User panel stuff on forum
  30 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2012-02-10, 13:49
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I understand this isn't possible... I personally much prefer the feel of SW mode. Would love to try it out but in compatibility mode I cannot get it to work. Any ideas why?
2012-02-10, 14:43
Member
364 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
Your left mouse button is malfunctioning and you cannot double-click the icon. That's my best guess based on the wealth of information you provided.
2012-02-10, 16:13
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Well, I have tried running SW mode in 3 separate computers running Windows 7 and I get an error message such as:

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/2971/24190532.png


I have asked around and others who have tried it have come across the same error. I was told that it was just not compatible with Windows 7.
2012-02-10, 16:19
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Sorry, make that 4 computers. All 64-bit windows and varying versions of ezQuake 2.0, 2.1 and 2.1.1.

I have tried compatibility modes of Vista, XP, 98 and 95.

I thought it was common knowledge that SW mode didn't work in win7. It was on IRC... maybe no 1 conveyed this to the devs.
2012-02-10, 16:35
Member
357 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Whats the purpose of SW Quake?
2012-02-10, 16:53
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
SputnikUtah wrote:
Whats the purpose of SW Quake?

It uses software (CPU) rather than a 3D graphics card to do rendering of the 3D world. The original Quake was SW.
2012-02-10, 18:45
Member
485 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I get the same error. Console appears and then crash. Strange because I'm sure I have ran sw ezQuake in Windows 7 before. FTE and Joe work fine.
2012-02-11, 22:11
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
It may actually only be 2.1x that doesnt work. I think 2.0 may work. I will do some further testing with a fresh nQuake install in case my ezQuake GL config is causing problems.

Update: 2.0 works.
2012-02-12, 16:21
Member
622 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
i downloaded latest ezquake, not the nighlybuilds, and it worked perfect.
2012-02-12, 18:48
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
phrenic wrote:
i downloaded latest ezquake, not the nighlybuilds, and it worked perfect.

2.1 or 2.1.1
2012-02-13, 17:55
Member
622 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
2.1 stable build: 3330
2012-02-14, 19:22
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Latest official versions of SW do not work with my new computer with win7.
Versions that do work (after disabling DEP) have issue with palette after ALT-TAB.
Guys who familiar with classic spy`s gas grenades (QWTF) can imagine the effect.
qw262cl.exe has same issue with palette on win7.
May be I`ll take a look at at least 1st issue soon because I even installed Visual Studio recently but I have small hope for that because of spending all free time in iRacing.
2012-02-14, 22:00
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
se-sss wrote:
Latest official versions of SW do not work with my new computer with win7.
Versions that do work (after disabling DEP) have issue with palette after ALT-TAB.

What is DEP?

I just cant get the same 'feel' in GL as SW. No matter how smooth I get it, the accuracy and feeling in GL don't compare to what I used to have in 320x200 SW.

I played a game in 640x480 SW with an old client the other day (couldnt get 320x200 working) and even it felt magical compared to GL. Are there any old SW players out there that know what I am talking about? I feel like i'm moving with a limp and aiming with a 2-minute noodle arm in GL.
2012-02-14, 22:06
Member
226 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
SW > GL anyday
2012-02-14, 22:38
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
do you run SW or GL now?
2012-02-14, 23:15
Member
485 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
dirtbox wrote:
I just cant get the same 'feel' in GL as SW. No matter how smooth I get it, the accuracy and feeling in GL don't compare to what I used to have in 320x200 SW.

I played a game in 640x480 SW with an old client the other day (couldnt get 320x200 working) and even it felt magical compared to GL. Are there any old SW players out there that know what I am talking about? I feel like i'm moving with a limp and aiming with a 2-minute noodle arm in GL.

Probably a driver/config issue. IIRC old GL clients had some video lag, but those problems have been solved.
2012-02-15, 05:22
News Writer
493 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Let us know which is the last nightly build that worked for you:

http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/
2012-02-15, 10:50
Member
131 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
dirtbox
DEP - data execution protection

Look to following thread to see how to disable it for software quake
http://www.quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?id=5061
2012-02-15, 13:42
Member
1433 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Builds were broken indeed. There was a crash related to changed con_shift default value (-10) and then this DEP thing. We now mark the *.exe explicitly as incompatible with DEP.

This commit should fix both problems.
2012-02-15, 14:39
Member
271 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
DEP indeed.

Here's the proper fix:
void Sys_MakeCodeWriteable (unsigned long startaddr, unsigned long length)
{
DWORD flOldProtect;

//@@@ copy on write or just read-write?
if (!VirtualProtect((LPVOID)startaddr, length, PAGE_EXECUTE_READWRITE, &flOldProtect))
Sys_Error("Protection change failed";
}
moo
2012-02-15, 15:20
Member
1433 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Hm yeah, that's how it should be done. Applied, thanks.
2012-02-16, 21:46
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
fuck yes, thanks guys!

http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2012-02-16-33b3664-ezquake.7z

Does the above build have this fix in it or do i need to wait to the next nightly build?

update: works a treat. alt-tab causes LSD type colours however (until next map change).

Also the lowest res I can run is 640x480...
2012-02-16, 22:09
Member
1433 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Should already be there, judging by the commit hash.
2012-02-16, 22:42
News Writer
875 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
vid_resetonswitch 1
2012-04-16, 22:39
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
pld
2012-04-19, 18:12
Member
57 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
yea, sparky, I still prefer SW 320x200 over GL. I wish there was a ezqw version I could use in SW for OS 10.7.3

best, xhrl
finem respice
2012-04-20, 12:58
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
EKSSSSSSSSSSSHURRRRRRRRRRLLLLLLLLLL

When am I getting you on skype?
2012-04-20, 13:21
Member
1011 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
@xhrl - there used to be a software rendering build for ezquake on mac, doesn't it get built anymore? I even remember writing pixel doubling code to emulate 320x200/320x240 visuals at 640x400/640x480 monitor resolution (which was the lowest res OS X will let you select)
2012-04-20, 15:14
Member
14 posts

Registered:
Nov 2007
I personally have a seperate Xp system all set up for 320 x 200 goodness. Can't beat it.
2013-01-20, 10:05
Member
83 posts

Registered:
Dec 2008
Thank you for this build - now possible play smooth software Quake like 12 years ago
http://uttergrottan.localghost.net/ezquake/dev/nightlybuilds/win32/2012-02-16-33b3664-ezquake.7z
http://qw2.ru - my servers and demos collection since 1999 via ftp :>
  30 posts on 1 page  1