User panel stuff on forum
  75 posts on 3 pages  First page123Last page
General Discussion
2006-01-19, 17:15
Administrator
1250 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Hi all,

I think would be interesting making a topic about mices, but also i have a doubt, very dumb one

I have a MX310 working perfectly in quake. but i have other cpu and i need another decent mouse.
I got an offer for a used MX510 for 20€, i think i will buy it IF there's no known issues about it, ie: does all the buttons work in qw? will it give me clean 1000hz?





links:
Mouse rate checker:
http://tscherwitschke.de/download.html
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2006-01-19, 17:34
Member
2259 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
no clue about that
but I use IE 3.0 with func surface 1030 and 500 hz on win2k and its smoooooth!!

Retic got the same setup but on winXP
2006-01-19, 18:04
Member
693 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I think you can get a maximum of 450hz with the mx510. I had all the buttons working OK in software fuh but I changed to ezquake GL yesterday and I haven't found a way of getting 6-8 to work in that yet.
2006-01-19, 18:44
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
A friend of mine runs his mx510 in 500 hz. But why not get a new mouse instead? I'd have second thoughts about buying used HIDs, since they get... messy. :< Imagine what kind of stuff a nasty pr0nsurf0r might leave behind.

(And apart from that, the price difference between a new mouse and a used one isn't that steep.)
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
2006-01-19, 19:51
Member
139 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
razor diamondback running 500hz in xp playing software on a fibretek clothmat..

feels like lube on some nice cheeks
http://www.egozelle.com/stuff/qw_sig.jpg
2006-01-20, 04:20
Member
462 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
You can have any USB mouse running 1000Hz in Windows. I use my old MX500 with 1000Hz.
2006-01-20, 15:22
Member
38 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
nylon have u tried 1000hz with razer diamondback on xp?
i'll buy one soon... dunno if owns!
Not a Gamer!
2006-01-20, 16:14
Member
139 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
nylon have u tried 1000hz with razer diamondback on xp?
i'll buy one soon... dunno if owns!


well, no.. i just found a tutorial how to edit my sys to 500hz.. maybe gotta look for stuff like that...
http://www.egozelle.com/stuff/qw_sig.jpg
2006-01-20, 19:04
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
You can have any USB mouse running 1000Hz in Windows. I use my old MX500 with 1000Hz.


Not true. Many older USB mice are incompatible with refresh rates higher than 250 Hz. And enforced refresh rates as high as 1000 Hz may cause problems with other usb devices as well...
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
2006-01-21, 15:13
Member
462 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
Not true. Many older USB mice are incompatible with refresh rates higher than 250 Hz. And enforced refresh rates as high as 1000 Hz may cause problems with other usb devices as well...


K k, but at least with MX500 it seems to work with no probs and it's pretty old.
2006-01-25, 13:22
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
i use some logitech mouse i bought like 2 years ago with 10 euros.. it gives me 100hz and i have no unnecessary shit between my mouse and table
2006-01-25, 20:05
Member
9 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Logitech G5
2006-01-30, 13:05
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
I have MX510 and it runs fine @ 500Hz using modified usbport.sys (well 450Hz to be precise)

also no problems with binding all keys under QW (KEYSTROKE under mouseware) or U can use the same -m_mwhook in cmdline for ezQ as for fuh and then bind additional mouse buttons from MOUSE4 to 8....
2006-02-01, 13:04
Administrator
1250 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ok, i've changed my mind. i will not buy a used mouse. im thinking in MX518. thats the one i will buy. fuck 50€ hooray 1600dpi but will the buttons work?
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2006-02-01, 13:34
Administrator
2049 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
They all work on mx510 so i can't imagine that it should be different with the mx518? Isn't the DPI the only thing that differs?
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2006-02-01, 16:34
Member
79 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
i recently bought a mx518 (upgraded from mx510)
and 1600 dpi is crazy, i'm too lazy to getting used with it so im still using 800 dpi
however to answer the question above, all buttons do work

