User panel stuff on forum
  32 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
Client Talk
2018-04-03, 10:43
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
Before I completely break the nightly builds with renderer updates, it would be good to get 3.1 rounded off.

At the moment the breaking issues I'm aware of are:
  • Server browser issues on OSX (krychu has pull request open so this should be resolved soon)
  • Crosshair image changes - the fix for rendering /crosshairimage relative to the image's resolution requires config change, should try and disable this by default
  • Windows XP - crashes on load? Does anyone have ezQuake 3.1 working on Windows XP?


Is there any other big bugs in 3.1? If they were in previous versions then they'll have to wait, would be good to get 3.1 finished in the next week or so.

You can grab the latest nightly builds here
2018-04-04, 18:29
Member
130 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Is Intel video among supported currently?
Back in time many quake clients had troubles with them.
In ezquake it was fixed. (By forbidding writing to the front buffer directly as I remember.)
Now it is broken.
2018-04-05, 07:49
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
Hi sss

Apologies, I know you reported this in the other topic and didn't get a reply.

I'm not sure of any reason you're having problems on Intel, and on the two Intel systems I have here (such as they are) seem fine. Did 3.0.1 work okay for you?
If so could you have a look through the nightly builds (keep cutting the difference in half) and try to isolate which build caused the problem?

Thanks,
meag
2018-04-05, 13:10
Member
41 posts

Registered:
Apr 2017
I've been using a Intel HD 5000 for 2 years now and I've had no problems.


I'm looking forward to testing the new renderer, Meag!
2018-04-05, 13:37
Administrator
2036 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I'm on a laptop with HD4600 and latest nightly works for me on Windows at least.
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2018-04-05, 17:29
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
sss: could it be related to this? https://github.com/ezQuake/ezquake-source/issues/99?
2018-04-30, 16:49
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
The remaining bugs seem to be related to video displays and I'm not sure we can do too much about them, so I'd rather just draw a line under 3.1

If everyone can try and use the latest nightly (available from top of list here) and report bugs (new features will have to wait, sorry), then we can hopefully get this finished at last.
2018-05-02, 17:10
Member
86 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
meag wrote:
  • Windows XP - crashes on load? Does anyone have ezQuake 3.1 working on Windows XP?



I had Windows XP, but it borked and I don't remember ezquake, with Windows 2000, 3.1 shows a window "program error", 3.0.1, white screen and a program error, 2.2 works.
2018-05-02, 17:17
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
Korni wrote:
meag wrote:
  • Windows XP - crashes on load? Does anyone have ezQuake 3.1 working on Windows XP?



I had Windows XP, but it borked and I don't remember ezquake, with Windows 2000, 3.1 shows a window "program error", 3.0.1, white screen and a program error, 2.2 works.


Hmmm, hadn't heard of issue with 3.0.1. We got to the bottom of this for the individual who had the problem for 3.1, and it also runs on Window XP in a virtual machine for me now (+1 to dedication) so this sounds like a different issue. Did any version of 3.0 work?
2018-05-02, 18:40
Member
86 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
meag wrote:

Did any version of 3.0 work?


3.0 doesn't work as well. It's either something missing in unofficial win2000 updates or missing sse2 in cpu, assuming a radeon 9100 is enough.
2018-05-03, 22:26
Member
86 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
I have a working xp now. Latest version doesn't show any error message, doesn't work. Previous show missing reggetvaluea in advapi32.dll. Latest working 2016-10-26.
2018-05-04, 07:24
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
This is great Korni thanks for testing.

So just to be clear: http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2016-11-02-ad6618c-ezquake.7z *doesn't* work
but http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2016-10-26-b1e3acb-ezquake.7z does?
2018-05-04, 11:00
Member
86 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
Sry. 2016-11-02 works. 2016-12-23 doesn't.
2018-05-04, 11:28
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
Korni wrote:
Sry. 2016-11-02 works. 2016-12-23 doesn't.


Okay, 2016-12-23 includes "DEMO_CAPTURE: Video output bug " which is unfortunately where I broke it with the "missing reggetvaluea in advapi32.dll" (32-bit Windows XP doesn't have this included).

