User panel stuff on forum
  142 posts on 5 pages  First page12345Last page
Server Talk
2013-10-14, 20:28
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2013
Thank you for your reply. Will reinstall with the newest version you just released.
Thank you again for the awesome work!
2013-10-15, 17:05
Member
55 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
Nice update for the installer!

Also, I've got some problems running the "update_binaries/maps/configs.sh" , as it said I've a bad interpreter. (the answer saying it was a DOS-like file)... Reconverting to Unix format fixed the problem.

Also, I've made some servers:

|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #1 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28501
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #2 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28502
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #3 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28503
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #4 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28504
QTV: http://qw.baseq.fr:28000/nowplaying

|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #5 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28501
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #6 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28502
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #7 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28503
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #8 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28504
QTV : http://qw2.baseq.fr:28000/nowplaying

I've not put any qwfwd...
BaseQ.fr Administrator o/
2013-10-15, 18:56
Administrator
1024 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Ch0wW wrote:
Nice update for the installer!

Also, I've got some problems running the "update_binaries/maps/configs.sh" , as it said I've a bad interpreter. (the answer saying it was a DOS-like file)... Reconverting to Unix format fixed the problem.

Also, I've made some servers:

|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #1 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28501
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #2 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28502
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #3 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28503
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #4 =| :qw://qw.baseq.fr:28504
QTV: http://qw.baseq.fr:28000/nowplaying

|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #5 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28501
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #6 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28502
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #7 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28503
|= BaseQ.fr - KTX Server #8 =| :qw://qw2.baseq.fr:28504
QTV : http://qw2.baseq.fr:28000/nowplaying

I've not put any qwfwd...

If you want, feel free to use my version of KTX @ github.com/jite/ktx

I added a new "extension" called STAT_MATCHSTARTTIME making it possible for clients to directly sync game time when connecting, both as spectator and reconnecting players.

Requires latest ezQuake nightly or a couple of versions back. I think Spike might have added support for it in FTE too.
2013-10-15, 21:49
Member
55 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
dimman wrote:
Ch0wW wrote:
BLABLABLA... NEW IPs.

If you want, feel free to use my version of KTX @ github.com/jite/ktx

I added a new "extension" called STAT_MATCHSTARTTIME making it possible for clients to directly sync game time when connecting, both as spectator and reconnecting players.

Requires latest ezQuake nightly or a couple of versions back. I think Spike might have added support for it in FTE too.


Sure, why not!
However, I've to compile that, and regarding the problem i've got before (read: when I was unable to compile ktx back in the time correctly), I'd prefer (if possible, of course) if you could provide me the binaries. Of course, I'm not forcing you to do that...
BaseQ.fr Administrator o/
2013-10-16, 11:05
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Ch0wW wrote:
Also, I've got some problems running the "update_binaries/maps/configs.sh" , as it said I've a bad interpreter. (the answer saying it was a DOS-like file)... Reconverting to Unix format fixed the problem.


I just tried out nQuakesv 1.3 for Linux and it didn't have this problem. All files are properly converted to unix format during setup.
2013-10-16, 14:34
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
empezar wrote:
Ch0wW wrote:
Also, I've got some problems running the "update_binaries/maps/configs.sh" , as it said I've a bad interpreter. (the answer saying it was a DOS-like file)... Reconverting to Unix format fixed the problem.


I just tried out nQuakesv 1.3 for Linux and it didn't have this problem. All files are properly converted to unix format during setup.


How is this done? Perhaps it calls some application that may not be available on the target system?
2013-10-16, 19:19
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
...

(Edited 2013-10-16, 19:19)
2013-10-16, 19:19
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
# Convert DOS files to UNIX
printf "* Converting DOS files to UNIX..."
for file in $(find $directory -iname "*.cfg" -or -iname "*.txt" -or -iname "*.sh" -or -iname "README"
do
[ ! -f "$file" ] || sed -i 's/[some character that can't be displayed]//g' $file
done
echo "done"
2013-10-16, 19:32
Member
205 posts

Registered:
Feb 2011
Ch0wW wrote:

Also, I've made some servers:
...
I've not put any qwfwd...


Awesome! I ping 90 to your servers from Boston, same as to Froschroom in the UK. They also felt very smooth last night (only the qw2.* servers worked, the others were down?).

Any chance you can set up a qwfwd proxy? It might help with routing to other EU servers and could be another option for NA players who may not ping as well to Froschroom.

Also, I noticed that /ctf was sadly disabled even though it's enabled by default and correctly configured in nquakesv! I know nobody plays CTF anymore, I'm just doing my duty by harassing people about it

Merci beaucoup,
BD
2013-10-16, 19:42
Member
1100 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix2dos
2013-10-16, 19:54
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Spirit wrote:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix2dos


Does every distribution have dos2unix?
2013-10-16, 20:46
Administrator
1024 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
empezar wrote:
Spirit wrote:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix2dos


Does every distribution have dos2unix?

No it's not.

