User panel stuff on forum
  20 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2011-11-10, 05:06
1 post

Nov 2011
Hello all!

I started playing Quake Live about 1.5 years ago and absolutely fell in love with it. However, I heard people constantly rant about this thing called Quakeworld, so I have decided to see what all the fuss is about (not to mention that this is free, and you need to pay yearly to experience all that QL apparently has to offer its users).

I tried to install nQuake on Mac OS X, running Lion, but it gave me an error message about incompatibility with my current operating system every time I tried to run it. Thus, I'll be dual partitioning Windows 7 in the near future. I gotta try out this game!

Just how different/similar is this to Quake Live/3? Is the community generally nice and helpful? Is the community active and dedicated? Are servers generally busy?

Just wanted to say hello, and I hope to be seeing all of you soon in-game for some fragging fun! Cheers!
2011-11-10, 07:08
40 posts

Feb 2009
Hi there, welcome on board,
PPL are nice, servers are crowded and qw is the shit! Try to install ezquake, it is quite ok on OSX as well.
BR, mty
/say_team $R fuck yeah!
2011-11-10, 08:47
Administrator
886 posts

Jan 2006
Welcome to QW!
I can't answer the Mac question, but the others:

Quote:
Is the community generally nice and helpful?

Yes, using this forum is the best way of getting answers, or by IRC. I recommend #qwrookie @ quakenet.

wrote:
Is the community active and dedicated?

Yeah and yes. There's always action on xs4all ffa-server. And mixed 4on4 games at qw.foppa.dk:27501. And 2on2 games at pangela.se:28001. And duels here and there.
Tournament wise there's DuelMania (1on1) and European Quake League (4on4).

wrote:
Are servers generally busy?

No. There's always servers for everyone. For example pangela.se (primary swedish server) has like 10 ports (28001-10), and every port can be used to play 1on1/2on2/3on3/4on4/10on10.