User panel stuff on forum
  28 posts on 1 page  1
Maps & Textures
2015-07-12, 22:45
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
I'd like to hear your thoughts about this 1v1 deathmatch level:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcup3wftsocj0op/dm_cepheus_qw.zip

The textures are mine, except for the stock Quake teleport. The skybox is derived from a .:lvl:. Q3A skybox. The sky texture (for those who don't like skyboxes) is derived from a picture I found at http://thefulldomeblog.com/ All credits will be in the final version.

There's still no bot data, since it's so complicated to set up. It doesn't have a proper readme as well. Gonna do it while I get you feedback.

The map still need a name. I'm open to suggestions.

One of its goals is to make content for a future single player episode, so it's intended to look good and atmospheric, not to give high FPS. Think I pushed the limits a little.

To do: music (it's being made by a friend).

So, what else this package should have? Just let me know your impressions.

EDIT: a video:

https://youtu.be/UB8HxFaBXpI

EDIT: as requested, here are some screenshots:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus03_zps6o5mtpkx.jpg


http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus02_zpsn7nmmi88.jpg


http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus05_zpsfnemwomb.jpg


http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus04_zpszc8sndqb.jpg


http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus1_zpsmg1aymyl.jpg


http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/dm-cepheus/dm-cepheus01_zpsbdbvbizo.jpg


EDIT2: a better link

(Edited 2015-09-01, 03:50)
2015-07-16, 05:54
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
Wow! So much attention... I'm flattered.

Seriously, if anyone is interested, this is probably the final version, though I still intend to get your feedback:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcup3wftsocj0op/dm_cepheus_qw.zip

As promised, there is original music, there is a readme... I'd love to get bot support, if someone could help.

When I started to design the level, I was new to the communities. Only now I'm getting what kind of level QuakeWorld players are used to, what is important to them. So, this level is not the typical DM you are used to play. It's very moody, there is fog, music... Geometry is not so naked, it doesn't aim performance so much. On the other hand, it's a 1v1, so modern systems shouldn't choke on it.

But I'd love to see what you guys have to say. Any chance of getting it to some of your servers?

Cheers

EDIT: link

(Edited 2015-09-01, 03:51)
2015-07-16, 08:05
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Map looks nice visually (both in GL ans SW modes).
I have not played on it with anyone thus cannot say anything about gameplay.

When posting message about new map it is better to provide some screenshots to make people interested trying it in game.
2015-07-16, 12:15
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
You're right, I should post screenshots. Also, I gotta see it on software render, my Winquake is broken.
Gotta ask someone to host the level and add bot support, so people can actually play it.
Thanks
2015-07-16, 16:50
Administrator
1248 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
the screenshots made me download and try it.

5.8mb bsp ouch

Its very good looking, credits for that good job!

im not sure about the gameplay though. Ive uploaded the .bsp to buffalo server 204.44.119.88:28501
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2015-07-16, 17:21
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
1)Picture on my screen is nicer than your screenshots.
2)I cannot set this map on given server 204.44.119.88:28501
3) I want to try duel there.
2015-07-17, 08:53
Administrator
1248 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
se-sss wrote:
2)I cannot set this map on given server 204.44.119.88:28501



i've just connected to that server and typed "dmamb" and it worked..
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2015-07-17, 11:58
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
mushi wrote:
se-sss wrote:
2)I cannot set this map on given server 204.44.119.88:28501


i've just connected to that server and typed "dmamb" and it worked..


I thought it shoud be dm-cepheus.
2015-07-17, 17:56
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
Sorry guys, "dmamb" was an early name. Here is what I think is the final version:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcup3wftsocj0op/dm_cepheus_qw.zip

Mushi, if you could upload this one and delete the other, it would be great. Thank you.

I'm still new to the community and new to Quakeworld. This level is moody and atmospheric like a single player, but it's deathmatch. When I planned it, I still wasn't getting what nQuake is about. Let's see how it plays on your servers.