Try it this way:
sed -i -e 's/\r//' file
, it seems to work.
2013-10-16, 21:18
Member
55 posts

Registered:
Oct 2011
empezar wrote:
# Convert DOS files to UNIX
printf "* Converting DOS files to UNIX..."
for file in $(find $directory -iname "*.cfg" -or -iname "*.txt" -or -iname "*.sh" -or -iname "README"
do
[ ! -f "$file" ] || sed -i 's/[some character that can't be displayed]//g' $file
done
echo "done"


Or simplier using nano, using the ALT + D combination when saving the file to convert it to DOS format or not!
Also, I don't know if dos2unix (or the contrary) work on a Debian distribution... I tried finding them using apt-get, but nothing... So the "nano" solution can be an alternative.
Anyway, I don't know much of the problem too... All I can say is the latest version of nQuakesv didn't have the problem...

BLooD_DoG wrote:
Ch0wW wrote:

Also, I've made some servers:
...
I've not put any qwfwd...


Awesome! I ping 90 to your servers from Boston, same as to Froschroom in the UK. They also felt very smooth last night (only the qw2.* servers worked, the others were down?).

Any chance you can set up a qwfwd proxy? It might help with routing to other EU servers and could be another option for NA players who may not ping as well to Froschroom.

Also, I noticed that /ctf was sadly disabled even though it's enabled by default and correctly configured in nquakesv! I know nobody plays CTF anymore, I'm just doing my duty by harassing people about it

Merci beaucoup,
BD


Oops, seemed my script didn't work well for the first QW servers... It should be fixed now, sorry for the problem.
Also, for the CTF gamemode... I'm kinda sorry about that... Guess I could also do a FFA server... Time will say!

For the QWFWD proxy, it is done:
qwfwd.baseq.fr:30000
I don't know the benefits for NA players however...
BaseQ.fr Administrator o/
2013-10-16, 22:01
Member
205 posts

Registered:
Feb 2011
Thanks a lot, I'll try the fwd proxy later tonight! Regarding CTF, you don't need to create a new server or port, it's just a KTX mode like /2on2 or /4on4 or /1on1
Unless something has changed (or you manually disabled it), it's supposed to be configured correctly out of the box in nquakeSV.
2013-10-17, 05:41
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
BLooD_DoG wrote:
Thanks a lot, I'll try the fwd proxy later tonight! Regarding CTF, you don't need to create a new server or port, it's just a KTX mode like /2on2 or /4on4 or /1on1
Unless something has changed (or you manually disabled it), it's supposed to be configured correctly out of the box in nquakeSV.


It should be fine since I haven't touched that configuration.
2013-10-17, 09:46
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
dimman wrote:
Try it this way:
sed -i -e 's/\r//' file
, it seems to work.


I was just wondering - why have files with windows line breaks at all? With the exception of notepad.exe which comes from a long forgotten millenium all editors on windows should be able to handle 'unix' line breaks just fine?

Hopefully all other parsing routines in the QW world should handle this as well? In that case it might be more simple to just convert all raw text files to be in 'unix' line breaks and ditch complicated converter routines altogether. As this seems to be error prone.. :-)


P.S. I think the suggested code is missing a "g" for changing all occasions in the file, not the just the first one..
2013-10-17, 10:37
Administrator
1024 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Tuna wrote:
dimman wrote:
Try it this way:
sed -i -e 's/\r//' file
, it seems to work.


I was just wondering - why have files with windows line breaks at all? With the exception of notepad.exe which comes from a long forgotten millenium all editors on windows should be able to handle 'unix' line breaks just fine?

I have no idea where the files are coming from, but I'm guessing the question wasn't for me
Tuna wrote:
Hopefully all other parsing routines in the QW world should handle this as well? In that case it might be more simple to just convert all raw text files to be in 'unix' line breaks and ditch complicated converter routines altogether. As this seems to be error prone.. :-)

P.S. I think the suggested code is missing a "g" for changing all occasions in the file, not the just the first one..

Regarding the last part, yeah sure why not, I only expected a carriage return to be in front of a line feed char.
'sed -i -e 's/\r//g' file
2013-12-05, 08:31
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Hey empezar,

I setup some KTX/QWfwd yesterday for the first time using nQuakesv - what a breeze! No more compiling to get mvdsv 0.31 and qwfwd etc! Great work. I was really able to deploy a server in <30 minutes

I had a couple of suggestions which would improve:
  • Use original port numbers 275xx instead of 285xx as 27500 is 'the' Quakeworld registered port and the range for multiple servers is 27500-27900. It is kind of weird with them being changed. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_TCP_and_UDP_port_numbers)
  • Update the master servers to include master.quakeservers.net:27000 and also FodQuake has a masters server as currently it only includes Ocrana and qw.nu (does the qw.nu one even work?)
  • Include an option for Qizmo (people like me still use it)
  • Include readme files for each component. QWfwd for example. There is no readme and qw-dev.net appears to no longer exist so I was nowhere able to find any readme. Actually qw-dev.net hosts all components... ktx and mvdsv too


Also can you help me with the crontab side of it?