I'll private message you with a bunch of builds with that commit fixed and others played on top, hopefully that will narrow it down a bit more.
2018-05-08, 13:22
Member
322 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
I probably have to test further - but on macOS the experience is horrible atm. My Macbook Air only does around 160 fps or so (by hardware) - but by default (without vsnyc) there is a lot of stutter - maybe even worse than stuffer.. it lags horribly every half a second or so and the FPS vary a lot. When enabling vsync the experience is pretty smooth.
2018-05-08, 18:43
Member
31 posts

Registered:
Oct 2009
for me it just crashes, when fiddling with s_desiredsamples.
win10 960gtx , asus xonar soundcard :l

switched from 512 to 1024, horrible sound started and game froze, had to hold reset button and reboot pc :l

(Edited 2018-05-08, 19:46)
ReppieDoksing!
2018-05-08, 19:27
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wimpeeh wrote:
for me it just crashes, when fiddling with s_desiredsamples.
win10 960gtx , asus xonar soundcard :l


What values cause it to crash?
2018-05-10, 22:17
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wimpeeh wrote:
for me it just crashes, when fiddling with s_desiredsamples.
win10 960gtx , asus xonar soundcard :l

switched from 512 to 1024, horrible sound started and game froze, had to hold reset button and reboot pc :l


If you do s_restart, what sound driver is it using?
2018-05-11, 10:31
Member
31 posts

Registered:
Oct 2009
SDL audio driver: direct sound @ 44100 hz
ReppieDoksing!
2018-05-13, 07:35
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wimpeeh wrote:
SDL audio driver: direct sound @ 44100 hz


Managed to make it crash/hang on s_restart with absurd values (your values aren't absurd but maybe it's linked), made a small change to SDL to try and stop that... can you try latest nightly and see if that helps at all?
2018-05-13, 15:28
Member
31 posts

Registered:
Oct 2009
seems i dont need to change values. 512 performs without crackling noises, altho i havent tried it on multiplayer yet.
and changing the values doesnt make it crash, (so far)
ReppieDoksing!
2018-06-06, 07:27
Member
363 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
I'm trying many, many latest nighty builds, but everyone freezes in a white screen when opening...
the newest, only one working, is a 10mb build from 2017-08-15: 3.1-dev r5069~7f28070

also, I saw someone using a 3.5 alpha build, is it real ?
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2018-06-06, 08:17
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wernerml wrote:
I'm trying many, many latest nighty builds, but everyone freezes in a white screen when opening...
the newest, only one working, is a 10mb build from 2017-08-15: 3.1-dev r5069~7f28070

also, I saw someone using a 3.5 alpha build, is it real ?


Can you confirm 2017-09-20-ad33a25 _doesn't_ work? The changes between the two seem to be very minor. Not that it should be called at this stage, but what is value of cl_textEncoding ?

3.5 is a very alpha version with extensive renderer changes and lots of bugs - it will become the new 'nightly' when 3.1 is finished but currently everytime I ask if 3.1 is done, bugs like this are reported and it stays open for another few weeks while we get it sorted out
2018-06-06, 19:26
Member
363 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
[UPDATE]: seems like the problem is specific with my system only... something to do with audio, because every version works with -nosound

gonna have to reinstall windows!

(Edited 2018-06-12, 21:56)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2018-06-12, 20:37
Member
363 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
I have just discovered the amazing /s_linearresample command (with 44hz)
I see some people use /s_linearresample 1, isn't 2 better?

also, and much more important, why this isn't on by default already?
the shaft doesn't sound like it's ripping your eardrums apart!
does it induce lag/delay in output?

---

also, why /v_viewheight -6 isn't the default?
also, /cl_crossx -0.3 (in addition to the height) both makes the crosshair 100% correct to the projectile origin
should both be the default?

in pursuit of the perfect experience!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2018-06-12, 22:16
Member
130 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Cheats. Again cheats. :-)
2018-06-17, 22:10
Member
73 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
never heard about /cl_crossx -0.3
can anyone explain it?
2018-06-19, 00:48
Member
363 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
in addition to /v_viewheight -6
/cl_crossx -0.3 moves the crosshair, in the X axis, 0,3 upwards, making it exactly in the right position
(from where the shots originates)

to test it, stand on the edge of a bridge, and shoot down, exactly in the bridge edge
if it's right, you won't bored!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2018-06-24, 14:18
Administrator
230 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
This is now 3.1 release candidate 1. Changelog has been updated and is available here, the nightly executable to use for Windows is here

I currently intend for 3.2 to be a fairly quick release shortly afterwards, updating the libraries used in Windows builds (SDL 2.0.8) and some other minor changes lying around in the background that aren't in 3.1 (better item timers when watching .mvd files using new KTX, etc). The disaster that is 3.5 will lie in wait a little longer...
2018-07-09, 22:36
Member
782 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Was keymap removed from ezQuake? Is there any alternative?

It was really useful with the pt-br (ABNT2) keyboards!
https://mega.nz/#F!pZZnBLCK!fZxeV9Lwa76-CG5mdKlbVA - QuakeFiles
  32 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page