User panel stuff on forum
  14 posts on 1 page  1
Movies
2011-11-11, 11:30
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
Just wondering if anyone's every tried shooting a Quake movie at 120 fps
2011-11-11, 11:48
Member
29 posts

Registered:
Apr 2007
it all depends on your divix.code, memory (ram) and hdd side x).
[ http://dc.quakeworld.pl Demolition Crew: Member ][ http://quakeworld.pl Dev & Admin ][ http://forum.quakeworld.pl Moderator ]
2011-11-11, 13:00
Member
121 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
I've shot my recent movie in 120fps (and some parts even in 240fps)
Replaying 60 fps is really the max you ever want to go. But I'm still fine with 30 fps.

replaying 120fps.... mediaplayers cant handle it properly it seems. Or the replay just slows down, or it becomes choppy.
2011-11-11, 15:19
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
TheBeats, I'd like to see your 120 fps movie!

I'm sure there must be some player that can play it back properly on a fast enough PC.
2011-11-11, 15:32
Member
121 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
The movie is shot at 120 fps, but the result wont be 120 fps but 30fps instead. 120fps recording used due to occasional slowdowns.


And my pc is fast enough... laptop i7, SSD
2011-11-11, 17:22
Member
51 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
Rather than asking if anyone has recorded at 120fps, how about we ask if someones encoded a film at 120fps? Now that I would LOVE to see!
Mind you, encoding at a high res (720p or greater) with x264 at top quality settings with 120 frames per second may be a bit troublesome. But I'd like to see it. :]
2011-11-12, 04:22
Member
485 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Encoder doesn't "care" what the fps is. Or do you mean real time encoding? But then its a question of bit rate not frame rate.

Quick test with ezQuake demo_capture seems to work fine: koti.mbnet.fi/tspartan/120.mkv. I don't have more than 60Hz monitor atm, though.

Side-by-side fps comparison: koti.mbnet.fi/tspartan/30-60-120.mkv.
2011-11-12, 11:49
Member
51 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
The first video you posted seems smooth as a babies bottom, especially when compared up to a 30-fps and a 60-fps clip.
Just for the record, I'm on a 120hz LCD.
2012-08-17, 16:13
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
I have 120 Hz monitor now and I request that all new movies be shot at 120 fps.
2012-08-17, 17:12
Administrator
1253 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
congrats tonik!
which one is it ? =)
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2012-08-17, 19:32
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
It's a BenQ XL2420T, I have had it for half a year now.

1920x1080 native res, DVI + 2xHDMI + D-SUB input.

Wonderful mounting with 3 degrees of freedom: rotates left-right, up-down and moves up-down.

120 Hz works well. There is some ghosting that is hardly noticeable in games, but it's obviously gonna be a huge annoyance in 3D mode so I never bothered buying 3D glasses.

One important drawback though that may spoil the entire experience for you: horrible user interface. Ridiculous touch-activated buttons. Normally when using any device you have your eyes on the screen and your fingers on the buttons. It's so natural that you don't realize this until you have a device where TOUCHING BUTTONS ACTIVATES them. And then sometimes they won't react to a touch, but activate randomly when you touch the monitor to rotate it.

There's a physical wheel on the console: good idea but poor implementation. It reacts so slowly and erratically, you're better off using the gay touchbuttons.
2012-11-20, 12:57
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Interesting. vid_sync enabled and a stable 1920x1080 at 120fps using 120hz must look fantastically smooth? Maybe I should pickup one of these monitors myself.
2012-11-20, 17:17
Member
121 posts

Registered:
May 2006
vsync is normally bad for ur mouse
. - - -- Words are stones in my Mouth.. -- - - . [url=http://profile.xfire.com/katataniel][img]http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sh/type/2/katataniel
2012-11-23, 11:38
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
afaik vsync will only cause input lag if your framerate goes above or below your monitor refresh rate

so as long as your machine is powerful enough to achieve constant 120 fps, and you have capped it at 120, I think you should be fine
  14 posts on 1 page  1