User panel stuff on forum
  9 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2015-09-04, 20:45
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Aug 2014
I'm thinking of buying a used PC for QW, because my mac is slow/laggy, I can't make it smooth on 300fps.

I'm very lame with computers so maybe you can tell me if this one will be performing good: Intel's Quad Core 2.8GHz (Q9550) processor, 6GB of DDR3 RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 260 896MB.

Will it be smooth on ASUS VG248QE? Does it have to be native 1920x1080? And I wonder if this card will handle 144hz.

Thank you.
2015-09-05, 13:05
Member
245 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Assuming you are paying 50eur for that piece of junk it's a good deal.
2015-09-05, 14:07
Administrator
634 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
You should get such an old PC pretty much for free. Sure it will run quake and so on but I really question the decision of paying money for that

About your other questions: native resolution or at least the same ratio, and it should do 144hz, otherwise google is your friend.
2015-09-05, 18:13
News Writer
907 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
robotector wrote:
I'm thinking of buying a used PC for QW, because my mac is slow/laggy, I can't make it smooth on 300fps.

I'm very lame with computers so maybe you can tell me if this one will be performing good: Intel's Quad Core 2.8GHz (Q9550) processor, 6GB of DDR3 RAM, NVidia GeForce GTX 260 896MB.

Will it be smooth on ASUS VG248QE? Does it have to be native 1920x1080? And I wonder if this card will handle 144hz.

Thank you.


I think with an ezQuake 3.0 config like mine which is purely made for the smoothest possible FPS you could make that computer playable. I wouldn't pay much money for it though.

Find out the exact Brand/Model of the video card so you can see if it has a DVI-D port and if it does then it can do 144hz. Regular DVI is not good enough.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fb/DVI_Connector_Types.svg/2000px-DVI_Connector_Types.svg.png
2015-09-05, 18:22
News Writer
907 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
According to this website, NVidia's "reference" design for that video card has DVI-D so it would support 144hz with the right monitor

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-260/specifications
2015-09-05, 23:17
Moderator
1329 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
dirtbox wrote:
According to this website, NVidia's "reference" design for that video card has DVI-D so it would support 144hz with the right monitor

DVI-D just stands for "digital" connector type. You can also have DVI-A (analog, often not used) and DVI-I (analog+digital, often used) connector types and you can tell this by looking at the pins on the connector.

DVI-D comes in two varieties: Single-link that will not support 144Hz operation and dual-link which will support 144Hz operation. The earliest NVIDIA graphics card to support dual-link operation is GeForce 6800 Ultra, therefore also the GTX 260 supports dual-link DVI and you can use the higher refreshrate monitors with it.

As for the PC itself, it is more than fast enough to run the QW very smooth, even with "maxed out quality settings" (you definitely don't want this though) in ezQuake.
Servers: Troopers
2015-09-06, 01:03
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Aug 2014
Thanks guys, you're very helpful!
2015-09-06, 01:14
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Aug 2014
Renzo wrote:
dirtbox wrote:
According to this website, NVidia's "reference" design for that video card has DVI-D so it would support 144hz with the right monitor

DVI-D just stands for "digital" connector type. You can also have DVI-A (analog, often not used) and DVI-I (analog+digital, often used) connector types and you can tell this by looking at the pins on the connector.

DVI-D comes in two varieties: Single-link that will not support 144Hz operation and dual-link which will support 144Hz operation. The earliest NVIDIA graphics card to support dual-link operation is GeForce 6800 Ultra, therefore also the GTX 260 supports dual-link DVI and you can use the higher refreshrate monitors with it.


this card's connectors:

https://photos-3.dropbox.com/t/2/AAC66Yi2XIy_YZfQKwbdz439JxfuxZwFHSvmbYhxQFBS7Q/12/3283045/png/32x32/1/1441508400/0/2/Screenshot%202015-09-05%2018.09.56.png/COWwyAEgASACIAMgBCAFIAYgBygBKAIoBw/pEyiunKXiDycnjgd2nxzqikUYU22HIugOKXq2CDvH9s?size=1280x960&size_mode=2


look like DVI-I (dual link) from here:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fb/DVI_Connector_Types.svg/2000px-DVI_Connector_Types.svg.png


so I guess it's not gonna support 144hz, right?
2015-09-06, 08:45
Moderator
1329 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
robotector wrote:

so I guess it's not gonna support 144hz, right?

It will. I had GTX260 and 120Hz TFT (samsung 2233rz) in the past and had no problems using it.
Servers: Troopers
  9 posts on 1 page  1