User panel stuff on forum
  19 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2011-10-07, 04:48
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Did topic almost 2 years ago (http://www.quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?id=4252)
My problem still exist.

Cant set true matrix resolution (1680x1050 @ 120 Hz) in software Ezquake 2.1 (Build 3330)
http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/1007/ezquake020.png


My monitor can use only 60, 100, 110, 120 Hz so any other modes (even 75 Hz) converting to 60 hz.
Best solution, i found, is playing in windowed mode 800x600 - but its not fine.

Possible to add windowed mode to play on 120 Hz or even better in fullscreen?
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-07, 06:54
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
help this man(and incidentally, me)
2011-10-07, 09:23
News Writer
270 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Don't use soft ez - it's not supported. :-[=]
2011-10-07, 09:52
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Have you tried -noddraw ?
2011-10-07, 13:11
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
VVD, if software does not supported, then why i have lastest version ?

Se-sss, i use -noddraw and in cmdline else ezquake does error on start (memory cannot be written).
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-07, 15:55
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Just curious, can you set 1680x1050 @ 120 Hz in ezquake-gl.exe ?
2011-10-07, 16:11
Member
518 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Spzman wrote:
VVD, if software does not supported, then why i have lastest version ?

Se-sss, i use -noddraw and in cmdline else ezquake does error on start (memory cannot be written).

He means software doesn't support 120hz I guess
2011-10-08, 20:31
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
!phil wrote:
Just curious, can you set 1680x1050 @ 120 Hz in ezquake-gl.exe ?

Sure i can, but in GL videocard use mechanic, optimized for productivity (fps), not for responsetime (that not shows in marketing tests) :cool:
murdoc wrote:
He means software doesn't support 120hz I guess

Well, i can perfectly use 800x600 on 120 Hz in windowed mode and it much more smooth than opengl-client.

Would be perfect add -current parameter support for software cmdline like in opengl version.

If i will try to define backfeed difference in soft and gl: look like gl makes several frames, and then shows them with noticeable delay (frames jittering).
Software makes every frame every time it possible, no frames queue at all, so my mouse movings or enemy model shift look much closer to live.
That why i still want use software even with lower fps
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-08, 20:55
Member
100 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
im using sw too its really great, smoother than gl(for me).
offtopic: i cant set r_drawflat to 1, any idea why?
2011-10-10, 16:37
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
I had 120Hz in SW mode with -noddraw.
Simply I had just much more modes with that option, even with portrait layout.
The way ezquake detects available modes is a bit weird to me.
2011-10-11, 16:13
Member
622 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
just curious, why sw?

You can get that SW look with various cmds like with gl_texturemode gl_nearest_mipmap_nearest / gl_miptexlevel 2 / gl_picmip 0 if i remember right
2011-10-11, 16:37
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Answer is very simple.
Many computers have weak old built-in video (Intel) but quite good CPU.
With SW you have much more stable fps.

At least it is a main reason for me.
2011-10-12, 15:43
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
phrenic wrote:
You can get that SW look with various cmds like with gl_texturemode gl_nearest_mipmap_nearest / gl_miptexlevel 2 / gl_picmip 0 if i remember right

I dont care about look, i want fastest backfeed - to see instantly myself, mouse and enemyes movings.
And its possible only in software. We love Quakeworld not for eyecandy, but for speed.
se-sss wrote:
With SW you have much more stable fps.

GL have much more minimal fps than Software in same hardware (MSI GTX260 Lightning), in my case its:
Opengl 900-3700 fps (1680x1050)
Software 330-420 fps (800x600)

That 900 minimal fps in opengl drawed with feelable delay in response, so even with lower fps in software look much more smooth for me.
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-13, 02:53
Member
142 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
I just tried software and apparently i can't set 75hz in game if i have 60hz in windows desktop, unless i use -noddraw.
Not sure if this is what happens to you.
Using 1680x1050 isn't overkilling for fps in software ?

+set vid_displayfrequency at cmdline seems to have no effect.

OpenGL uses 2 frames buffer wich cannot be disabled, i believe software mode does not, i am guessing this is the delay that Spzman feels.
Max pre-rendered frames at Nvidia Control Panel are for DirectX only, there is a d3d ezq version but i was never able to get it working properly in fullscreen.
Also cl_nolerp 0 adds delay to screen, pretty noticeable.


These settings seem to produce the best results, after some timedemo tests:
d_mipcap "0"
d_mipscale "3"
d_subdiv16 "1"
vid_nopageflip "1"

Software mode seems to be slower drawing screen in comparison to openGL, r_speeds 1 shows a minimum delay of 1.5ms and alot of variations in my case, openGL is 0.0ms always.
2011-10-13, 22:22
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
MatriX wrote:
I just tried software and apparently i can't set 75hz in game if i have 60hz in windows desktop, unless i use -noddraw.
Not sure if this is what happens to you.
Using 1680x1050 isn't overkilling for fps in software ?

-noddraw have no effect for me.

Cant set 1680x1050 (does not exist), but using:
/vid_stretch_x 1
/vid_stretch_y 1
It will be half resolution (840x525), and now in 800x600 my cpu does 450-600 fps.

MatriX wrote:
OpenGL uses 2 frames buffer wich cannot be disabled, i believe software mode does not, i am guessing this is the delay that Spzman feels.
Max pre-rendered frames at Nvidia Control Panel are for DirectX only, there is a d3d ezq version but i was never able to get it working properly in fullscreen.
Also cl_nolerp 0 adds delay to screen, pretty noticeable.

Finally i got answer about Opengl delay, thank you!
Will try to look for solution or two buffers is major algorithm in Opengl in buffer swap?

MatriX wrote:
Software mode seems to be slower drawing screen in comparison to openGL, r_speeds 1 shows a minimum delay of 1.5ms and alot of variations in my case, openGL is 0.0ms always.

r_speeds 1 shows in software 1.2 and 1.3 ms and no more variations.
r_speeds 1 in Opengl shows 0 ms and very rarely 2 ms.
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-13, 23:18
Member
142 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Try this version with -noddraw or -nodirectdraw:
http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2011-09-26-48c142a-ezquake.7z
The more recent ones give me "ilegal operation".

I'm not sure but i think vid_stretch will reduce fps alot.

1680x1050 120hz is your native resolution ?
I don't think a custom resolution will show up in the list.
2011-10-14, 00:11
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
MatriX wrote:
Try this version with -noddraw or -nodirectdraw:
http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2011-09-26-48c142a-ezquake.7z
The more recent ones give me "ilegal operation".

Dont see any difference - no new modes.

MatriX wrote:
I'm not sure but i think vid_stretch will reduce fps alot.

It will increase fps, because of lower renderer resolution.

MatriX wrote:
1680x1050 120hz is your native resolution ?
I don't think a custom resolution will show up in the list.

Yes.

Lets ask Johny to make support -current in software!
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
2011-10-14, 06:00
Member
1433 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Feature requests tracker is here.
2011-10-14, 14:02
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Thank you very much!
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
  19 posts on 1 page  1