User panel stuff on forum
  12 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2013-12-23, 03:22
Member
243 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I've got a nice X-mas present from Lurq! An Ancient Samsung SynMaster 959nr, 19 inch Crt monitor!

I guess I'm the last software player around. I finally made a decision to move on from 320x200 software to 640x400@160hz opengl.
(fodquake-software @ 720x400@160hz is'nt good enough, my computer can't handle stable 160fps in big room with quad / enemy quad)

I'm using fodquake because it just work and becuase my silly gfx card is'nt enough for ezquake :/

People please help me! :-)
Help needed for:

Nice textures (how to?)
move +wp_stats


xterm provided me with some nice teamsays.

Everything seems nice!

Note: I know 640x400 is just wrong but i'm using nonestretched so it's widescreen anyway
[edit]
vid_conheight 320
vid_conwidth 200

[/edit]

[edit2]
Legoquake!
alias degeneration-2 "gl_lightmode 2;gl_scaleTurbTextures 0;gl_scaleModelTextures 1;gl_texturemode gl_nearest;gl_externalTextures_bmodels 0;gl_externalTextures_world 0;gl_picmip 0;gl_miptexLevel 3;cvar_reset gl_max_size"
[/edit2]
Merry Xmas
Regards raket
2013-12-27, 17:33
Member
357 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
welcome to the 21st century...
2013-12-28, 13:07
Administrator
1024 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
SputnikUtah wrote:
welcome to the 21st century...

Check your messages here at the site please.

raket: Great, now get better at QW
2013-12-28, 17:06
Member
286 posts

Registered:
Sep 2012
Yeah no more excuses now that you can see your opponent
2014-03-17, 21:31
Member
73 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
Sometimes perfomance problem with dynamic lighting on ati and intel cards can be eliminated with -nomtex command line parameter.
It helped me at work few times already. nvidia seems to have good dynamic lights perfomance without such a trick.
on ati without -nomtex you'll have fps drop on good computer to 360 fps just firing rocket in duel mode, while with -nomtex fps stays 900+ on my radeon 5770.
Try if you have intel or ati/amd video.. maybe fps will be apropriate
2014-03-18, 10:25
Member
243 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
VanoZ wrote:
Sometimes perfomance problem with dynamic lighting on ati and intel cards can be eliminated with -nomtex command line parameter.
It helped me at work few times already. nvidia seems to have good dynamic lights perfomance without such a trick.
on ati without -nomtex you'll have fps drop on good computer to 360 fps just firing rocket in duel mode, while with -nomtex fps stays 900+ on my radeon 5770.
Try if you have intel or ati/amd video.. maybe fps will be apropriate


-nomtex really helped with ezquake, fps is like 110-160 now. In fodquake it just looks weird
2014-03-18, 16:51
Member
73 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
as i see fodquake has even stranger fps behavior )) - i found only one binary, that runs well on my system - it's a binary with raw mouse input, but it has it's special disadvantages - it doesn't change resolution at all ;-)) i keep that binary but don't use it very much..
http://www.mediafire.com/download/pkt6vrbz6p6fdbt/fodquake-gl-rawinput.exe.zip
2014-03-19, 09:36
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
VanoZ wrote:
as i see fodquake has even stranger fps behavior )) - i found only one binary, that runs well on my system - it's a binary with raw mouse input, but it has it's special disadvantages - it doesn't change resolution at all ;-)) i keep that binary but don't use it very much..
http://www.mediafire.com/download/pkt6vrbz6p6fdbt/fodquake-gl-rawinput.exe.zip


Just what is wrong with it? Did you try the test releases from the fodquake homepage? They usually get generated when the code changes. If there are issues with the existing code it might be helpful to let the developers know about it?
2014-03-19, 15:16
Member
73 posts

Registered:
Oct 2010
wrong: fps on my comp is significantly lower than in ezquake with dynamic lights on.
i tried latest ones. that rawinput.exe performs better.
i'm now on fodquake channel may be would write something )
2014-03-20, 07:45
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Seems very GPU dependent then. For comparison - on my hackintosh with Geforce 640 I do get around 1000 fps with fodquake and 600 fps with ezquake 3 branch. I did not make an extensive comparison of the configs so this result may not useful for a general performance comparison. Ezquake was with default config - i n fod i made small small adjustments of fov and weapon model drawing.. but no specific other graphics changes since I don't know them or what they may be doing.
2014-06-10, 07:24
Member
2 posts

Registered:
Jun 2014
Do you know what the resolution/refresh was, Tuna?

The opposite here, after some years of 1024 150+hz in GL I've moved to the same setup in software. Feels more responsive to me. I couldn't play at 320x240 but at high resolution I like the classic blocky looks.

Just wish I could get it working in Linux.
2014-06-10, 08:22
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Hm.. I assume that was in 1920x1200. But who knows what I tested back then :-) Everything OpenGL.. not sure if there difference will be that high in software mode.

EDIT: Looking at the thread I probably used some of the smaller resolutions mentioned in the first post. Else the number seem too high for this GPU..
  12 posts on 1 page  1