User panel stuff on forum
Index  ‹  Help  ‹  Screenshot
  20 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2007-11-20, 09:19
Member
230 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I want to be able to take the exact same screenshot several times with different textures and hud etc. What’s the best way to do this?

I guess one way to do this is to record a short demo and then have some alias script that starts the demo take a screenshot and then stops the demo.

Alias ss “playdemo test; wait; screenshot ss1; wait; stopâ€
Bind x ss

Help appreciated
2007-11-20, 09:22
Member
28 posts

Registered:
May 2007
This is by no means a sure way to do it.

It would be a lot easier just to load a map, and aim for a known spot, this would produce a near equal screenshot everytime.
2007-11-20, 09:24
Member
1100 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I would simply do it right after spawning.
The demo alias would probably not work as "wait" is dependant on the framerate/load I think.
2007-11-20, 09:39
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
I just do a ss without touching my mouse, put the console down, alt-tab to windows and change models and such, then switch back (still in console), do a vid_restart and take away console...

Rince and repeat


Worked good for my ss
2007-11-20, 11:09
Member
230 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
The short demo, maybe some seconds long, will be a static non moving video so to speak cause I just want to have the same amount of ammo, health and armor in all ss and I don't want be forced to take all ss at the same time as I would with deurks proposal.

If the demo was a non static moving video could maybe ‘demo_jump’ command be used to more exact time the ss or would it also be dependant on framerate/loadtime?
2007-11-20, 11:24
Member
569 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Wouldnt a cl_textureset (default: textures/ ) be a good command, perhaps already exists?
2007-11-20, 12:25
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
use e.g.
alias screen1 "cl_demospeed 0; demo_jump 00:01; screenshot"
alias screen2 "cl_demospeed 0; demo_jump 00:02; screenshot"

etc.
2007-11-20, 13:10
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
uh? Is that the answer to Moon's first sentence?!
2007-11-20, 13:14
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
no the second one about taking in the same spot

then i'd have several folders with the textures and models in them and do

./ezquake-gl.glx -userdir set1 +exec take-screenshots.cfg
./ezquake-gl.glx -userdir set2 +exec take-screenshots.cfg

etc.

and take-screenshots.cfg would be something like

cl_demospeed 0
playdemo demo
demo_jump 00:01
screenshot 1.png
demo_jump 00:02
screenshot 2.png
cl_confirmquit 0
quit
2007-11-20, 14:24
Member
54 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
best would be to
demospeed 0
demo_jump to where ever u want
take the screenshot
quit
change the models and then do the same thing all over again
2007-11-20, 14:27
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
heh
2007-11-20, 17:31
News Writer
493 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ok I didn't read any of the posts because I've been doing this for years for QRP (Moon, I thought I gave you this script?)

Anyway...

first put this in your config file:
cl_demospeed 0
this makes it so when you load any demo file, it is loaded as "paused". So no matter how infinitely small the demo is, you'll load it as paused.

now, put this script somewhere in your config:

alias +rcd "record $a"
alias -rcd "stop;set a nting"

bind something to +rcd

go to some map, let's say you're taking a picture of the dopefish, type set a dopefish, aim wherever you want, and tap the +rcd key. this will record dopefish.qwd

then play dopefish.qwd (cl_demospeed 0) and there you have it

p.s. moon come on irc =p
2007-11-20, 23:37
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
any more people want to repeat the same thing with a slight variation?
2007-11-21, 06:18
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
hello moon[drunk], i saw this script on the quakeworld.nu forum.

you might want to try it out.

alias +rcd "record $a"
alias -rcd "stop;set a nting"
2007-11-21, 08:52
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
There is also another one that could be useful:

Alias ss “cl_demospeed 0;playdemo test; wait; screenshot ss1; wait; stopâ€
Bind x ss

2007-11-21, 11:24
Member
202 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
what if you started playing the demo with cl_Demospeed 0, and did a demo_jump to the same place every time?

edit: bandwagon
2007-11-21, 11:52
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
or you could connect a DDR dancing mat to your PC and bind the arrows to perform 'screenshot 1', 'screenshot 2' etc. then you must attempt to hit the right arrow during demo playback to capture the desired screenshot. a metronome may help here
2007-11-21, 11:56
Member
1435 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Noone mentioned the great command demo_setspeed, which gives much better results, especially if you combine it with pushlatency set to the length of your nick multiplied by the difference of your ping to the nearest free porn server and average count of word "ASHOL" in sassa's blog posts.
2007-11-21, 12:54
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
careful, if your pushlatency deviates from -999 then mvdsv records demos that are incompatible with qwcl+nfproxy
2007-11-21, 12:57
Member
950 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Oldman, on that one, your avatar looked like ROFL ROFL
  20 posts on 1 page  1