User panel stuff on forum
  8 posts on 1 page  1
Advanced Configuration
2010-03-17, 20:16
Member
386 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
I use the built-in ezquake weapon switching functions, such as cl_weaponpreselect and cl_weaponhide, with mouse1 bound to +attack. This works fine, but when using a separate lg script on mouse2, there are conflicts.

alias +lg "set wp $weaponnum;weapon 8 5 4 3 2 1;+attack"
alias -lg "-attack;weapon $wp"

When firing with this lg script on mouse2, and I accidentally hit mouse1, the lg script breaks as I release mouse1 and it starts firing shotgun, which is quite frustrating when you're in the middle of a decisive battle.

Feel free to add any more you have observed to this thread.

[edit]Is there any way to disable the new weapon-switching client-side?[/edit]
2010-03-17, 20:53
Member
8 posts

Registered:
Sep 2007
possible workaround:

alias +lg "set wp $weaponnum;weapon 8 5 4 3 2 1;+attack; unbind mouse1"
alias -lg "-attack;weapon $wp; bind mouse1 +attack"
2010-03-17, 20:56
Member
1435 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
This has nothing to do with the server stuff so I moved it to Advanced configuration.

What is your mouse1 bind?
2010-03-17, 22:22
Member
386 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
JohnNy_cz wrote:
This has nothing to do with the server stuff so I moved it to Advanced configuration.

What is your mouse1 bind?

+attack

And it has everything to do with the server, because it didn't happen until the weapon-switching behaviour was changed in 1.36 or thereabouts. For instance, it doesn't happen on xs4all which runs 1.35.
2010-03-17, 22:45
Member
1435 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
when you release mouse1 (-attack), the cl_weaponhide thing executes "weapon 2 1" command

new servers which support "setinfo wpsx 1" will allow you to switch from LG to different weapon while still holding +attack; therefore you get switched to boomstick while you hold your +lg button
old servers don't allow you to switch from LG unless you release attack (all of them) and press it again
2010-03-18, 02:16
Member
386 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Is there a way to disable it client-side? "Setinfo wpsx 0" did nothing, sadly.
2010-03-18, 09:53
Member
1435 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Sorry it's wswfix (wpsx is for weapon statistics) however it seems to be forced to 1.
2010-03-18, 17:33
Member
386 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Dang. Any chance of a toggle?

I know it's possible to have scripts that don't break under those conditions, but it seems a shame not to use the otherwise perfect and simple ezquake ones.
  8 posts on 1 page  1