User panel stuff on forum
  6 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2011-03-21, 20:29
Member
203 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Hello friends and foes,

I have a technical problem with my EzQuake (software) client. In fact, it just doesn't load, but it gives me a windows error. Here's what it gives (sorry, it's German):

Problemsignatur:
Problemereignisname: BEX
Anwendungsname: ezquake.exe
Anwendungsversion: 0.0.0.0
Anwendungszeitstempel: 4d68ee5f
Fehlermodulname: ezquake.exe
Fehlermodulversion: 0.0.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 4d68ee5f
Ausnahmeoffset: 00121b18
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmedaten: 00000008
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Zusatzinformation 3: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

GL is no problem at all, but sw doesn't load at all. Maybe i'm missing some cmdline parameter here or completely ignored some important aspect?
OS is windows 7 by the way.

Thanks for any help.
Andy
2011-03-28, 14:02
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Probably it is due to Data Execution Preventer (DEP). Try to turn it off. (System->Advanced->Settings->Data Execution Preventer)
I wonder if someone knows how to check that DEP is turned on.
It would be nice to have messagebox shown about it.

Also I have problems with launching SW ezquake on ATI video cards.
2011-03-28, 19:41
Member
203 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Hi,

thanks for your response! I tried to disable this setting according to this guide: http://www.itechtalk.com/thread3591.html

Regrettably,Windows tells me ezquake.exe can't be put on the exception list and needs DEP to start
2011-03-28, 22:16
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
try this:
http://www.tomstricks.com/how-todisable-data-execution-prevention-dep-in-windows-vista-or-in-xp/

Also it is possible to compile sw client in the way that you do not need to bother with DEP.
It can be done by not using assembler (optimized) code. But fps will be 2 times lower.

I am not going to use Win 7 on my own PC. It is downgrade compared to XP.
2011-03-29, 09:15
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Has just checked it at work where I have win 7.

I created 2 bat files:
disable_DEP.bat and enable_DEP.bat
with
bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOff
and
bcdedit.exe /set nx AlwaysOn

Use "run as administrator" to launch them.
Effects take place after restart.
2011-03-31, 20:44
Member
203 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Thanks for your help se-sss, it works now! :-)
Of course i'm not sure, if I really want to stick to sw, but wanted to check the "feeling" again at least and see how it compares to gl
  6 posts on 1 page  1