User panel stuff on forum
  23 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2016-11-05, 15:27
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
WHY, ohh WHY???

take a look, the exact SAME config, exactly 100%, in both 2.2 and 3.0.1:

ezQuake 2.2
https://s25.postimg.org/5tmlj1ibj/ez_Quake_2_2.png

ezQuake 3.0.1
https://s25.postimg.org/vqg9vnlz3/ez_Quake_3_0.png


it's everything different, Charsets are buggy, also, if you hold SHIFT + "?" and (still holding shift) press "?" again ---> THERE YOU GO.... IT's ALL WRONG man...

why did you messed up all the code, re-invented 38942349832 new commands?
I really would like to use, but the only Improvement I see worth upgrading, is the Spectator AFK, and the shiny Colors at console... aside from that, it's only a headache... MANY MANY other bugs I can't even begin do count...

Also... it's 8394723984723984732 times more unstable... I've seen hundreds, millions of times, not only Me, but other players, the client simply CRASHES in 0,0001 nano-second, and CLOSES... WHAAAT??? it NEVER HAPPENED in 2.1.1, 2.2, IN LIKE 20 YERAS !?!?!?

so you see... I may be a bitch, but I'm right!

(Edited 2016-11-13, 03:32)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-05, 15:40
Member
285 posts

Registered:
Sep 2012
Thanks for the nice, concise and precise bug report
2016-11-05, 18:46
Member
271 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
It's funny that this guy always comes up with unique ideas that he always confuses with reality.

But I like him. He plays.
dev
2016-11-05, 21:22
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
Jissse wrote:
Thanks for the nice, concise and precise bug report

Hehehsehhehe

but now, seriously... is there Config Converter, or something, to get from 2.2 to 3.0.1 without spending 2 months ajusting it manually?

or a Big commands-changelog-LIST ?
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-05, 21:38
Administrator
232 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wernerml wrote:
is there Config Converter, or something, to get from 2.2 to 3.0.1 without spending 2 months ajusting it manually?

or a Big commands-changelog-LIST ?


Guides/changelog here

As Jissse pointed out ... the screenshots are too small to work out what the problem you're complaining about is, and the rest is very vague. The keyboard problem, (whatever it is that happens when you press ? the second time) may be due to your particular keyboard layout. We had problems with deadkeys on german keyboards in the past for instance. SDL doesn't handle deadkeys very well so we try and work around it in the meantime, but a bit more info would be useful.
2016-11-06, 13:39
Member
143 posts

Registered:
Feb 2012
Isn't this the specimen who reportedly smokes pot 24/7? Sure looks like it.
“If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better.” (c) Johan Cruyff
2016-11-07, 10:28
News Writer
1263 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
Really easy to see the problem in those pictures for ants as well...
Chosen
2016-11-07, 21:38
News Writer
857 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I think this is a Kernell problem and not an ezQuake 3.0.1 problem.

I've been using ezQuake 3.0 since BloodDog posted his 666 alpha build and it runs smoother, faster and better looking than 2.2...
2016-11-07, 23:08
Member
181 posts

Registered:
Feb 2011
I feel bad when people say it's my build, Dimman and company did all the work (and more recently Meag). I just clicked a couple buttons and uploaded it :S
2016-11-07, 23:37
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Jul 2014
Works fine for me too.
2016-11-08, 04:36
News Writer
857 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
BLooD_DoG wrote:
I feel bad when people say it's my build, Dimman and company did all the work (and more recently Meag). I just clicked a couple buttons and uploaded it :S
you compiled it, that is what i mean by 'build'
2016-11-13, 03:35
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
okkkk, okkkk guys, picture fixed!

as you can see... it's like more than 5+ problems...

Charsets
Brightness / Gamma
and the resolution changed (like, it stretched? enlarged?)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-13, 06:46
Administrator
232 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
wernerml wrote:

Charsets
Brightness / Gamma
and the resolution changed (like, it stretched? enlarged?)


Are your desktop resolution and your playing resolution different?

/vid_usedesktopres 0

Your aspect ratio in 2.2 is 5:4 which I've never seen before, but 2.2 only supported 4:3 or 16:10. 3.0 will try and keep fov correct for whatever aspect ratio you use.

There's an upgrade guide here
2016-11-13, 18:31
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
but whats the deal with the Brigness / Contrast / Gamma....... ?

it's all too CLEAR, without colors.... and I tried infinite combinations of gamma / contrast variations... and it simply CAN'T be luxury like 2.2

as you can see in both Screenshots.... what changed ?
didn't find anything related to this on the changelogs...
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-13, 20:33
Administrator
1020 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
wernerml wrote:
but whats the deal with the Brigness / Contrast / Gamma....... ?

it's all too CLEAR, without colors.... and I tried infinite combinations of gamma / contrast variations... and it simply CAN'T be luxury like 2.2

as you can see in both Screenshots.... what changed ?
didn't find anything related to this on the changelogs...

You can start with running them with the same resolution and same conres...

You're the only one having these problems and with your attitude I'm wondering where the real problem lies.
2016-11-14, 04:16
News Writer
857 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
dimman wrote:
You're the only one having these problems and with your attitude I'm wondering where the real problem lies.

Indeed. Perhaps you should stick with 2.2 Kernell?
2016-11-16, 03:03
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
dimman wrote:
You can start with running them with the same resolution and same conres...

It's the SAME CONFIG, same Resolution, same ConResolution, THAT's what I am saying.....


it's wrong!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-16, 05:47
News Writer
857 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
wernerml wrote:
It's the SAME CONFIG, same Resolution, same ConResolution, THAT's what I am saying.....


it's wrong!

That is where you are wrong Kernell. There have been quite a lot of changes from 2.2 to 3.0 and it requires NEW commands to configure things. Read the manual to figure these out because they are important. If you are running a 2.2 config IT WONT WORK exactly how you like it. The problem is you and honestly you are being so disrespectful to the people who have put a lot of effort in to bringing you ezQuake that I am surprised any of them are helping you at all.

The fact you are complaining about using the SAME CONFIG means that you completely ignored meag's update which contains an upgrade guide from 2.2 to 3.0 which would have been obvious to you that some configuration changes are required. People are trying to help you and you are ignoring them.

Don't everyone forget that this is the same Kernell who constantly argues on forums that there is no difference between 60hz and 120hz or above... despite admitting to have never used a monitor with a high refresh rate....
2016-11-16, 22:15
Administrator
1020 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
ezQuake has a history of breaking things between versions. It's not surprising since it used to contain a lot of ugly hacks and workarounds.
With ezQuake 3 we made a lot of these things (more) proper so that they don't need to be broken again.

The unfortunate side effect of this is of course (ironically) that there's "breakage" between v2 and v3 (it's also a major reason to bump the major number to 3, it indicates that there are major changes basically).

Just go read the docs now and stop complaining, I'll give you a gold star if you come back saying you've solved it.
2016-11-17, 00:43
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
HAHAHA, ok, I'm annoying!

just wanna stir things up, put wood in the fire, or make fire!

JAJAJAJAJA
(also, I'm too lazy to work on a new config, damn...)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2016-11-22, 00:47
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2016
You are doing G*ds work Wermel don't let anyone ever tell you otherwise!!
RIP DJ Screw– November 16, 2000
2016-11-22, 00:47
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2016
.
RIP DJ Screw– November 16, 2000
2016-11-28, 17:51
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
heehehehehheeheheh
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
  23 posts on 1 page  1