If i edit /etc/crontab on Ubuntu the format appears to be different and if I use crontab -e it doesn't give me the option of using 'vi' which is what im used to. Using nano asks me to save the file at some weird location like /tmp/XSDJKLeF/crontab


Thanks for all the great work
2013-12-05, 09:11
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
dirtbox wrote:

If i edit /etc/crontab on Ubuntu the format appears to be different and if I use crontab -e it doesn't give me the option of using 'vi' which is what im used to. Using nano asks me to save the file at some weird location like /tmp/XSDJKLeF/crontab


I think all system recommend using "crontab -e" instead of editing the file directly. I think the final file gets generated from multiple sources and your changes may get lost once this generation takes place.

Also don't wonder about those weird file names. These are temporary files and will be merged into the correct ones internally once you successfully save the temporary file.

If you want to have "vi" or "vim" for your editor try setting the enviroment variable EDITOR. For example try "EDITOR=vim crontab -e".
2013-12-05, 12:39
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Ok I added it and saved it using crontab -e and i cannot find the file where it is saved but if i re-run crontab-e the changes are still there

thanks!
2013-12-05, 12:49
Member
340 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
It's magic!
2013-12-05, 18:18
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Thanks for the input dirtbox!

The ports have been the way they are for like ten years now I believe.

27500 - ffa
28101 - 1on1 ktx #1
28201 - 2on2 ktx #1
28401 - 4on4 ktx #1
28501 - allround ktx #1
28502 - allround ktx #2...etc

There are no 1on1/2on2/4on4 ports left since there's such an overflow of servers nowadays and no need to restrict server resources by having a lot of 1on1 ports and fewer 4on4 ports.

I believe there's no real agreement about the other ports (rocket arena, clan arena, team fortress) so I just picked a couple of ports in the 27500-27800 range.
2013-12-06, 09:41
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
empezar wrote:
27500 - ffa
28101 - 1on1 ktx #1
28201 - 2on2 ktx #1
28401 - 4on4 ktx #1
28501 - allround ktx #1
28502 - allround ktx #2...etc


I didn't realise these other numbers were being used...

As for the Master servers there is probably 4 that should be included:
  • master.quakeservers.net:27000
  • qwmaster.fodquake.net:27000
  • qwmaster.ocrana.de:27000
  • master.quakeworld.nu:27000
2014-05-16, 14:56
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Hey Empezar,

I've just setup some new servers 6 months after my last post and it doesn't look like the master servers for KTX and QWfwd have been updated and by default they don't report to the only 2 active master servers which are:

http://www.quakeservers.net/quakeworld/master_servers/

I've manually added them but it might be useful to have them reporting to these servers as soon as they are installed!

cheers,
dirtbox!
2014-05-16, 15:56
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Added the masters and fixed rsync server so every mirror can update the configs
2014-05-17, 07:49
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
empezar wrote:
Added the masters and fixed rsync server so every mirror can update the configs
great work emp!
2014-05-20, 13:13
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Any chance of also adding Qizmo to the nQuake package as an optional install?
2014-05-21, 16:53
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
dirtbox wrote:
Any chance of also adding Qizmo to the nQuake package as an optional install?


Why would you want Qizmo?
2014-05-22, 08:25
News Writer
906 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
That should be self-explanatory right? Many great Qizmo features were never replaced/replicated in ezQuake, qwfwd and mvdsv.

During the hours of 21:00 and 23:00 I get up to 10% packetloss and with Qizmo I can lower this to 1-2% to the point where it is completely unnoticeable.*

- Compression (great for low bandwidth connections)
- Nail filter (prevent nail projectiles flooding your connection by preventing the server-side Qizmo sending the info to the client)
- Packet Manipulation (configure server-side Qizmo to send each packet to the client-side Qizmo multiple times to eradicate packetloss) *
2014-05-22, 09:45
Administrator
1024 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
dirtbox wrote:
That should be self-explanatory right? Many great Qizmo features were never replaced/replicated in ezQuake, qwfwd and mvdsv.

During the hours of 21:00 and 23:00 I get up to 10% packetloss and with Qizmo I can lower this to 1-2% to the point where it is completely unnoticeable.*

- Compression (great for low bandwidth connections)
- Nail filter (prevent nail projectiles flooding your connection by preventing the server-side Qizmo sending the info to the client)
- Packet Manipulation (configure server-side Qizmo to send each packet to the client-side Qizmo multiple times to eradicate packetloss) *

I tried to get the Qizmo authors to give out the source code for qizmo, basically for the qwz format, but didn't get a hold of the second guy who wrote it. So no source code for that. Could most likely be figured out anyway, but don't have the time nor interest to do it (fodquake supports huffman compression btw, haven't looked into how the use it in practice though. I think support is limited to FTE servers too.)
  142 posts on 5 pages  First page12345Last page