User panel stuff on forum
  54 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
General Discussion
2013-10-13, 17:08
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
Is it possible to get the quake-aliases such as the "old" qtv used to have?
I always used these and find them extremely useful. But they won't work when the qtv-id changes.

An example for pangela1 (first port), its qtv aliases and proxy below.
The stuff at set prxaddress "null" and below are originally from Xantom (I believe?) and were part of the package.


tempalias svr_pangela1 "_svr_connect pangela.se:28001; _qtv_set 8@quakeworld.fi:28000"
tempalias svr_pangela1_say "say pangela.se:28001"
tempalias svr_pangela1_qtv "_qtv_play 8@quakeworld.fi:28000"
tempalias svr_pangela1_qtv_say "say pangela #1 QTV: qtvplay 8@quakeworld.fi:28000"

tempalias proxy_pangela "_proxy_connect pangela.se:30000"
tempalias proxy_pangela_say "say pangela.se:30000 (proxy)"

set prxaddress "null"
set qtvaddress "null"
set svraddres "null"

tempalias qtv "if $qtvaddress != null then qtvplay $qtvaddress else echo No QTV-stream set for the current server"
tempalias qtv_say "if $qtvaddress != null then say_game $qtvaddress else echo No QTV-stream set for the current server"

tempalias svr_say "if $svraddress != null then say $svraddress else echo No server set"
tempalias svr_reconnect "if $svraddress != null then connect $svraddress else echo No server set"

tempalias proxy_say "if $prxaddress != null then say $prxaddress else echo Not using proxy"
tempalias proxy_saveip "setinfo prx $lastip"

tempalias _prx_set "setinfo prx %1"

tempalias _proxy_set "set prxaddress %1"
tempalias _proxy_connect "_proxy_set %1; connect %1"

tempalias _svr_set "set svraddress %1; _prx_set $svraddress"
tempalias _svr_connect "_svr_set %1; set qtvaddress null; connect $svraddress"

tempalias _qtv_set "set qtvaddress %1"
tempalias _qtv_play "_qtv_set %1; qtvplay $qtvaddress"
2013-10-14, 18:06
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
What did the page look like when it was run? Did it give all this stuff as a .cfg to be downloaded?

The old aliases page seems to be broken: http://qtv.quakeworld.nu/aliases.php, so it's hard to tell.

If anyone has the Meta QTV source handy it would be good to get a look at aliases.php.
2013-10-17, 21:37
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
Well, the whole alias.php was basically a wall of text with all the aliases needed.

The information needed is already there in the qtv, just need to parse the links I suppose.

Example from qtv as I look at it now, taking the text from the image-boxes:
pangela.se:28001
Standby - dm2
0 observers
Watch (quakeworld.fi:28000/watch.qtv?sid=8)
Play (qw://pangela.se:28001)

Everything could be parsed (I think regexp) from the Play and Watch-strings more or less (not sure how that information ends up in qtv, so might be easier ways)
Play:
ServerAddress: pangela.se
sPort: 28001

Watch:
Sid: 8
QtvServ: quakeworld.fi
QtvPort: 28000

With that information, the aliases are "built", like:

tempalias svr_sX "_svr_connect ServerAddress:port; _qtv_set Sid@QtvServ:QtvPort"
tempalias svr_sX_say "say ServerAddress:sPort"
tempalias svr_sX_qtv "_qtv_play Sid@QtvServ:QtvPort"
tempalias svr_sX_qtv_say "say ServerAddress:sPort QTV: qtvplay Sid@QtvServ:QtvPort"


Ofcourse the alias naming, svr_sX stuff, need to be unique but can probably just replace it with ServerAddress-Port to make it easy. (like svr_Pangela-28001)

Edit: replaced colon followed by P. Even with code brackets, it turns into the .. Who wants to code smileys?
2013-10-19, 14:05
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Not sure if this is quite right, but try these: http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/aliases.php.
2013-10-19, 18:40
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
Looking sweet!

Some notes I saw straight away:
The bottom part has multiple "set" on the same line. (prxaddress, qtvaddress and svraddress)
The same goes for the tempaliases "qtv, qtv_say, svr_say" etc. all in the bottom.

Another thing I noticed is that froschroom1 exists multiple times.
From the looks of it, you look for a string, backwards from the colon, then a dot (if the server name is long enough?)
junk.junk.junk.servername.junk:portjunk

This results in the ca.froschroom being the same as froschroom.com (svr_froschroom1)
Previous QTV aliases had the same thing for a few servers

The most fun server names are the ones listed as only IP:s. svr_209.71 makes no sense - but hey - they are unique and in the QTV

Gonna try them out now. Might find something else.
2013-10-19, 23:29
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Fixed a few of these things

Can't do much about the IP host unfortunately, probably need the QTV admin to configure it as the friendly domain name.
2013-10-20, 13:52
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
It's getting really sweet! Thank you a ton for this!
Found something else now though when testing, unrelated to the parsing of text into scripts..

