User panel stuff on forum
  48 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
General Discussion
2016-08-31, 10:25
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
I am looking to buy a new laptop, but if I also want it to be suitable for QW is there anything in particular I need to look for/be aware of in regards to hardware?
2016-08-31, 12:29
2016-08-31, 16:40
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
dirtbox wrote:


Thanks, but I'm not looking for a gaming laptop, as such. I'm only playing QW, and apart from that it will be used for surfing, Office and such regular stuff.
2016-08-31, 17:48
Administrator
826 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Kemo? You're not Petter ' Kemo' Bjurman huh? The guy that got me into QW from netquake.
IRC went Discord -> join the chats @ discord.quake.world
2016-08-31, 17:48
Member
261 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
Kemo wrote:
dirtbox wrote:


Thanks, but I'm not looking for a gaming laptop, as such. I'm only playing QW, and apart from that it will be used for surfing, Office and such regular stuff.


If you don't care about the refresh rate of your screen, I can't imagine what else would be suitable.

If you plan to use your laptop to play QW in a external monitor, make sure it has dual link dvi video output and a Nvidia gfx card.
dev
2016-08-31, 18:24
News Writer
214 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
The good thing with Nvidia is that you can overclock the screens refresh rate via Nvidia control panel, so when running QW in Windows Bootcamp on my 2009 MBP I get 95 Hz instead of 60 Hz. Which is ok if you plan on playing on the laptop (which I do). But an external screen via dual DVI would be VERY much better.
2016-08-31, 18:35
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
bps wrote:
Kemo? You're not Petter ' Kemo' Bjurman huh? The guy that got me into QW from netquake.


No, I'm Danish . I used to play some Netquake a little from time to time, but mainly QW from 1997 onwards. I was mostly active from 1996/1997-2000 in clans like TGM, NBI, Vikings and some others.
2016-08-31, 18:41
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
Yeah, I guess I would go for an external monitor when playing QW. So if it has an Nvidia GeForce and dual link DVI output, I should be good to go? And the external monitor should support 120 Hz?
2016-08-31, 18:57
Member
261 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
Kemo wrote:
Yeah, I guess I would go for an external monitor when playing QW. So if it has an Nvidia GeForce and dual link DVI output, I should be good to go? And the external monitor should support 120 Hz?


Yes. 120 / 144hz.
dev
2016-08-31, 18:59
Member
261 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
erlend wrote:
The good thing with Nvidia is that you can overclock the screens refresh rate via Nvidia control panel, so when running QW in Windows Bootcamp on my 2009 MBP I get 95 Hz instead of 60 Hz. Which is ok if you plan on playing on the laptop (which I do). But an external screen via dual DVI would be VERY much better.


Not all laptop screens support the overclock. I got my MBA 2010 overclocked to 103hz. Unfortunately I can't do nearly the same with my MBP 2014, nothing different from 60hz works.
dev
2016-08-31, 21:11
News Writer
269 posts

Registered:
Feb 2008
Somehow I read this Leopold suitable for QW - I was going to come in and champion his cause..!

I'll do it anyways, Leopold rocks!
Street Vendor Crack down Princess Cop
2016-09-01, 00:50
Member
141 posts

Registered:
May 2013
ocoini wrote:
Somehow I read this Leopold suitable for QW - I was going to come in and champion his cause..!


Leopold: Suitable for everyday use.
2016-09-01, 02:16
News Writer
832 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
andrestone wrote:
If you don't care about the refresh rate of your screen, I can't imagine what else would be suitable.

If you plan to use your laptop to play QW in a external monitor, make sure it has dual link dvi video output and a Nvidia gfx card.
Most laptop's now have display port's which allow for 144hz etc so DVI-D isn't a requirement anymore (as long as your monitor supports DP...).
2016-09-01, 17:04
News Writer
214 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
andrestone wrote:
Not all laptop screens support the overclock. I got my MBA 2010 overclocked to 103hz. Unfortunately I can't do nearly the same with my MBP 2014, nothing different from 60hz works.

Crap. I plan on upgrading my MBP when the new ones are released...
2016-09-01, 19:28
Member
13 posts

Registered:
Nov 2015
I dont know any laptop that has Dual-DVI. Many "Gaming"-Laptops do have DisplayPort tho, which easily does 1080p@144hz to an external screen.

If you do not want to spend tons of money, you can still play at 1024x768@120hz over regular HDMI or VGA. Almost anything better than a netbook can run QW at that resolution and framerate and has HDMI. There may be some very specific exceptions to HDMI/VGA being able to run at 120hz at this resolution, but I had no problems whatsoever.
2016-09-02, 00:02
News Writer
832 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
daux wrote:
I dont know any laptop that has Dual-DVI. Many "Gaming"-Laptops do have DisplayPort tho, which easily does 1080p@144hz to an external screen.