When I get home today I'll try to play QW for the first time on my own level. How cooler can it get?

Cheers.

(Edited 2015-09-01, 03:51)
2015-07-18, 00:16
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
Just connected to the server. Yes, it's an older version, where gameplay was still poor. There are two routes to the top level, making it way more interesting.

Also, I don't see the colored lights. Did you uploaded the .lit file along with .bsp?

@Mushi, please, replace it by these two files when you can:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3Ww0W8WFfq7Qm9mUzNQREFDOXc

Thanks, man.

@se-sss about that duel... anytime
2015-07-18, 02:41
Member
278 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
Impressive screenshots. I will upload it.
dev
2015-07-18, 05:55
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Unfortunately it is lack of qw servers (or clients). It does not download lit files. You have to put it yourself
Also for several last years servers do not send players` skins. I do not know what is broken.

Quote:
@se-sss about that duel... anytime

Are you available on irc? (I am _sss_ #qw.ru)
2015-07-18, 20:31
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
@andre Thanks! So, what's the address? Wanna play! If you like the level, spread the word among other server admins.

@se-sss Gee, I'm an ignorant. Never used irc in my life, can you believe that? There is a chat link at the bottom of the page, gonna try it out.

I fixed all the links is this topic, so there's no chance of getting an old version. You live, you learn.
2015-07-19, 06:58
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Very cool map

Tried to make some Frogbot waypoints for it.

1: Frogbots don't handle lifts very well
Could be solved by making them go faster og make it impossible to enter the lift when it's up, because they get stucked under them
Could maybe be solved with some noclip brushes blocking the entrance when the lift is up (just an idea )

2: Frogbot doesn't allow minus "-" in the mapname
I have renamed it to dm_cepheus

FBCA_dm_cepheus.zip
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2015-07-19, 10:21
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Another thought, how did you make those lifts? They are invisible when I use my gaming config in ezQuake2.2 for Mac.
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2015-07-19, 15:12
Administrator
1248 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
updated on buffalo server *
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2015-07-19, 16:11
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
@mushi Thanks! Gonna try it. Sorry to keep bugging you

@Mick Yay, I wanted waypoints!

About the elevators, take a look at one of them:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/amurad/Games/elev_zpsoqhicvmz.jpg

The elevator is highlighted. The image also shows where the first and second floor doorways are, just as a reference to where the elevator starts / stops. You can also see two triggers.

The elevator is a func_door that opens upwards by any of these two triggers. If you're at the second floor, you stand in the doorway to call the elevator, you get inside and when the door entity closes, it takes you down. When you're at the first floor, you step inside and the trigger opens the func_door, lifting you up.

The first floor trigger has a 0.5s delay. Why? Because when you get down you hit the first floor trigger; without this delay, you wouldn't have time to exit the elevator. It's not bad gameplay-wise: this little delay is the behaviour of a real elevator and builds some tension (a lot of tension when there are rockets on your tail).

The noise of these two elevators, busy during the fight, makes the level feel like a real building.

Why didn't I just make it a func_plat, instead of all this trouble? Because I don't activate a plat getting "inside" it, just from the top of it. I would need to stand on the tip of the elevator's cable.

But writing this post made me think: I need just the lower trigger, with no delay. If you want to get down you don't call the damn elevator anyway, you just jump thru the many other ways down. If you jump down the elevator's pit it lifts again, but hey, no one told you to do that. I can even make a door at the second floor, that only opens from inside.

You see, that's what community is about! Running to Worldcraft right now.

And yes, that clip brush is easy to do. Gonna send another download link soon.
2015-07-19, 23:04
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
@Mick Yes, it's way better now. The elevator is now one way up, no delay before triggering. Thank you for this feedback. The download link is the same:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/bcup3wftsocj0op/dm_cepheus_qw.zip

EDIT: forgot to rename the level

(Edited 2015-09-01, 03:52)
2015-07-20, 00:56
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
@mushi I connected to 204.44.119.88:28501, entered dm-cepheus on the console and nothing happens.

