mlook.

Also scripts are write protected probably because of your ruleset. /disconnect, /ruleset default, enable your scripts, then /reconnect.

Finally, what version of ezquake are you on? Might want to try an updated version versus what comes with nquake.
And what version of MacOS?


The same with the trackpad as the mouse.
I know its +mlook and that ain't helping still.
Nothing happens.
I can click on the mouse, but can't turn up, down, nor to the side.

It worked to allow scripts with doing exactly that, but nothing works still in the mouse movement.
Still when I try to change the in_raw, in_grab, in_release-settings - Almost automatically makes it crash.

I believe there must be something blocking in the settings on the system for some reason, but I can't figure out what.
I say that since I tried once to install windows on the mac, and that made it work. But the flaws with windows wasn't the best so I wanna get it on MacOS.
Did the mistake to accidentally update to Catalina recently... BUT....
But - I had exactly the same issue with Mojave, Maverick etc
I can't be able to get the mouse movement working.
F'd up
2020-03-10, 16:49
News Writer
402 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Maybe just test it with an other client Afterquake.
2020-03-10, 17:50
Member
339 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
If it crashes we are definitely interested in a crash log.

I know we hunted a crash for ages until it turned out that the .pak files were somewhoe corrupt or contained some weird file causing it to blow.

What mouse? Any third party mouse/input drivers installed?
2020-03-10, 18:44
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Sep 2019
Tuna wrote:
If it crashes we are definitely interested in a crash log.

I know we hunted a crash for ages until it turned out that the .pak files were somewhoe corrupt or contained some weird file causing it to blow.

What mouse? Any third party mouse/input drivers installed?


Oh okey.
Where can I find separate .pak-files to download?

Tried a few different.
Both logitech and a cheaper one.
USB, both of em.
2020-03-11, 16:15
Member
339 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Yes, but is for example some Logitech, Wacom or Razer software installed? These may interfere (and have so in the past).
2020-03-11, 19:47
Member
338 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
in_raw '0'
in_raw '1'

if I remember correctly, there is a bug in newer OSX versions or something
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2020-06-18, 19:20
Member
1 post

Registered:
Jun 2020
Same sh*t Bro.
Did you solve it? I'm using apple original mouse.
  9 posts on 1 page  1