Seems there is one pangela port missing completely (as in not listed as a server).

Pangela1 -> pangela.se:28001 (8@quakeworld.fi qtv)
PangelaX -> Missing 28002 and sid 9@quakeworld.fi.
Pangela2 -> pangela.se:28003 (10@quakeworld.fi qtv)

However, when hand-modifying the server scripts, the server port 28002 is indeed up and running. Also 9@quakeworld.fi qtv is active.

Edit: Seeing the information comes from http://quakeworld.fi:28000/nowplaying and the server is missing there.
2013-10-20, 19:25
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Yea, I think whoever is the admin of that QTV server (not sure) needs to have a look at that to see what's up.

As you say, if you check http://quakeworld.fi:28000/nowplaying then pangela.se:28002 is missing.
2013-10-25, 22:35
Member
22 posts

Registered:
May 2012
can you add persuader's qtv please?
it will be running at http://persuader.se:28000/nowplaying
At the moment his servers are running on my qtv, and persuader's isn't running.. I'll switch them over when you've added it
Hope you're not too busy with the kids matey
2013-10-25, 23:12
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
http://content.atrophied.co.uk/1378085545311.gif


Server added.
2013-11-07, 23:51
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
Hey atropy.

I tried (for fun) to get the server information and stuff and make config myself, so I wrote this python script (Yes, ugly as hell - but never meant to share it :p)
http://pastebin.com/PEqkaXCW

This script generates the server aliases as well as some proxy aliases.
However, I can't seem to find the /nowplaying string anymore in meta QTV source as it seems replaced by some java stuff.
I'd like to be able to still use my script (it's much faster just running it - rather than copy paste from home page, looking up where my proxies are etc.)

Any hints on what to do?
2013-11-08, 01:31
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Hey.

Try these URLs:

http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/ajax/load.php - this will give you all of the servers.
http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/servers.php - this will give you the actual QTV servers.

If you want I can adjust the aliases if they aren't working? Or provide RSS or something so you don't have to regex?
2013-11-08, 14:47
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
atrophy wrote:

Hey.

Try these URLs:

http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/ajax/load.php - this will give you all of the servers.
http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/servers.php - this will give you the actual QTV servers.

If you want I can adjust the aliases if they aren't working? Or provide RSS or something so you don't have to regex?


The aliases are working (as far as I know).
I just felt it was convenient to generate proxies to the same cfg. I could ofcourse keep them separate, but I thought of that just now...

Although, something I might want to change in the aliases.php:
the qw.irc.ax and qw2.irc.ax get mashed into the alias svr_ircX (so can't see which server gets which port).
feijoada.no-ip.org becomes svr_no-ip, when I'd want it as feijoada. My script won't get that one right either I think..

That's about what I know about (I made some ugly stuff to check server names, numbers etc. in my script but it's not that important).
2013-11-20, 20:47
Administrator
2059 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Would it be possible to make a page on the metaQTV that combines all the demos from the QTV's too? I.e. combine the contents of these pages for each QTV: http://qtv.froschroom.com:28000/demos/ so one only needs to browse one page instead of either launching QW or going through each separate QTV page.
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2013-11-23, 01:52
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Sorry, the demo details aren't in the QTV XML each server provides. It would be possible to add a link to the demos page for each server if that would be useful, although http://qtv.atrophied.co.uk/servers is kind of doing this already.
2013-11-23, 04:09
Member
21 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
nvm
2015-08-25, 04:29
Administrator
886 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Atrophy: how about a revamp of the metasite, graphically? I could make design suggestions, but I need a frontender for implementation. Wanna collaborate? Cheers.
Join us on discord.quake.world
2015-08-25, 06:54
Member
258 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I added 26 new QTV servers to qtv.quakeworld.nu. Athrophy could you validate them so streams that they broadcast appear on Now Playing list?
2015-08-25, 21:40
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
bps wrote:
Atrophy: how about a revamp of the metasite, graphically? I could make design suggestions, but I need a frontender for implementation. Wanna collaborate? Cheers.

Sure thing, post some mocks

(Edited 2015-08-25, 21:41)
2015-08-25, 21:40
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
mli wrote:
I added 26 new QTV servers to qtv.quakeworld.nu. Athrophy could you validate them so streams that they broadcast appear on Now Playing list?

No problem.
2015-08-26, 07:16
Member
258 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
atrophy: added two more
2015-08-26, 21:28
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Done.
2015-08-26, 21:33
Member
43 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
butt.se QTV for the playground.ru servers is dead again, maybe one of the more reliable QTV servers like quakeworld.fi could cover this instead.
2015-08-26, 21:53
Member
124 posts

Registered:
Apr 2012
atrophy wrote:
butt.se QTV for the playground.ru servers is dead again, maybe one of the more reliable QTV servers like quakeworld.fi could cover this instead.


It broke my heart trying to watch Locktar vs Bulat because of that

Plz fix butt.se hype
  54 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page