User panel stuff on forum
  17 posts on 1 page  1
Advanced Configuration
2006-07-05, 10:55
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
Managed to get qw setup running under linux and overall its not bad doesn't seem to have any fps drop keeps a nice constant 77 fps.

My problem seems to be trying to remove the mouse acceleration from the client

my command line looks something like this and i disable vsync

if i am using a usb mouse i run with the settings below even after running those settings the mouse still doesn't quite feel right.
I set the rtctimer to 1024 as well

echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq
xset m 0 800
xinit ./ezquake-gl.glx -bpp 32 width 640 -height 480 -conwidth 320 -conheight 240 -mem 128 -fullscreen -mmt -rtctimer

or if i use evdev

xset m 0 800
xinit ./ezquake-gl.glx -bpp 32 width 640 -height 480 -conwidth 320 -conheight 240 -mem 128 -fullscreen -mmt -rtctimer -mevdev /dev/input/event2


If I switch to a PS2 connection in my linux kernel for some reason locked at 100hz after i changed a few settings and recompiled to make it run at 200hz it still feels abit funny.

Anyone have any tips on getting the best performance out of the system and mouse for a linux setup


My other problem is with the sound setup I have the sound running but no matter how loud I increase the volume for some reason spawn sounds are not as noticable as if I was using windows.

Thanks in advance for any advice that can be given.
dom
2006-07-05, 11:47
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
you want 'xset m 1 1', then adjust your 'sensitivity' ingame if its too slow

you might also want to add 'xset s noblank' to prevent blanking when watching demos etc.

wait a minute, you're doing xinit ./ezquake so i assume you're not actually running X when you launch this cmd? if not then xset might not be having any effect

maybe try

xinit xset m 1 1 && ./ezquake-gl
2006-07-06, 10:58
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
xset seems to work for me even if its before it.

I gave xset m 1 1 a go but feels worse for me.

Definately some sort of lag or drag with the both settings I have tried. Perhaps its something related to the priority that the mouse is running at compared to other things. If I move the same physical distance with the mouse it doesn't give the same response.
2006-07-12, 20:16
Member
810 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
i use this:

ezquake-gl.glx -current -fullscreen -bpp16 -width 1024 -height 786 -conwidth 512 -conheight 412 -ruleset smackdown +cfg_load burps.cfg -gamma 2.0 -norjscripts -nokdga -mem 128 -rtctimer

I don't use xset settings. I adjust sens with sensitivity "8.0"

maybe someone can post something better?
2006-07-19, 20:16
Member
810 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
if you use evdev (and you REALLY should) xset m is not necessary. evdev reads directly from the mouse so you don't get filtered by any middlehands (like directinput for windows, except directetinput is goes through the driver, so people who use windows for gaming should not install drivers and always use -dinput )
2006-07-24, 11:50
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
evdev for lack of a better explaination feels - too damn slow.
2006-07-29, 16:35
Member
810 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
dom wrote:
evdev for lack of a better explaination feels - too damn slow.

I guess you normally play with some kind of acceleration then
2006-07-29, 23:33
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I could use some help too, I'll just post what I did on besmella
Quote:
I have a small(for me it's big) problem, I don't have any sound in my fuhquake when running Ubuntu(latest version)
since I've only started using Linux I have no idea what could be wrong, anyone with knowledge of this or some similiar past problem might be able to help?
can't really think of hardware/software stuff to list so just ask if there's something I should say that might affect the problem.
I do get some "error" when starting fuhquake, looks like this:
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/9933/fuhquake000as9.th.jpg

notice the "Could not open /dev/dsp" and S_startup: SNDDMA_Init failed"-parts
2006-07-30, 03:24
Member
4 posts

Registered:
May 2006
As root you need to issue the following command:

echo fuhquake-gl.glx 0 0 direct > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss

of course replace fuhquake-gl.glx with your executable name, works with ezquake as well if you choose to use oss instead of alsa.
2006-07-30, 03:35
Member
4 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Just thought I would make a general post regarding mouse rate in linux. As of kernel 2.6.12 or so which is a year old now mouse rate is adjustable as a kernel parameter. Just make sure usbhid is enabled in your kernel (likely already is), then edit your boot loader config file (likely /boot/grub/grub.conf or something similar). For example I use:

kernel /kernel-2.6.17-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/sda3 usbhid.mousepoll=1

This makes the mouse operate at 1000hz. 2=500hz 4=250hz, etc.
2006-07-30, 11:43
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ult wrote:
As root you need to issue the following command:

echo fuhquake-gl.glx 0 0 direct > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss

of course replace fuhquake-gl.glx with your executable name, works with ezquake as well if you choose to use oss instead of alsa.

didn't really do it for me
2006-07-30, 15:05
Member
4 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Does sound work on your box in other applications\games? With xmms or mpg123? Are they using alsa or oss? What if you try oss? (ctrl-P in xmms)
2006-07-30, 18:27
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
yes, works on xmms, beep, vlc and they use alsa
but, mplayer, firefox, fuhquake and teamspeakRC2 does not have sound :/ which is odd
how do I configure oss then?
2006-08-02, 11:28
Member
810 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
I don't use oss, it never worked with multiple applications playing sound on my setup. I play with ezquake which uses alsa for sound.
Oh, and teamspeak is a dumb application, it works only with oss and it will block the soundcard. A way around this is to use a second soundcard for teamspeak or wait for a newer version of teamspeak

Anyway: here is a FAQ with some tips for linux gamers http://www.icculus.org/lgfaq/
2006-08-04, 17:59
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
argh, so am I doomed?
2006-08-04, 20:11
Member
637 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
you're not, start your teamspeak through the alsa mixer, alsa -m teamspeak or something, I can't remember, been ages since I used shitnux
http://slip.4.pl/ - unblocking myspace facebook firewall
2006-08-05, 14:37
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
heh, I'm more interested in sounds in quake before I set up teamspeak
thanks anyway
  17 posts on 1 page  1