User panel stuff on forum
  7 posts on 1 page  1
Server Talk
2007-12-17, 23:46
Member
15 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Is anyone familiar with the genebot project???
It's a server that has bots built into the engine. The bots aren't that smart though.
I have the source code but it's in c/c++. I can barely edit QuakeC
Wondering if anyone has tinkered with this?
2007-12-18, 11:32
Administrator
2047 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
And the benefit when comparing them to Frogbots would be...?
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2007-12-18, 11:58
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
more indie, dammit!
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
2007-12-18, 12:02
Member
88 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
I'm not sure why you would be, but if you happen to be interested in looking at some of the historically important bot incarnations http://botshop.planetquake.gamespy.com/quake.html is a good place to start. A timeline going even further back (to cujo and the like) is here: http://hosted.planetquake.gamespy.com/botarea51/main/history.asp

botshop was one of the first quake pages i read regularly (2-4 times/day) together with redwood, blue and scary.
2007-12-19, 03:53
Member
15 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Was Frogbot built into the Quake engine???
2007-12-21, 23:46
Member
367 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Ake Vader wrote:
And the benefit when comparing them to Frogbots would be...?

Frogbot is part of a mod. This means that it can only be used while playing the Frogbot mod (unless it is ported to another mod such as FBCA, obviously...)
Genebot on the other hand is actually part of the server itself. This means that theoretically you can use genebots on any mod - Midair, KTX, CTF or whatever you want.
2007-12-23, 12:29
Member
15 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Ake Vader wrote:
And the benefit when comparing them to Frogbots would be...?

Point is that I want to use bots in my mod. Can't do that with Frogbot!
  7 posts on 1 page  1