If you do not want to spend tons of money, you can still play at 1024x768@120hz over regular HDMI or VGA. Almost anything better than a netbook can run QW at that resolution and framerate and has HDMI. There may be some very specific exceptions to HDMI/VGA being able to run at 120hz at this resolution, but I had no problems whatsoever.

Typically HDMI is 60hz (I've never seen it do anything else) and VGA is never included on laptops any longer so DisplayPort is pretty much your only option.
2016-09-02, 15:01
Member
211 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
For the record, my old laptop can do 1920x1080@144hz with VGA on a LCD monitor, but laptop is to bad for 1920x1080 1001fps.. :-)
2016-09-03, 02:09
News Writer
832 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
The MSI Laptops with 120hz have already started to appear in shops in Australia:
http://cplonline.com.au/msi-gt73vr-6re-023au-gt73vr-17-3-fhd-i7-16gb-256g-1tb-v8g-w10.html
This one has an NVidia GTX 1070 however on the MSI website there is also ones with GTX 1070 SLI or even a GTX 1080.

I've also found the Asus ROG G752VS in shops in Australia however none appear to be stocking the 120hz version... only the 60hz version.
2017-02-17, 11:38
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
By the way, is Nvidia a necessity for QW on a laptop or will an Intel graphics card be sufficient?
2017-02-18, 02:34
News Writer
214 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
I run QW on a 2016 MBP running Windows. The MBP has two graphic cards. The Intel HD Graphics 530 suck for gaming, it's around 100-200 fps, but I get around 800 fps in timedemo with the discrete card, Radeon 460. Though an Nvidia 1070 will get double that. (This is all 1080p @ 144 Hz)

So: Nvidia not a necessity for QW, but you should have an OK graphics card, and Intel won't do.
2017-02-18, 16:47
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
erlend wrote:
I run QW on a 2016 MBP running Windows. The MBP has two graphic cards. The Intel HD Graphics 530 suck for gaming, it's around 100-200 fps, but I get around 800 fps in timedemo with the discrete card, Radeon 460. Though an Nvidia 1070 will get double that. (This is all 1080p @ 144 Hz)

So: Nvidia not a necessity for QW, but you should have an OK graphics card, and Intel won't do.


Got it, thanks.
2017-02-18, 23:31
News Writer
832 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
The new breed of 17" @ 120hz laptops is now out... 2 of them that i know of are good for QW:

I have the Alienware 17 R4 with a GTX 1070
Dopeskillz has the MSI GS73 with a GTX 1060

Unless you get 120hz display it isn't really worth it for QW (or u need to plug in an external monitor)
2017-02-22, 16:51
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
The laptops in the price range I am looking at, has either Mini DisplayPort or HDMI. Is that good enough for an external monitor for QW?
2017-02-22, 18:48
News Writer
214 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
I run 1080p @ 144Hz fine with displayport. I would assume mini-DP is the same? And that both are better than HDMI, I don't think HDMI can do much at 120Hz and more. I think mini-DP has better bandwith. But check the specs.
2017-06-01, 14:07
Member
1 post

Registered:
May 2017
Why you want to buy laptop not a PC? you can get better PC for the same price. Think about that, If you buy new game ( lest say) in 5 years time you will realize that my laptop is not good enough, so what can I do? Nothing. If you have a PC you can replace graphic card which is very important, RAM live casino.

(Edited 2017-07-30, 09:47)
2017-07-21, 08:41
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
Has any of you tried QW 144Hz using HDMI 1.3+?

(Edited 2017-07-22, 15:15)
2017-07-22, 14:39
News Writer
214 posts

Registered:
Jan 2013
Good news for MBP users: https://www.macrumors.com/2017/06/06/macos-high-sierra-external-gpu-valve/

"... will officially support external GPUs, allowing any Mac with a Thunderbolt 3 port to benefit from graphics hardware powerful enough to run demanding virtual reality applications and games"
2017-08-02, 09:06
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
Any input regarding running QW on an external monitor using HDMI version 1.3+ which, according to several sites, should make it possible to run 144 Hz.

It will make it sooo much easier for me finding a suitable laptop, if I can settle with only HDMI as there aren't a lot of 15" laptops with display ports.
2017-08-02, 10:13
Member
261 posts

Registered:
Jan 2015
Kemo wrote:
Any input regarding running QW on an external monitor using HDMI version 1.3+ which, according to several sites, should make it possible to run 144 Hz.

It will make it sooo much easier for me finding a suitable laptop, if I can settle with only HDMI as there aren't a lot of 15" laptops with display ports.


Everytime I used anything different from display port / dual link dvi it didn't work.
dev
2017-08-03, 10:43
Member
40 posts

Registered:
Jul 2006
andrestone wrote:
Kemo wrote:
Any input regarding running QW on an external monitor using HDMI version 1.3+ which, according to several sites, should make it possible to run 144 Hz.

It will make it sooo much easier for me finding a suitable laptop, if I can settle with only HDMI as there aren't a lot of 15" laptops with display ports.


Everytime I used anything different from display port / dual link dvi it didn't work.


Ok, strange.
  48 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page