User panel stuff on forum
  13 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2014-05-09, 13:16
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Years ago I remember getting a copy of a QW client which would just open in a DOS box and give you access to the QW command-line including connecting to servers and running commands but displayed no graphics at all.

It was, I believe, used for testing purposes as you could connect 10 players to server from one computer and the would just sit there etc.

Does anyone have a copy of this? I would like to put it on a USB stick and give it to a couple of my work colleagues and have them connect to a QW server so I can see what kind of ping they get to hopefully aid me in getting a new ISP. XS4All doesn't use ADSL fastpath so I get 15-25ms higher ping compared to what I had before.
2014-05-09, 13:44
Administrator
104 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
dirtbox, try this
play.quake1.pl
2014-05-09, 14:10
Administrator
1021 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Just note that what you mean with ping is totally dependent on the physical frame rate (it's lower end is limited to # of fps)
2014-05-12, 08:06
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
d2 wrote:
dirtbox, try this

Thanks d2... unfortunately it just looks like source code and not an executable
2014-05-12, 09:44
Administrator
104 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
dirtbox wrote:
d2 wrote:
dirtbox, try this

Thanks d2... unfortunately it just looks like source code and not an executable


OK, check lib/ directory here
play.quake1.pl
2014-05-12, 15:03
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
d2 wrote:
OK, check lib/ directory here
Thanks D2 however I am not able to execute the application. It reports it is not compatible with my version of Windows (Win7). I tried running it in compatibility mode as Win XP, Win98 and Win95 but all get the same error. Any idea?
2014-05-12, 16:56
Administrator
104 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
dirtbox wrote:
d2 wrote:
OK, check lib/ directory here
Thanks D2 however I am not able to execute the application. It reports it is not compatible with my version of Windows (Win7). I tried running it in compatibility mode as Win XP, Win98 and Win95 but all get the same error. Any idea?


Well I suppose you run just an exe file. Please make sure there is cygwin1.dll file in the same place where thin_client.exe. I compiled it under Win7 64bit using cygwin:
thin_client.exe: PE32 executable (console) Intel 80386, for MS Windows


I also tested it with Windows XP 32bit and it worked:

Microsoft Windows XP [Wersja 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

F:\demo_download\lib>thin_client.exe
Exe: 22:48:00 May 4 2014
Hunk allocation: 16.0 MB.

ThinClient version 1.0 (build 4451)

ThinClient Initialized
based on FuhQuake
couldn't exec default.cfg
play.quake1.pl
2014-05-13, 07:45
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Yeah I got all of the files including the .dll... I have Windows 7, 64-bit...
2014-05-13, 07:58
Administrator
104 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
dirtbox wrote:
Yeah I got all of the files including the .dll... I have Windows 7, 64-bit...


It's working there too. Look

Microsoft Windows [Wersja 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Wszelkie prawa zastrzeżone.

e:\demo_downloader\_ready\demo_download\lib>dir
2014-05-12 22:34 <DIR> .
2014-05-12 22:34 <DIR> ..
2014-05-07 19:39 24 autoexec.cfg
2014-05-07 19:28 25 crcs.cfg
2014-04-07 13:45 3 193 245 cygwin1.dll
2014-05-05 10:50 10 556 servers.txt
2014-05-05 10:40 787 748 thin_client
2014-05-04 22:51 219 625 thin_client.exe
6 plik(ów) 4 211 223 bajtów
2 katalog(ów) 4 925 243 392 bajtów wolnych

e:\demo_downloader\_ready\demo_download\lib>thin_client.exe
Exe: 22:48:00 May 4 2014
Hunk allocation: 16.0 MB.

ThinClient version 1.0 (build 4451)

ThinClient Initialized
based on FuhQuake
couldn't exec default.cfg

^C
e:\demo_downloader\_ready\demo_download\lib>


Could you please share exact error message that you are receiving? Maybe screenshot so I can see it and give you proper solution
play.quake1.pl
2014-05-13, 08:03
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
http://s30.postimg.org/5ufhxp4xd/2014_05_13_10_01_57_client.png
2014-05-13, 08:07
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I get a different error if I run it from a command prompt

http://s27.postimg.org/spqm1m4z7/2014_05_13_10_06_33_Unsupported_16_Bit_Applicati.png
2014-05-13, 08:38
Member
312 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
You could try Dosbox, I think it has network support. Either that or install a 32 bit OS.
2014-05-13, 09:13
Administrator
104 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
mipa wrote:
You could try Dosbox, I think it has network support. Either that or install a 32 bit OS.


mipa it's not related to dosbox at all. It's a problem with version of cygwin under which thin_client was compiled for Windows I'm preparing new version of it for dirtobox to test, we'll see if it works.


EDIT: recompilled, working version:
http://quake.tdhack.com/tc.tar.gz
play.quake1.pl
  13 posts on 1 page  1