User panel stuff on forum
Index  ‹  Help  ‹  m_pitch and m_yaw.
  6 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2011-09-22, 07:33
46 posts

Aug 2011
G'day,

I was just interested in finding out what people's opinions are on changing the values of m_pitch and m_yaw. Years ago (2001 ish) when I was a total noob I used to play with m_pitch and m_yaw .2 (the person who taught me how to play quake suggested this for me) and had no idea what the difference was. Years later I eventually went back to default by sheer chance and it seemed to respond more consistently, or so it seemed.

I still use default and since I have totally changed my configuration for quake I figured I should delve into this area once again. So I would just like to ask is there any positives and negatives to using default m_pitch and m_yaw values? Or is it better to change m_pitch and m_yaw, or just one or the other? I crudely understand (I think) that changing these values change the linear curve of acceleration that the mouse follows during movement, if so, why would you want to change this?
http://fsgamers.org/home/
2011-09-22, 07:45
Administrator
334 posts

Jan 2006
There was some issue in the old clients about rounding error. So it was most smooth having sensitivity 1 and changing pitch/yaw according.

And you converted your old sens easy. If you had sens 4.5 and default pitch/yaw 0.022 you simply did 0.022 * 4.5 and set that as new pitch/yaw values, and changed sens to 1. same sens, but felt smoother.

afaik this has been corrected in newer clients so it's no longer needed for this method.

On another note, I have always used slightly higher m_pitch value (looking up and down), because of the thinking that you use less physical movement for that so you need little higher sens. It's easy to move mouse a lot from side to side, but not so easy back and forth.

Here are my settings for reference:

//Input - Mouse
in_m_os_parameters "3"
in_mouse "3"
m_pitch "0.15"
m_yaw "0.1259"

//Input - Misc
sensitivity "1"