User panel stuff on forum
  22 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2008-07-18, 12:02
Administrator
864 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
hi!
I like the new map, lundm1, but I can hardly play it since I get down to 79 fps(at worst) on it. On dm4 I never go below 500. Why is this? Is there any solution or command to make it playable? And there are many players having the same issue. Mawe, goblin, lakso, blsp just to name a few.. hilfe!
IRC went Discord -> join the chats @ discord.quake.world
2008-07-18, 13:27
Member
382 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
It seems to be because it's so big and open; At some points you're rendering over half of the map at once.

I've spent the last couple of days playing with cl_maxfps, cl_independentphysics 0 and vid_displayrefresh to try and find a reasonable solution without resorting to 320x240 :/.

The best I could manage was matching my maxfps and displayrefresh at 75 (77hz and 77fps would be great if your monitor could do that). There's quite a bit of tearing (which you can only remove with vid_vsync ;/), but at least it's more playable for me than the huge drops I get otherwise, even when wandering around the map on my own.
2008-07-18, 17:14
Administrator
1843 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
It's not more open than aerowalk, the problems you mention is the same when there is a hole in a map.... Dunno if it's bugged
2008-07-21, 06:45
Member
229 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Zalon wrote:
It's not more open than aerowalk, the problems you mention is the same when there is a hole in a map.... Dunno if it's bugged

Dito... Its a very nice map. But i have stable 600fps on every other "open map", like aero, skull etc. On lundm1 i the fps drops to 200 fps in the center.

Plz fix this, its indeed a cool map.

/Jon
2008-07-21, 07:37
Member
401 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
hmm doesn't drop below 900fps.

E8400 | 8800GTS 512mb
2008-07-21, 08:36
Member
1099 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Can you locate the exact spots (&views) where the fps drop so low? That might be helpful for the mapper.

I suspect it is more an engine limitation "inefficiency" though.
2008-07-29, 19:09
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I have low FPS too here. :/

These four screenshots were all taken standing in the same spot looking in different directions. It clearly shows that the bug, or whatever it is, is located somewhere near mega health.

http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak16.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak17.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak18.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak19.jpg


Here is some shots above mega and RL. Again it clearly shows that looking straight in the direction of mega instead of looking above or below it, gives the lowest FPS (and yes, I do realize that there is far more in the shot looking straight forward, but still...)

http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak20.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak21.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak22.jpg


Finally one near shaft with really low FPS:

http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak23.jpg


Hope this helps in tracking down the bug. Right now, as you can see from my FPS, the map is totally unplayable for me. I don't have FPS drops on any other map that I can think of, so I really do think this must be a bug.
2008-07-30, 20:01
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Bump! Finally added pictures to my post. Stupid imaging service was down yesterday.
2008-07-30, 20:06
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
raz0 what fps do you normally get? those pics don't show much if your pc only gives you 90 fps on average (i obviously assume it gives you more).
2008-07-30, 21:47
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I have cl_maxfps 100 and that's what I get on all other maps all the time. Sorry for forgetting to provide this very important piece of imformation. :p
2008-07-30, 22:57
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
i know how annoying it it if you have fps drops on a nice map that you want to play, i had that problem with some of of tiddles maps. i guess it's a 'hole' in the map or wahtever they call it?!
2008-07-31, 08:46
Member
1099 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Try standing right to the upper rocket launcher and look at the grate texture below. That should be the place with the lowest fps if the details on the map are the problem. Due to the openness of the map most of it is rendered throughout the whole space. When playing "corridor" maps only small parts of the map are being rendered.

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/7861/ezquake000il9.jpg

Disabling dynamic lights increases FPS a lot for me (r_dynamic 0).
2008-07-31, 11:07
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Spirit, That spot is definitely not the worst spot for me on the map. I have ~92 FPS standing where you are standing in that shot.

To further convince you all that this is a bug in the map, I took another couple of screenshots. Again, they were both taken standing in the same spot.

http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak24.jpg
http://i45.servimg.com/u/f45/11/95/12/66/th/ezquak25.jpg


The first one clearly has the most details. In the second shot most of the view is covered by a wall, yet I have far less FPS here! Coincidentally I am now pointing towards the middle of the map where the bug supposedly is.

One odd thing I discovered this time though, is that if I have alt-tab'ed out of ezQuake at any point, my FPS on lundm1 are about 10-20 FPS worse than if I haven't alt-tab'ed at any point. I don't know what to make of that. It's worth noting that I didn't alt-tab on these two screenshots (so FPS are higher) and I had alt-tabbed in all the screenshots in my previous post, (so FPS are lower).
2008-07-31, 12:37
Member
1099 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Well I have no idea about engine rendering stuff.

http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/107/dp000002ju7.jpg
Here is a shot of the things the engine (darkplaces in this case) is having loaded (in video memory I guess) at that place. Now if you turn towards the wall, more of the stuff is in view and needs to be rendered. It is actually most of the map that is "possibly visible" to the engine and thus is somewhat rendered (I guess). What you see is not what the engine sees. And open maps like this are really not normal in Quake. I think this makes a bit of sense, it would be nice to have some engine coder confirm (or explain).
2008-07-31, 13:04
Member
108 posts

Registered:
Jun 2006
bit of topic, but is there any custom textures for lundm1? I like the map, but its full of white lights everywhere and i use white skins with blend together, makes it realy hard to battle. Its like sng@dm3 just much worse. And a lot of ppl use white skins..
usaly i use r_textureless or something witch fixes it, but it kina feels weird and it hurts my rl aim since i dont have the grid look of lego quake.
2008-08-11, 10:34
Administrator
1843 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
So is this getting fixed? Would be sad if not...
2008-08-11, 12:31
Member
85 posts

Registered:
May 2007
Hmm. Sounds weird. I got actually same FPS in lundm1 as in other maps: 500-1200 when cl_physfps 0 cl_maxfps 0.

Edit: I forgot that it was with gl_max_size 1 ;<
Str8 Outta Ritoniemi!
2008-09-04, 19:46
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
You guys should contact Lunaran directly if you want it fixed. He's a pro mapper, if there's really something wrong, I'm sure he'd wanna fix it...

http://lunaran.com/
2008-09-04, 21:39
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I've dropped him an e-mail. We'll see what he says.
2008-09-05, 01:42
Member
4 posts

Registered:
Jun 2008
I'm pretty sure this problem is just r_speeds. It doesn't leak, nothing else is wrong with it, it compiled clean, but the peak wpolies when standing in the corners looking in is ~1000 whereas dm2/4/6 are much lower (400 tops).

I didn't worry about that because I figured "eh, computers!" but I wasn't counting on <300fps being seen as unplayable. what I get for not playing the game I'm mapping for.

I guess I'll have to release some kind of revised version of this. Besides obvious performance and the white lights, what else did I bungle?
2008-09-18, 17:10
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Well, I think it's a bit extreme to say that people in general consider < 300 FPS unplayable, although a few probably do. What you're seeing here is people having their FPS drop below 100, and that is very noticeable because of the huge fluctuations that are happening. As you can see my FPS drop as low as 63-64 on select spots, and I would definitely call that unplayable.
2008-09-20, 12:47
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Lunaran wrote:
Besides obvious performance and the white lights, what else did I bungle?

Just pointing out that question. Lunaran really wants to know if you had any problems with the map (except the performance). He wants to fix this. Please reply here ASAP if you have anything at all.
  22 posts on 1 page  1