User panel stuff on forum
  22 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2010-11-22, 22:31
Member
27 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
I am planning to purchase a new mouse, but I am a bit affraid of the middle mouse button, as nowdays it is the scroll wheel.
I am still playing with my Wingman Gaming Mouse, which is the best mouse I`ve ever had. No wheel, just good old 3 buttons. Is there any mouse out there where the middle button is not the scroll wheel? Or I don`t have to be affraid at all, just give it some time to get used to it?
2010-11-22, 23:42
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
The biggest difference between the Wingman Gaming Mouse and most other mice is not the lack of a scroll wheel, but the fact that on the Wingman you have a finger (the middle one) dedicated to mouse3, while on most other mice you move your index finger to use mouse3. This is far more important than mouse3 being a scroll wheel or not, I think. You can get used to it though, but an ideal mouse for me would indeed have a dedicated finger for mouse3 still. I use an MX518 (MX500 series, G5 and G500 all have the same shape) and I don't have any problems with using scroll as shaft though.
2010-11-23, 00:24
Member
48 posts

Registered:
Sep 2007
I took the laser from a Logitech g9 mouse and put inside my wingman gaming mouse. That is the best thing that has ever happened to me =)
All new mice with scroll suck ass for me.

If you decide on a new mouse. Please save the wingman. You never know =)
2010-11-23, 00:58
Administrator
1847 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Yeah Rille that was an awesome hack, I was lucky enough to be sitting next to Rille at QHLAN, so I got to see this unique item first hand!
2010-11-23, 07:30
Member
459 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
I think TCO used something similar. Another mouse sensor inside a wingman.

More on topic: No, I don't think you actually find a decent mouse for gaming with a third button instead of scroll atm.
2010-11-23, 09:28
Administrator
1847 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Whimp is using one, dunno how good it is, but it could do 500hz atleast
2010-11-24, 10:32
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
raz0
Quote:
that on the Wingman you have a finger (the middle one) dedicated to mouse3, while on most other mice you move your index finger to use mouse3

I do have dedicated middle finger for mouse3/wheel.

t0ma
I am happy with how it was done on my A4tech mouse. And I was not happy with it on Logitech: there was a good chance that when pressing mouse3 some mouse wheel event would be dispatched.

Many other people say just opposite.
So better test it on your own.
2010-11-24, 12:13
Member
17 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Yep the mouse is a HP OPTICAL MOUSE and the HP product code is DY651A. It works perectly, but I have a proggy to change it to 500 Hz. I have a G9 for other games/applications.....

http://h30094.www3.hp.com/product.asp?sku=2545791 or

http://www.google.dk/images?hl=da&rls=com.microsoft:da&wrapid=tlif12906003349221&q=DY651A&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=univ&ei=lP_sTKrFMY2aOs2CtK8B&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&ct=title&resnum=3&ved=0CDwQsAQwAg&biw=1225&bih=805
2010-11-28, 00:32
Member
27 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
@Rille
This sounds interesting. How much `hacking` does it need?
2010-11-28, 04:06
Member
48 posts

Registered:
Sep 2007
splitting one circuit board in half, finding one with laser that fits together with first half, connecting 6 wires in both ends on circuit boards.
thats about as much "hacking" that is needed.
2010-11-28, 16:03
Administrator
1847 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
And the Logitech G9 got a board like that? I've thought about using that one for the same purpose, but it's a bit expensive to buy one without knowing if it will work
2010-11-28, 19:16
Member
114 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
just mod your wingman, its what i did
one of the good guys! so please don't ban - jogi.netdome.biz
2010-11-28, 21:41
Member
67 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I had (have) a mouseman with 3buttons and a explorer 3.0 in it. Played with that mouse from 2000-2010. Changed to a razor deathadder some months ago. But now i dont use mouse3 at all. Becaus it sux. Had to change binds in qw instead. But im still satisfied with it. I dont have to change buttons in the mouse every year And its a bit smoother to play with. But it a chame that they dont sell mouses without scroll So.. buy a mouse with scroll and change binds! ) I know its hard. But after 3weeks u dont think about it any more.
2010-11-28, 23:26
Administrator
1847 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
jogihoogi wrote:
just mod your wingman, its what i did

Yeah but from what Rille said, it sounded like you could just take half of the G9 and put it inside the wingman gaming mouse, and it would work np
2010-11-29, 01:22
Member
367 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
My advice is to put something on mouse3 that isn't that crucial e.g. I use it to shoot grenades. The wheel can actually be useful e.g. for teammsgs.
2010-11-29, 06:57
Member
48 posts

Registered:
Sep 2007
Zalon wrote:
jogihoogi wrote:
just mod your wingman, its what i did

Yeah but from what Rille said, it sounded like you could just take half of the G9 and put it inside the wingman gaming mouse, and it would work np

Actually its half the wingman, all the g9 and then put it together inside the wingman shell =) circuitwise i mean..
Im thinking about buying a new g9x and do another one of mine =)
2010-11-29, 09:31
Administrator
1847 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
HangTime wrote:
My advice is to put something on mouse3 that isn't that crucial e.g. I use it to shoot grenades. The wheel can actually be useful e.g. for teammsgs.

Yeah, I also use mouse3 for grenades and then I have my coming bind and pointing on the wheel so switching to one without wheel might be a bad idea :/

Rille wrote:
Actually its half the wingman, all the g9 and then put it together inside the wingman shell =) circuitwise i mean..

That was how I understood it yeah, but thats awesome
2010-11-29, 10:15
Member
35 posts

Registered:
May 2009
Not missing the wheel but still really nice - http://hardware.gotfrag.com/portal/gallery/871/###
2010-11-29, 14:30
Member
17 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Well my mouse (and Niw's) does not have a wheel and that rocks. It still does 500 HZ which is enough.........
2010-11-29, 16:45
Member
67 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Heres mine
http://www.freepicsupload.com/pics/phpeRiVQi-P7300010.jpg

http://www.freepicsupload.com/pics/phpeRiVQi-P7300009.jpg
2010-11-29, 16:48
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Looks like a factory job.
2010-11-29, 18:04
News Writer
1267 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
ikea mousemat ftw!
Chosen
  22 posts on 1 page  1