User panel stuff on forum
  6 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2016-02-22, 13:27
News Writer
265 posts

Registered:
May 2006
WTF?

The map is not even in my map folder
Link, we are not even oldtimers anymore, we are dinosaurs. - Hooraytio
2016-02-22, 13:38
News Writer
34 posts

Registered:
Dec 2011
You must have the map in either quake/id1/maps or quake/qw/maps, just delete it.
2016-02-22, 13:47
News Writer
265 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Link, we are not even oldtimers anymore, we are dinosaurs. - Hooraytio
2016-02-22, 13:53
News Writer
265 posts

Registered:
May 2006
It loaded on another server, so you got different skull versions on servers then?

And why is it not DLing when i dont got the map in any folder? is skull in a pak file?
Link, we are not even oldtimers anymore, we are dinosaurs. - Hooraytio
2016-02-22, 15:06
Member
271 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
flocate maps/skull.bsp
see what the engine says.
you should get 'inside foo (X bytes)' where foo is the name of the package (or raw file).

(fte will print the system paths, ezquake's filesystem was half-ported over from an old version of fte, so I assume the command exists, but it might be relative to the working directory or something, I dunno)

of course, different servers using different versions of a map is a special kind of hell. the last time I saw it, a server's version of the map had become corrupt.
moo
2016-02-22, 18:28
Member
148 posts

Registered:
Sep 2013
Link wrote:
It loaded on another server, so you got different skull versions on servers then?


I've been asking server admins to fix this for years. I gave up. At least servers in the USA + UK are consistent now though.
  6 posts on 1 page  1