User panel stuff on forum
  20 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2008-06-01, 18:42
10 posts

May 2008
I've been curious in my qw travels what custom crosshair I should use. Now I know people go on about your crosshair being a personal preference, but it's not like the crosshair was a new invention for FPS games... obviously guns have been around for a very long time. So I was wondering if some crosshairs are better for aim then others?

I'm an engineer so I'm freaking scientific about these kinds of things, so sue me ;-)

I was reading guns on Wikipedia, and I came across this article. It suggests that most modern scopes use some form of the duplex crosshair. Which means there's a theory with crosshairs that you want to "get in the right ballpark" i.e. center something approximately in the target, and then you fine-tune the shot so it's right on the money. Any rifle or hunter-type guys want to comment on this?

Anyway it seems to point to a crosshair that's fairly big so you can see it in most conditions, but then in the center you have an open space or dot for your precision shot. Now it's not like in qw we have guns that are one-shot kills and need to be super precise, but I think it makes sense to have a crosshair that's big enough with the cross so that you can get value out of the up/down/left/right approx, and then whatever you want in the middle to help you get the precision shot.

Any thoughts on this? Maybe we could have a poll? (Yea whatever I like polls!)

1) Standard X cross
2) Standard X with dot center
3) Standard X with open center
4) Circular (imho good for shotgun to show u where the pellets go, but otherwise pretty useless)
5) Dot (imho no real up/down/left/right aim just want a general idea where shots will go)
2008-06-01, 20:33
1329 posts

Apr 2006
http://pici.se/pictures/OYdUZzOoH.png