User panel stuff on forum
  7 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2006-02-18, 15:24
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
Ok, I've got a Philips 190C6 19 inch tft monitor.. running 1280x1024 @ 60 hz (60 hz is perfect for tft's).. but when I run Quake and then quit it, XP has automatically set my monitor's refresh rate @ 75 hz which annoys the crap outta me. Anybody know how I can prevent XP (or is it FuhQuake?) from switchin to 75 hz? set vid_displayfrequency 60 in the command line doesn't work.
2006-02-19, 10:29
Member
248 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
hm, so you have 60 befor starting fuh, and then 75 in fuh, and then 75 back in win!?

Having 75 in fuh sounds better then have 60 in fuh, so i guess its XP:s fault it dont "switch back"

You have same res in xp/fuh?
2006-02-19, 12:29
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
yes, when I start fuhquake my monitor's refresh rate is set to 75hz..
but you've got to understand that it's a tft monitor, and refresh rate for tft's works totally different than for crt monitor's.. 60 hz is preferred for tft's, and I can tell the difference when it's set to 75hz because then I can horizontal lines on the screen, which I don't have when I set it to 60 hz..

so, anybody a solution?
2006-02-19, 16:02
Member
485 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I dont have a solution to your problem, but...

Refresh rate means the same thing for CRT and TFT. TFT does not flicker, but it still has a refresh rate. It determines the number of different images you can get per second. In quake you probably want as many as you can get.
2006-02-19, 20:00
Member
5 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
No, refresh rate doesn't mean the same for CRT and TFT.. not at all in fact.

http://experts.about.com/q/Monitors-1521/LCD-vs-CRT.htm
2006-02-20, 00:27
Member
485 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
That's a nice article. However, I don't see how it overthrows my argument. Ofcourse the techniques differ, but the refresh rate figure indicates the same thing. You will not get more frames per second than that.

60Hz is probably ideal for picture quality in your monitor. And, yes, you should probably use that for desktop. In quake, consider sacrificing beauty for performance.
2006-02-22, 13:53
Member
5 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
But it's so damn annoying to switch refresh rates for my desktop every time I ran Quake...
  7 posts on 1 page  1