User panel stuff on forum
  21 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2011-03-21, 13:31
226 posts

Mar 2007
Yesterday were lots of EQL games played. I suppose most spectators came via qtv.quakeworld.nu and thus there was lots of "is this eql??" "is this official??" questions asked since most clans don't advertize their EQL games with .QW.

Is this a problem?

Nope.

Could it be done better?

Yes.

So, how cold it be done? I'm not very good with any of this computer stuff (people at #qwrookie and #quakeworld should know that already o_O ) but I'd suggest:

EQL-FRAGBANNER
EQL fragrank.jpg, so when you connect to a server and do +showscores you could see straight away from the frag banner that it's a official EQL game. I suppose there should be a server variable similar to no_specs (This would also confirm to players that it is a official game) and EzQuake client would force EQL-banner if that variable would be "1". Making such a banner is pretty easy task and there could be a nice Vote about which banner would be chosen.

EQL-CLANSKINS
I've been dreaming about individual teamskins for every clan, similar to football/icehockey shirts. Most sport teams are known of their outfit why not QW-clans? Actually this used to be like that back in the days. Nowdays when f_fullbright is used it's not even hard to see customized non-one-colored skins. There's a tons of old really wellmade skins lying around that could be customized for clans. Besides nowdays when one's able to use .PNG as a skin it would be really easy to make skins. In my eyes clan-skins could become similar to clan tags, who's not afraid of ]SR[ or [tVS]? (ofcourse you'd be able to set teamskins so you wouldn't have to watch clan-skins) At least to me Clan is all about being a team, and I'd be proud to wear my really shitty clans skin (Go ODDBALLS!).

How would these implementions do any good for QW?