User panel stuff on forum
  14 posts on 1 page  1
Maps & Textures
2013-04-09, 19:52
Member
7 posts

Registered:
Apr 2013
Hi,

This is my first Quake release, it is a remake of Deck 16 from UT but in a smaller more tight style suitable for 2-4 players. There will be a singleplayer release at some point but for now it's simply multiplayer. I figured it would be silly to hold back on a MP player map that was pretty much final. Anyway!

Here are some screenshots -

http://s13.postimg.org/5ghfj7c3b/deck1.jpg

http://s21.postimg.org/p56g28lmf/deck2.jpg

http://s21.postimg.org/p56g28lmf/deck2.jpg


And also the file -

https://mega.co.nz/#!jJ02WJja!ROZA2EPetcet8jutJr8FWUT0txMmBbKuiNgLhxBTEWs
Mirror 2
Mirror 3


It includes the .map file along with the .txt and .bsp. This map was made fully in TrenchBroom.

(Edited 2013-04-12, 23:00)
2013-04-09, 20:18
Member
370 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
I will be adding this to the Quake Legion KTX servers
2013-04-11, 07:22
Member
132 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Nice!
Mine do no spaek engrish!
2014-02-15, 23:06
Member
156 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Hi FifthElephant, I was curious if it is at all possible to get a new version of this map with a changed ladder in the slime/quad area. I was adding Frikbot support for this map to include in version 3 of my Frikbot Waypoint pack, but noticed that the Frikbots absolutely can not get up the ladder. They usually can get up ladders just fine, but they can't deal with this ladder since it requires jumping. If it were fixed so that it's possible to just run up the ladder from the slime, then the bots could use it easily. Currently, the bots will die a slow painful death any time they fall in the slime.

If you fix this for me, you can always change the name to something like "dmqdeck_bot", to prevent conflicting versions of the map. I would then include the fixed version in my waypoint pack. I usually don't care about small things like this, but your map is great and I want to add perfect bot support to it. I am currently working with a few Quake coders to release a Frikbot Zombie mod, and it will support somewhere around 650 maps.

If you can't fix it, then the bots will just have to die occasionally in the slime pit.
2014-02-16, 16:24
Member
337 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I can't get up that ladder myself, how is it done ?
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2014-02-16, 16:41
News Writer
34 posts

Registered:
Dec 2011
Very nice and solid map. Very well done!
2014-02-16, 18:43
Member
156 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Mick wrote:
I can't get up that ladder myself, how is it done ?


I can barely get up it by jumping, but the Frikbots can't get up at all. The ladder needs to be fixed to be like other ladders, in which players can just walk up.
2014-02-16, 21:12
Member
156 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
I just now took a look at the readme file for this map, and FifthElephant says he doesn't care what people do with the map as long as he is given credit. The .map file is included with the archive. Is any mapper here willing to fix the ladder for my Frikbot pack? FifthElephant hasn't posted here in a while, so he might not notice any of these messages.
2014-02-17, 16:09
Member
337 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I can make a ledge for you, or something like that. Make a mspaint of things you want
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2014-02-17, 16:37
Member
156 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Mick wrote:
I can make a ledge for you, or something like that. Make a mspaint of things you want


Well, the appearance and position of the ladder is fine; it just needs to have the same collision as other ladders (so you can walk up it instead of jumping up it). Take a look at the ladders in Enraged.bsp as an example. There are ladders that go from underwater to above water that work just fine in this map. I'm not a mapper, so I don't know what makes these ladders different from the ladders in dmqdeck, but I do know that there are plenty of working ladders in 3rd party maps for Quake.
2014-02-17, 16:54
News Writer
34 posts

Registered:
Dec 2011
A box must have a certain heigh for the player to walk up, if it is too high the player have to jump to get up. Only difference, so if you make a lot of boxes not so high from eah other then the player walks very fast(fake climbs) up the ladder.
2014-02-17, 19:30
Member
337 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Hmm, when I open the map file in bsp editor, it is missing some brushes and have a lot of Leaks, so sorry, don't have time for that kind of work.
ProjectQ1Q3, Frogbot Waypoint and Map Conversion Tutorial @ http://mickkn.mooo.com
2014-02-17, 20:27
Member
156 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Mick wrote:
Hmm, when I open the map file in bsp editor, it is missing some brushes and have a lot of Leaks, so sorry, don't have time for that kind of work.


No problem. Not your fault. Maybe FifthElephant will come around and read all this.
2015-09-30, 00:49
Member
7 posts

Registered:
Apr 2013
Lightning Hunter wrote:
Mick wrote:
Hmm, when I open the map file in bsp editor, it is missing some brushes and have a lot of Leaks, so sorry, don't have time for that kind of work.


No problem. Not your fault. Maybe FifthElephant will come around and read all this.


Necro-reply!

Errr yeah. This was my first map and it was using an early version of TB so it does have some technical issues, especially if you use anything other than TB to open it.

Fixing the ladder I guess wouldn't be too hard to do. I think if I was to delve back into this map I would want to rebuild it entirely and scale it up to close to the original size. Probably simplify some of the ground detail to make it easier to navigate and be used as a serious map than the gimmick-remake that it probably is considered to be.
At least that way it would be appropriate for online play. Any other suggestions would be welcome if I was to make a more faithful version.
  14 posts on 1 page  1