User panel stuff on forum
  8 posts on 1 page  1
Server Talk
2019-05-29, 11:11
3 posts

May 2019
Noob here,
Read through all the docs and have a nquake server running on a Linux VPS with one game server.
Everything works fine, Can connect, play, etc.

What I would like to do now is get a bash script to be executed every time a match has ended / server loads a new map.
The idea is that the script pings a telegram bot I have made and sends end of match details to all of the bot's subscribers.
The script works fine I'm i manually execute it server side, however I am having a hard time trying to figure out how to get it to run when a match ends.

I've tried to exec the script from the server.cfg & reset.cfg scripts that sit in the ktx folder serverside.
However I am unsure if:
A) You can even exec a bash script from a .cfg file
B) That the server.cfg & reset.cfg files are called when the server is re-loaded on match end

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, any insight is appreciated!
2019-05-29, 16:45
Administrator
2059 posts

Jan 2006
Bash scripts from configs is not possible i think.

Maybe you could try to monitor whenever there's a new demo saved in ktx/demos folder instead?
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2019-05-29, 21:08
805 posts

Mar 2006
Use the bash script to monitor the log file! I used that to compile custom messages for Urban Terror (a Q3 mod)!

edit.: python is probably a better choice
https://tinyurl.com/qwbrasil - QuakeFiles
2019-05-31, 10:16
3 posts

May 2019
Thanks both, Didn't even cross my mind to try either of those ideas!

Will let you know how it goes.
2019-05-31, 11:04
Administrator
2059 posts

Jan 2006
Might be worth checking out sv_demotxt in mvdsv.cfg too, enabling it will generate a text file with match info in it that you could parse for more info.

sv_demotxt 1 = generate .txt
sv_demotxt 2 = generate .json
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2019-05-31, 12:21
Administrator
284 posts

Sep 2015