User panel stuff on forum
  25 posts on 1 page  1
Server Talk
2012-12-10, 17:37
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
Hello fellow quakers from America (& all the world). My name is Werner, quake-nick: AL.Kernell.

We, americans, from Brasil, USA, Chili (a few players left), as you all know, are a little Excluded geographicaly (high ping)...

So, I'm planing (in fact I have just found the perfect location) to open a server here at UP UP NORTH Brasil, right at a CENTER of the internet cables (it's like THE MATRIX of the cables, as you can see here:
http://www.submarinecablemap.com/
(the City is called: Fortaleza, in the state of Ceará, Brasil)
(it's the nearest to the north, at the upper right)

Today I'm gonna talk to the owners of a Hosting service there, and ask for a IP, to make a traceroute, pinging all the way up to USA and Canada..

The only doubt I have now is:
What connection (bandwidth) are we gonna need to open like 1 port only, KTX, MVDSV, in Linux, 8 players max....
I HAVE NO IDEA, like:
1 mega (down) and 256 k (up) of course I think would not be enough...
but how much should I ask, like:
35 mega (down) and 3 mega (up)
?????
(here in Brasil the links are always like this: lot's of Down and little UP)

If anyone knows any Server administrator, please help me with this issue!!!!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-10, 18:20
Administrator
1022 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
IIRC, one server port could in worst case use up to 260kB/s (upload). Thats roughly equal to 2Mbit.

If you could get 4/4 or something for a port that should be sufficient but not optimal :-)

I haven't digged deeper into it though.
2012-12-10, 21:05
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
Thanks dimman! calling the provider NOW!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-10, 21:13
Moderator
383 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Providers usually have some test IPs to test latency.
Share it here if they will give you one.
In that case most players will be able to check their ping in advance.
With best wishes, B1aze.
2012-12-10, 21:43
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
B1aze wrote:
Providers usually have some test IPs to test latency.
Share it here if they will give you one.
In that case most players will be able to check their ping in advance.


surelly will!!! (they were closed for today, I got home late.. but they will call me tomorrow, and if available, the IP will be posted here!!!)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-10, 23:32
Member
9 posts

Registered:
May 2012
Kernell I love you!!! I will help you with that!!!
2012-12-11, 03:59
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
mihawk wrote:
Kernell I love you!!! I will help you with that!!!


=@@@@@@@@@@

=P
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-11, 17:01
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
NEED HELP!

The provider of the service, is a big company, with lots of company using the services... But their policies doesn't allow games to avoid lagging the servers...
I explained by telephone, that QUAKEWORLD is like the OLDEST game EVER... and uses very little hardware and bandwith connection...

Then, they told me to specify all the properties of the Game, of the Server....

Like, how much RAM, Processor, Bandwidth it's gonna be necessary, and reply in an E-Mail...

So, depending, they will open an Exeption for us!

HELP ME PLEASE, I need to write an e-mail convincing them, proving them, that QW Server is lightweight!!!!

I'm planning to open ONE PORT only... and I expect no more than 8 players and 4 spectators..... (so 12 users at a time... maximum)

HELP ME PLEASE!!!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-11, 18:58
Member
9 posts

Registered:
May 2012
I monitored an instance of mvdsv and correct me if im wrong but those were the results:
basic setup with ktx and orignal maps from quake:
server setup disk usage ~58mb (may increase very slowly with time for the log files and demos recorded)
mvdsv binary ~500kb
physical memory usage ~40mb
bandwidth ~1.3kb up/down link with 16 players... all udp packets
that bandwith w/o downloads being made from the server, only ppl playing...
2012-12-12, 01:54
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
Thanks mushi and mihawk for the information!!!
(mushi texted me)

Gonna reply the e-mail now!!!
Let's see what's going to happen!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-12, 07:51
Administrator
1022 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
That bandwidth usage is more of a best case scenario mihawk. What happens when people start to download demos for example?