Too bad quakeworld doesn't download the .lit file. The level looks way better in colored lights.
2015-07-20, 03:56
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
adib wrote:
@Mick Yes, it's way better now. The elevator is now one way up, no delay before triggering. Thank you for this feedback. The download link is the same:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/p8hg9hsh26kvki1/dm-cepheus-qw.zip

EDIT: forgot to rename the level


Cool. Gonna test it later today
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2015-07-20, 09:20
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Bot data updated

They now owns the map

FBCA_dm_cepheus.zip
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2015-07-20, 11:47
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
Mick wrote:
Bot data updated

They now owns the map

FBCA_dm_cepheus.zip


Great! Gonna learn how to use it.

There must be a way to read an entity class from .map, say an info_fbca_waypoint, to generate this .qc
That way, the level designer could set waypoints and generating FBCA data would be part of the map compilation. This is how it should be done for new levels or ones you have the .map
2015-07-20, 12:40
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
could be nice
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2015-07-20, 20:17
Member
788 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Hi adib, nice work with the map!

You should definitely release your work at QuakeOne and Func_Msgboard.

Func_Msgboard is THE place for Quake's map designers!

And there's also the Inside QC (former Inside 3D), where you can find some help with code needed for your maps!
https://tinyurl.com/qwbrasil - QuakeFiles
2015-07-21, 02:08
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
vegetous wrote:
Hi adib, nice work with the map!

You should definitely release your work at QuakeOne and Func_Msgboard.

Func_Msgboard is THE place for Quake's map designers!

And there's also the Inside QC (former Inside 3D), where you can find some help with code needed for your maps!


Thanks man. Already did, actually.

Func_Msgboard guys helped me testing gameplay and clearing some points. I used Fitzquake MarkV features and Ericw light compiler. Take a look at the readme file in the zip. But both forums are more single player, so they all asked me to do some SP, which I actually intend to do.

Feel free to upload the level to a server, if you have one. My website is on its way, just have to find some time (daytime job, you know).

By the way, I was looking for the missing Inside3D and wondering where QuakeBrasil was hiding. Thanks for that.

(Edited 2015-07-28, 03:54)
2015-07-22, 09:20
Member
788 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Mick wrote:
Bot data updated

They now owns the map

FBCA_dm_cepheus.zip


Bots not working for me!

