User panel stuff on forum
  31 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
Rookies' Corner
2011-08-24, 09:00
35 posts

Aug 2010
i am new in the quakeworld scene and wanted to say HELLO :-).

but this post shall not be sensless. i have read the discussion about how to get more new players and to benefit them. whats to do with the "noobs" of not losing them after some ffa games because they get bashed? i tell you my opinion from my point of view as a new player in qw.

when i played qw first i was fascinated about the gameplay and the very nice qwscene. my first step into qw was on which servern can i play, i knew the game was about 15 years old and i quastion my self "if there are servers existing". and they still, because of this great game :-D. the first server i found was the quake.xs4all.nl:27500 XS4ALL. much players at every time i want to play. i played q3 cpma before so i had not the problems about moving and so on. but one thing disappointed me a bit. with 10 players on the server you get fragt immediately after respawn by spamming rockets or nades or predictionshots. i am a player who comes from teamplaygames and it was a bit hard and boring after a while. i guess some new players have the same problem. but what to do, the problem was discussed in this forum and no solution was found.

in my point of view is that the qw scene must open the gates for other gamemodes like clan arena or fetzmode. fetzmode is an very interesting mode for beginners, you start up with all weapons and armour (no selfdamage is included). after you die you spawn immediately. so you have an mix of clan arena and ffa. the old quakers will say what a newbe mode but this should it be :-D for those who starts up with qw. i dont know if this mode exist in qw, think not. and i dont know how difficult it is to create this mode. but it would be deeply interesting, because the similarity to ffa is there.