Please use b for bit and B for byte so it's possible to determine what your numbers mean
2012-12-12, 14:43
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
dimman wrote:
That bandwidth usage is more of a best case scenario mihawk. What happens when people start to download demos for example?


yeah he told me that @ IRC right after sending this information!
thank's anyway!
I think now they are going to accept the server (the providers), just waiting for the confirmation now!!!
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-12, 15:49
Member
256 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Could you give me a link to the web site of the hosting provider? Or to any other provider on the same city? I'd like to see the prices for VPS solutions they offer.
2012-12-13, 00:29
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
mli wrote:
Could you give me a link to the web site of the hosting provider? Or to any other provider on the same city? I'd like to see the prices for VPS solutions they offer.


the website is: http://www.secrel.com.br/ located at the BEST LOCATION here in Brasil: Fortaleza (city) - Ceará (state)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-13, 03:36
Member
1 post

Registered:
Dec 2012
Kernell, let us know as soon as you have the IP so we can test. And thanks for your help!

Kind regards
FreaK
2012-12-19, 17:05
Member
256 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Any news about this?
2012-12-19, 20:48
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
mli wrote:
Any news about this?


F...C..ING SSSS.....HHH.....T!!!!!!!

They didn't accepted GAMES in their servers... Stupid Company Policies....
=/

Back to square 1: FINDING ANOTHER PROVIDER at Fortaleza - Ceará....
=/
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-22, 06:54
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
OK, we got a server running located at: Aracaju - SE!!!

ne.quakeworld.com.br:28001
ne.quakeworld.com.br:28002
ne.quakeworld.com.br:28003
ne.quakeworld.com.br:28004

It's not at the VERY BEST city, Fortaleza - CE, but it's very near...
The distance is only 817 km!!!

Whitey (from Florida) got ping 106, so we need to open a PROXY there!!!

then, I think, most of the U.S.A players will get ping 125, 130...

Here is the proof:
http://www.just-ping.com/index.php?vh=ne.quakeworld.com.br&c=&s=ping!
take a look at the second line: (Florida, U.S.A.)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2012-12-22, 10:47
Member
256 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Nice! I added the servers to QuakeServers.net.
2012-12-22, 21:23
Member
123 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
I think it's cool you did this but in reality it's not going to give acceptable ping to most American/Canadian players. I ping roughly 75ms to Miami from Chicago, then another 100ms or so to Brazil, or 175ms straight to your server. Proxies likely won't change it much. I ping about 175ms to Finland and lower to other EU servers like UK/etc and only a very few NA players want to play in EU with such high pings. Most of the guys who play there are lower like 90-120ms or have connections to the EU scene like B1aze does.
2012-12-23, 02:47
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
We have a player here from Fortaleza - CE, his ping is 90 @ QuakePhil & Fraglanta, and 100-110 max at the others servers...

So I'm gonna try hard here to open a server there... ping 90 + 75 = 165, then I think it's worth it... I play at USA with ping 155, and I think it's highly playable, specially when I get SHAFT (with antilag it's like ping 13... I really can't see a difference from ping 13 with SHAFT+ANTILAG)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2013-09-12, 01:23
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
clawunf wrote:
Kernell, I know its been almost a year but what company did you get to accept the game servers?

i don't remember, but I'm asking my friend here (the one who made the registration/payment)
i'll tell you soon...
what's your plans?
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2013-09-12, 05:58
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
clawunf wrote:
Kernell, I know its been almost a year but what company did you get to accept the game servers?


HOSTWEB DATA CENTER E SERVIÇOS LTDA
CNPJ: 07.319.644/0001-96
Address: Av. Dom Luís, 500 - 20° Andar - 60.160-230 - Fortaleza - Ce (Brasil)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2013-09-12, 06:02
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
http://www.hostweb.com.br/
the IP used for the server was: 201.49.21.11

(IMPORTANT: we tryied many times, and they wouldn't give the hosting for GAMMING SERVERS, so we tryied again, (another person calling), saying that it was just for WEB, and they accepted, and then we used for gamming... kkkk
=P

(we tryied to explain that QUAKE is 17 years old, and the server would not be heavy, nor use too much bandwith, but they didn't belived)

the trick is to say it's for WEB.. or just say nothing... =P
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2013-09-12, 15:17
Member
371 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
clawunf wrote:

Wow, luxury luxury man!!! we are kind of down on players here (actually, down on motivation... Our last "free" server went down last week, and now A player/friend here payed another server for us)

I'm up for the championship, as well as contributing to pay this server in Fortaleza - Ce (to play with good ping along with outsiders)
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
  25 posts on 1 page  1