User panel stuff on forum
  12 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2008-11-18, 05:50
Member
20 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
I used to play on PC soft/300x200.. Is it possible on MAC OS X? Is there any way for playing QW @ Mac with a soft/vga client ? 300x200 ?

When i put -width 300 -height 200 at cmdline my crosshair disapear even if set to 1/2/3/4/etc and the screen got a small square on the left-bottom of my monitor.

regards.
2008-11-18, 09:30
Member
341 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
The software port for Mac has been unmainted for a long time. Mostly because of lack of time and interest. Moreover I think current OSX graphics driver versions do not support such low resolutions anymore. The drivers usually support 640x480 VGA resolution at a minimum I think (hey some drivers don't even have 256 colors support - my isn't even supporting 16 bit color mode with the recent drivers!). So no.. not possible until someone starts hacking on that port again. I won't do it :-)
2008-11-18, 20:18
Member
20 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
ok..
someone could at least fix those bugs for gl 300x200 :/

- crosshair bug
- small and wrong position(left-bottom) screen bug

:-o
2008-11-18, 21:36
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
why would anyone fix a bug for 300x200 resolution?
are you playing on a iphone by any chance?
2008-11-19, 00:57
Member
20 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
yes, thats it. I am a iphone player.
2008-11-19, 10:31
Member
341 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
As I said I'm not convinced that such low resolutions are natively supported by the plattform anymore. This would mean to run a higher resolution but render a 300x200 image to that higher resolution context. I'm not sure if anything related has been coded into EZQuake yet.

The supported resolutions are configurable with the popup at the beginning. Perhaps user command line line overwriting of resolution should be ignored.. feel free to send patches
2008-12-03, 12:13
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I did code this in ZQuake back when we first supported the mac. A special 'simulated' 320x200 mode for software renderer that was actually rendering at 320x200 but stretching to fill 640x400 (the lowest res support by OS X).
2008-12-03, 17:58
Member
341 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Aha.. sounds nice.. what about 8bit -> 16bit color depth? Blizzard finally delivered a Beta client for Diablo 2 that is working with 10.5.2 and higher :}

I guess we have to fix this for EZQuake too.. _if_ we would be interested in a software client?
2008-12-04, 03:06
Member
58 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Without a doubt, I would be interested in a Mac 320x200 software mode! Count me as interested Respectfully, xhrl
finem respice
2008-12-04, 04:04
Member
20 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
I hope one day I will play with soft 300x200 at Mac OS X
soft > gl for sure.
2008-12-04, 17:09
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ew, nasty
2008-12-05, 08:03
Administrator
1859 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
xhrl wrote:
Without a doubt, I would be interested in a Mac 320x200 software mode! Count me as interested Respectfully, xhrl

OMG xhrl! Welcome back mate... and someone, do as he says - anything to keep xhrl here
  12 posts on 1 page  1