User panel stuff on forum
  870 posts on 29 pages  First page20212223242526272829Last page
Client Talk
2013-10-13, 17:04
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I've added all versions of the nQuake source code (only Windows yet) to Github. Great stuff.

https://github.com/empezar/nquake/releases
2013-10-13, 18:53
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
2013-10-13 - nQuake v2.6 for Windows

* Added a file association page to setup.
* Setup now also looks for setup files in the installer folder.
* Setup now copies pak0.pak and pak1.pak to setup file folder for later use if user selects to keep setup files.
* Broke out the base textures from the non-gpl distribution file and made it into its own, reducing download time when downloading high resolution textures.
* Removed support for nQuake versions < 2.0.
* Fixed the bug where the installation folder would sometimes not get removed.
* Fixed the bug where the setup files folder would get removed even if it wasn't empty. (This could cause pretty much damage if the files were downloaded to e.g. D:\.)
* Minor bug fixes and code improvement.
2013-10-19, 13:49
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
nQuake.com renewed for 5 years. Sent me back $56.
2013-10-19, 14:22
Member
286 posts

Registered:
Sep 2012
Which adress ?
2013-10-22, 12:01
Member
188 posts

Registered:
May 2007
First of all great work with nquake, I have used it for years, when I have to format my HD or change PCs. But I have to ask you, why is everything in .pk3 files now? I downloaded it yesterday and started to customize my QW to what I am used to. You cant just put in your old folders with textures and models because the .pk3 files have a priority. I understand that it really looks neat and tidy when you just have a few files and I am far far away from bitching, just to make this clear. But, isn't it counterproductive to make it more difficult to customize your QW as it is necessary? Purely from a user friendly point of view. Being able to customize your QW to you likings is one of the strong points of QW after all.
2013-10-22, 13:36
Administrator
1265 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
nix wrote:
You cant just put in your old folders with textures and models because the .pk3 files have a priority.



If I remember correctly, from the tests i've made the priorities are the following:
< less priority
-- folders --
/id1 folder
/qw folder

-- files --
files in .pak
files in .pk3
files in the directories
> more priority


so if you place your custom files under the directories, they should be loaded.

What i do: I have a zmushi.pk3 file in /qw (with all my custom stuff) and it gets loaded all the time...
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2013-10-22, 13:56
Member
188 posts

Registered:
May 2007
Thx for the tips mushi.

I understand that you surely can get it to work, when you are tinkering around a little bit, which I am absolutely willing to do. I was just wondering, what the reason is behind all the .pk3 files, that make everything a bit more complicated than necessary

Edit: Wait did I get this right? single files have priority over .pk3 and .pk3 over .pk?
2013-10-22, 19:20
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
nix wrote:
what the reason is behind all the .pk3 files, that make everything a bit more complicated than necessary


Hm.. i was under the impression that last time that I checked it .pk3 files were simply .zip files with no compression? That actually sounds easier to modify than the old .pak file format with the 199X pak explorer application..


But I agree that single files outside of the archives should have priority.
2013-10-22, 19:42
Member
286 posts

Registered:
Sep 2012
.pk3 files are indeed only zip files, so anyone can customize them. Much better than .pak.
If you place files in qw/textures, qw/skins and so on, they will have priority over the pk3 anyway.
I remember having some problems with an older version of nquake for some files though, I don't remember exactly what so I can't tell if it has been fixed.
2013-10-22, 21:12
Member
188 posts

Registered:
May 2007
Seems like I ran into the same problem as you Jissse, thats why I thought .pk3 has priority over single files in the directories. But I did as Mushi said and created a .pk3 file with all my stuff. Thx for all the responses.
2013-10-23, 05:48
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Tuna wrote:
nix wrote:
what the reason is behind all the .pk3 files, that make everything a bit more complicated than necessary


Hm.. i was under the impression that last time that I checked it .pk3 files were simply .zip files with no compression? That actually sounds easier to modify than the old .pak file format with the 199X pak explorer application..


But I agree that single files outside of the archives should have priority.


Pk3 files can have compression too, which is one of the reasons I'm using them - smaller game directory.
2013-10-23, 10:35
Member
344 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
empezar wrote:
Pk3 files can have compression too, which is one of the reasons I'm using them - smaller game directory.

Cool, didn't know that. However is there really a benefit from zipping .png or .jpg in size? I assume those are already undergone variable length encoding.. so you increase loading time but do not safe much size. For .tga and .bsp it may be different though..
2013-10-24, 07:58
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Tuna wrote:
empezar wrote:
Pk3 files can have compression too, which is one of the reasons I'm using them - smaller game directory.

Cool, didn't know that. However is there really a benefit from zipping .png or .jpg in size? I assume those are already undergone variable length encoding.. so you increase loading time but do not safe much size. For .tga and .bsp it may be different though..