]maps
supported maps:
a2 e1m2 mayhem rgarden
aerowalk e1m3 messy rip
agenda e1m5 midair3 ritual
agent e1m5duel mine rpdm10
aggressr e1m6 misdm10 rpgdm1
airar e1m7 misdm11a rtldm3
alcyone e2m1 misdm12 ruins
alk08dm e2m2 misdm13 rwild
amphi e2m2tdm misdm6 safe1
amphi2 e2m5 misdm8 safe2
androm9 e3m2 misdm9 sanity
argonaut e3m7tdm mjdm1pro santzue
auhdm1 edc muny16 scampdm5
auhdm2 efdm1 naked3 schloss
b256 efdm10 naked4 shadows
b2s efdm11 naked5 shadowsb7
badwalk efdm12 naked6 shady
baldm2 efdm13 naked7b2 shake
baldm3 efdm2 nduel shine
baldm4 efdm3 nindm2 shroud
baldm5 efdm4 nindm3 shroud2
baldm6 efdm5 nindm3v2 silence
baldm7 efdm6 njx9dm skull
baldm8 efdm7 noentry skywalk
battle efdm8 odd1 slip
bless efdm9 odd2 sm
blessed effigy oktest1 sm30_ray
blizz2 egyptele oldcrat spank1
bovine elbow oldcrat2 spd
br11m end oma spear
br13m enraged omf spine
br18m eodm3 opposit spinev2
br20m evdm1 outpost start
br21m exdm2 p3a strafin1
br21ma exdm3 pbrdm2 strafin2
bsdm6 exdm4 pen2 strafin3
bsdm7 fbdm2 pidmm5 strafin4
bsdm8 fbe3m7 pinion1 strafin5
bsp ferrum pinion2 strafin6
carddm2 filthy pinion3 strmland
cathexis_vis fmc pipeline subterfuge
cbadm1 four pkeg1 sudden
cbadm2 frag pkeg2 summer
cbadm2v2 fragtwn1 pldm1ex swtdie
cbadm3 fribdev1 pli tbase
chesdm1 fribweb1 plpak1 tearena
cleaver frobodm1 plpak10 teritory
cmt1b frobodm2 plpak11 theend
cmt3 frobodm5 plpak12 thf
cmt4 frontier plpak2 timeless
cmt5b gencldm6 plpak3 titan2
condemn gendm2 plpak4 trallefinal
cpm1qw genocide plpak5 trdmm4
cpm3qw geodm1 plpak6 trindm1
crdm2 gomdm2 plpak7 trindm2
dakdm1 gomdm2v2 plpak8 trindm3
dakdm2 gomdm3 plpak9 trondm1
damaul7 gomdm4 pope2 trondm2
dapak1 gomdm5 pope3 tsd
dapak10 gomdm6 pope4 tumour2
dapak11 grim pope6 uarena1
dapak12 hate povdmm4 ukcldm2
dapak2 hexagonia primedm ukcldm6
dapak3 hill20 prodm4 ukooldm2
dapak4 icearena psycho ukooldm3
dapak5 id3 pushdmm4 ukooldm4
dapak6 ikdm9q1 q1_q2dm1 ukooldm6
dapak7 imp1dm5 q1arena ukooldm8
dapak9 imp1dm6 q1arenax ukpak1
darkthree impdm2 q1base1 ukpak2
dead impdm3 q1edge ukpak5
debello inerb18b q1q3cpm4_beta4 ukpak6
del1 infect q1q3dm14 ukpak8
dm1 insomnia q1q3evolution_beta2 ultrav
dm1a jadm1 q1q3hektik unddm1
dm2dmm4 jndm6 q1q3monsoon unddm2
dm3 jrdm1 q1q3ospdm5 utressor
dm3hill jrdm2 q1q3phrantic vdm2
dm3ish jvoxdm2 q1q3solid vdm3
dm4 jvx1 q1q3thunderstruck vendetta
dm4ish kdmw q1q3tourney4 vision1
dm5 kikdm3 q1q3toxicity_beta6 warfare
dm5a kikdm6 q1q3vertical_beta5 warfare2
dm6 kingdom q1tm_speedy warfare3
dm6dmm4 kjdm12 q2dm7 wildtest
dm6quad kjdm13 q3dm6qw xl1dm1
dm7 klzinsanity qffldm5 xl1dm2
dm99a klzvob qtdm1 xl1dm3
dm_cepheus kz1on1a qtourney2 xl1dm4
dmfdm2 lacrima quadrock xl1dm5
dmm4_1 lady ranbase xl1dm6
dmm4_3 leaks rapture1 xl1dm7
dp6 lilith rapture2 ztndm1
dranzdm6 lock rarena3 ztndm2
dranzdm7 magus ravage ztndm3
dranzdm8 maricsq1_1 ravage2 ztndm4
dsn maricsq1_2 razzi ztndm5
duel1 matdm1 rev68 ztndm6
e1m1 matdm2 rf2
]/addbot
dm-cepheus is not a supported map.
type maps for list:


Edit.: I think the problem is the _ (underscore) in the map name, it should be a hyphen instead.
https://tinyurl.com/qwbrasil - QuakeFiles
2015-07-22, 12:14
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Jul 2015
Mick said the opposite, that hyphen is a problem. I'm gonna stick to just letters and numbers next time.
2015-07-22, 15:30
Member
335 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Yes, frogbot can't compile with (-) in the mapname

And frogbots doesn't own anything without shaft
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
  28 posts on 1 page  1