User panel stuff on forum
  25 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2012-02-24, 14:24
Member
226 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Default map on servers is DM3, which is not included with nQuake.
New players with only nQuake are not able to connect almost any free QW-server.
I think it's quite a big issue. Could default map on server be changed to ie. Aerowalk?
2012-02-24, 14:36
Member
88 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
Hippos
2012-02-24, 16:47
Member
139 posts

Registered:
Feb 2011
Crocodiles
2012-02-24, 16:55
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I think this is a good idea. But when the GPL maps comes later this year this won't be a problem anymore.
2012-02-24, 17:14
News Writer
1267 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
start.bsp like old times
Chosen
2012-03-05, 18:21
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
PEKTOPAHKY wrote:
Default map on servers is DM3, which is not included with nQuake.
New players with only nQuake are not able to connect almost any free QW-server.
I think it's quite a big issue. Could default map on server be changed to ie. Aerowalk?

Aerowalk isn't a standard map either. At least put in a stock map then that's in pak0.pak. That way you're sure everyone, no matter what client/package, is able to load the map.
2012-03-05, 19:59
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
I changed qw.quakephil.com to default to start.bsp (from dm6.bsp)

I'm assuming free quake doesn't have any dmx maps so our choice is exmy/start/end?
2012-03-05, 21:03
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
they all make no sense for servers... but start it should be imo
2012-03-05, 21:14
Member
87 posts

Registered:
Apr 2011
@ Phil, start and E1M1 to E1M8 are the maps included in pak0.pak
2012-03-05, 21:44
Administrator
2046 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I'd go for e1m7 then
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2012-03-05, 22:09
Member
1433 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
aerowalk, ztndm3, skull, pkeg(1), rwild, hate, a2, amphi, povdmm4, vdm3v3 ... are some of the maps included with nQuake ... using start seems retarded, that map will never be played and players will always have to vote some other map after they join the server .. also start.bsp creates the impression that the server is running some weird coop mode and should not be used for deathmatch
2012-03-06, 00:09
Member
94 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
I think povdmm4 should be a great map to start with, I think many players use this to get in shape before next map.
And also I don't think I have had problems with it, some servers when it is Aerowalk or another map I can't join.
2012-03-06, 00:45
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
povdmm4 it is then
2012-03-07, 00:38
Administrator
1843 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
What happened to that default mvdsv map that was created?
2012-03-07, 09:15
Administrator
864 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
A E R O W A L K !
(seriously, povdmm4 sounds most reasonable)
IRC went Discord -> join the chats @ discord.quake.world
2012-03-07, 16:42
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Ah aerowalk, the worst map ever created...
2012-03-07, 17:26
Administrator
1843 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Zalon wrote:
What happened to that default mvdsv map that was created?

This: mvdsv-kg (it's on foppa for test)
2012-03-08, 09:44
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
yup, that was the default map that was created and included in mvdsv's package.
It is a bit more fun to be on than start.bsp
2012-03-08, 12:49
Administrator
1245 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
practice mode, instagib would be neat on that map.
make it default?
once map changes, practice mode goes off and instagib aswell.
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2012-03-08, 13:58
Administrator
864 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Even tho that "mvdsv-kg" looked very nice, I don't think it's right with a trickmap as default.
If I remember correctly, back in the old TF days in happy '90s, there were some map with alot of teleporters that lead to different maps. So, entering one of those would mean you voted on that map.
Alot like the start teleporters on ztricks. You could write out the map names over the tellys, and perhaps even have a "preview image" for each. Perhaps it should be categorized by mode, like this:

Warmup: pov, end, ...
1on1: dm2, dm4, dm6, aerowalk, ztn, and some kenyas
2on2: dm2, dm4, dm6, aerowalk, ztn
4on4: dm2, dm3, e1m2, cmt3, schloss

Or even better: why not make this default room alike pov, so you could start warming up instantly. And when you're tired of this you see a bunch of teleporters in some obscure corner, so when you go there you can make your map vote?
IRC went Discord -> join the chats @ discord.quake.world
2012-03-15, 17:01
News Writer
268 posts

Registered:
May 2006
povdmm4
2012-03-16, 13:02
News Writer
871 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
e1m7 is the obvious answer
2012-03-20, 06:11
Member
23 posts

Registered:
Jan 2012
One thing to keep in mind is that POVDMM4 will set the default mode to 1v1, kind of annoying for players who are switching servers or mass joining all at once, etc and getting force spec'd or not being able to join due to limited spec spots. As someone said E1M2 might be a better alternative for this.

I mean realistically. how many people are trying to get on a quakeworld server with the shareware version?
2012-03-20, 10:10
Moderator
1329 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
No it doesn't. Changing map to anything will not enable the default mode to be something different than what it is in the ktx.cfg (which is 4on4) unless someone has changed the mapcfg itself. I don't remember doing that for mapcfgs that ship with KTX and actually checking what I have set to povdmm4.cfg is:
1 timelimit 3
2 deathmatch 4
3 set k_overtime 2

As for the povdmm4 being the default map on a server, I disagree. People are already playing too much dmm4 (pov/end) and not normal dmm1/dmm3 gamemodes, and at least I don't want to encourage "new players" to play dmm4 by having either of these shit maps being the default one the server(s).
Servers: Troopers
2012-03-20, 16:04
Member
226 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
rusty` wrote:
I mean realistically. how many people are trying to get on a quakeworld server with the shareware version?

Every new player is most likely using shareware quake + nquake.
  25 posts on 1 page  1