User panel stuff on forum
  7 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2016-11-04, 01:16
5 posts

Nov 2016
Hello, im new to Quake World (just installed nQuake) but i had already to do with configs in Quake 3 / Live. So I know how the autoexec.cfg works.
But for some reason it just wont work in Quake World for me. Every time i load the game again it resets to the Desktop resolution.

So i copied this settings (plus my basic binds) into the autoexec.cfg:

vid_usedesktopres "0"
vid_height "960"
vid_width "1280"

But if I delete the config.cfg (and have the autoexec.cfg in the same folder) and restart the game, it wont load the settings.
After i put them into the default.cfg it worked.
So can I think of the default.cfg as a autoexec.cfg of some kind? Even if it is not the original purpose?
Or has it to do with Launch Options / Start Parameters? I also did try to put it into the ID1 folder.

By the way do exec commands work inside the autoexec.cfg? If I ever get it to work.
So i could load inside the autoexec.cfg for example abindings.cfg?

Thanks for the help in advance, I didn't think I would need any.

(Edited 2016-11-05, 01:34)
2016-11-04, 08:45
Administrator
284 posts

Sep 2015
ot4 wrote:
By the way do exec commands work inside the autoexec.cfg? If I ever get it to work.
So i could load inside the autoexec.cfg for example abindings.cfg?

Are you using nquake as your base, or standard qw + ezquake? (or another client?)
2016-11-04, 14:07
5 posts

Nov 2016
I installed nQuake, and i use the config folder inside the ezquake folder. I hope that is right, thats the place where the config.cfg gets created.
On some threads I did read one needs to put it into the ID1 folder, that one also exists with the nQuake installation, not sure if it matters.