I've packaged textures and models in separate pk3 files so they can easily be removed if the user doesn't want them anymore. That can be kinda tricky for a newcomer if the files just lay about in the qw folder.
2013-10-24, 14:07
Administrator
1025 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Tuna wrote:
empezar wrote:
Pk3 files can have compression too, which is one of the reasons I'm using them - smaller game directory.

Cool, didn't know that.
Afaik .pk3 is plain simply a renamed zip-file.
2013-10-28, 20:28
Member
22 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
nix wrote:
Seems like I ran into the same problem as you Jissse, thats why I thought .pk3 has priority over single files in the directories.


If the engine handles pk3 priority similarly to pak file priority (I don't know if this is the case), then they do have priority over loose files in the same directory. But not necessarily over files in other directories.

As far as loose files and files inside paks are concerned, Quake has an order that it looks for things, and it takes the LAST thing that it finds. It first looks in the id1 directory, and it examines loose files in there, then files inside each pak (in lexicographical order of pak name). Then (if it is a QW engine) it does the same thing in the qw directory. Then, if there was a -game option on the command line, it does the same thing in the -game directory.

So for example let's say you have a loose file named "foo.cfg" and also a file named "foo.cfg" that is inside a pak. If both the loose file and the pak are in the qw directory, the one in the pak wins. But if the loose file is in qw and the pak is in id1, the loose file wins.
2013-10-29, 07:17
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Perhaps I should move the nQuake paks to the id1 folder then.
2013-10-29, 09:09
Member
64 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
Not followed the full discussion, but might chip in with the dreaded "pak.lst" that some people have.
If you have a file named pak.lst in either id1/qw/nQuake folders, it should contain the list of .pk3 files you want to use (inside the same folder).

If pak.lst is non-existent, qw will load all the .pk3 files in alphabetical order.

So for some example:

x/qw/pak.lst contains:
file1.pk3
file2.pk3

Folder contains:
x/qw/file1.pk3
x/qw/file2.pk3
x/qw/file3.pk3


The above will only load file1.pk3 and file2.pk3
Note: I am currently at work, so pak.lst might have wrong formatting.
2013-11-02, 20:11
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I renewed the domain for five years until 2018.

I would love to get some help with the payments.

http://www.nquake.com/donate.php
2013-11-02, 23:38
Member
286 posts

Registered:
Sep 2012
Done. You're hard to reach, even when it's to give you money.
2013-11-03, 08:31
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Jissse wrote:
Done. You're hard to reach, even when it's to give you money.


Thanks a lot
2013-12-21, 07:33
Member
258 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
nQuake rsync server seems to be down. Could you restart it Empezar?
2014-02-24, 21:49
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Hi
I reported a few bugs on the links provided, may I expect anyone to look into it?
2014-02-27, 20:27
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Certainly. Just not now.

I have a full time job and study medicine, so time for nQuake is pretty sparse.

I'll probably look into it this summer.
2014-03-15, 08:15
Member
258 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Rsync is down
2014-03-16, 09:50
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
2014-03-16 - nQuake v2.8 for Windows

* Added option to re-download all setup files (in case of bad local setup files).
* Added option to remove all setup files during uninstallation.

2014-02-16 - nQuake v2.7 for Windows

* Setup now checks whether pak0.pak or pak1.pak exists in destination folder before copying.
* Fixed the bug where file copies (pak0.pak/pak1.pak) were displayed (Explorer copy files) during setup.
2014-03-16, 10:17
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ahtoh wrote:
Hi
I reported a few bugs on the links provided, may I expect anyone to look into it?


1) Added changelog.txt that details changes to game files.

2) I also added information on how to update nQuake game files in readme.txt.

3) There will not be an auto update feature since nQuake seldom updates, and the updates are mostly very minor.

4) The config priority should not be an issue if you use the /cfg_save system.

5) Wide-screen aspect bugs are ezQuake bugs, not nQuake.
2014-03-16, 10:18
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
mli wrote:
Rsync is down


Looking into this.
2014-03-16, 12:06
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
2014-03-16 - nQuakesv v1.6 for Windows

* Added option to re-download all setup files (in case of bad local setup files).
* Added option to remove all setup files during uninstallation.

2014-02-16 - nQuakesv v1.5 for Windows

* Setup now checks whether pak0.pak or pak1.pak exists in destination folder before copying.
* Fixed the bug where file copies (pak0.pak/pak1.pak) were displayed (Explorer copy files) during setup.
2014-03-17, 14:25
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
2014-03-17 - nQuake v2.3 for Linux

* Added support for Clan Arena, Team Fortress and High Resolution Texture addons.
* Improved code.
2014-12-23, 23:51
Administrator
2059 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Is the QW protocol handler thingie (as described here) included in nQuake? I.e. the registration of the exe using /register_qwurl_protocol? Think my installation is based on an old nQuake release and i had to do that myself, would be cool if it was possible to use the "Play" button from the start on http://qtv.quakeworld.nu (and any similar sites) with a fresh install.
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
  870 posts on 29 pages  First page20212223242526272829Last page