one thing i've noticed though was, mx518 use logitechs "setpoint" software, not "mouseware" like with earlier mices. the swedish version of the setpoint software doesnt do its work, you have to install the english version to get it properly working, but thats the only problem with mx518 i've ran into.
zaiko of BaconMen
2006-02-02, 11:33
Administrator
1250 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
1600 dpi is strange? how so ? anyone else experienced "strangeness" ? im thinking about razer diamondback also... i still havent tested it in my hand
never argue with an idiot. they'll bring you back to their level and then beat you with experience.
2006-02-02, 14:02
Member
79 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
1600 dpi is strange? how so ? anyone else experienced "strangeness" ? im thinking about razer diamondback also... i still havent tested it in my hand


it's not "strange", it's just very sensitive if youre used to 800 dpi. and since you can select what dpi to use with the mx518 mouse drivers i've chosen to still use 800 dpi
might be brave enough to put it higher one day though, but i'm just too lazy to get used to it
zaiko of BaconMen
2006-02-02, 15:29
Member
38 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
1600 dpi is strange? how so ? anyone else experienced "strangeness" ? im thinking about razer diamondback also... i still havent tested it in my hand


2morrow i'll have mineeee!!! then i'll write something about it...
Not a Gamer!
2006-02-02, 18:57
Member
21 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
i'm using razer diamondback (at 1600dpi) with 1000mhz on windows xp, i have no complaints about it, feels really smooth and it's nice and symmetric...not everyone is right handed as logitech seems to think

but using the mouse rate checker mushi pointed out it seems i can only get an average of 750mhz referesh rate, can anyone get an average closer to 1000mhz?
2006-02-03, 20:35
Member
38 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ok... i got my razer diamond back plasma... wowowo... so damn smooth... btw its a 500hz... didnt tryed 1000hz yet
Not a Gamer!
2006-02-11, 18:42
Member
705 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
woh, my precious.. been using my IntelliMouse Optical 1.1A USB as long as i can remember, had to buy a new (DIRT CHEAP 120:- swedish kronor abaut 10e) one last year 8< (im so clusmy)
and yeah, it does 1000hz
2006-02-13, 00:26
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Gimme an optical wingman gaming mouse any day of the week, all year, every year.

Now as for finding a wingman on the other hand...
2006-02-13, 16:51
Member
108 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
oh yeah i remember the good old days playing quake at bomkia's place... he had a wingman and to this day i still havent tried a better feeling gamingmouse
Spell "mogul," Bateman. How do you spell mogul? M-o-g-u-l. Mo-gul. Mog-ul. Ice, ghosts, aliens-
2006-02-14, 12:07
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Jan 1970
ok bought the diamondback. didnt like the position of the wheel of mx518.

i must say this mouse rocks! The hard thing to get used to is the sensitivity of the buttons, expecially the 2. also mouse 6 7 are in a weird position. but very very nice
2006-02-16, 00:19
Member
38 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
WA$T#GERSDFWEFSERGt

I bought a razer Copperhead about 3 weeks ago, it fucks up hardcore any time you move it quickly over the mousepad. The cursor, in game and on the windows desktop, stops in the middle of the fast movement (regardless of DPI it *seems* to occur after 500 pixels on the screen) then keeps going. VERY ANNOYING. And razer tech support from fucking bangalore india or whatever, gives me lame responses in the middle of the night suggesting I once again change my mousepad...

Any one having these problems?

The mouse messes up on func1030, both sides, a black cloth pad, and a blue cloth pad. And it works fine on other computers, regardless of surface used! SDFSDFGDFGsdfg#$wer
2006-02-16, 08:24
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Try updating your firmware. If that doesn't do the trick for you, just murder the people at razer.
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
2006-02-16, 08:55
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
9/10 of those who bought the copperhead has had problems with it
why do people keep bying it :E
2006-02-16, 09:17
Member
76 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quote:
9/10 of those who bought the copperhead has had problems with it
why do people keep bying it :E


Because 9 out of 10 dentists recommend it.
2006-02-16, 09:19
Member
169 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I bought one for qhlan and it had serious problems. After upgrading it with the latest firmware (I emailed them and they sent me the latest version) it worked better. Though I never got the same feeling as with my previous mouse a diamondback, so I returned the copperhead and bought a new diamondback. I'm using a QPAD.
  75 posts on 3 pages  First page123Last page