User panel stuff on forum
  21 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2011-03-06, 08:06
112 posts

Nov 2010
-------BEGIN EDIT-------

It is now official, that I am now working with the QWL team to help assist in the development of the ranking and ladder system.
http://www.quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=59732

-------END EDIT----------

Background

I am DG|Cyanide, a QW obsessed North American oldschooler from the 1996-2000 era, part of a popular USA clan (at the time) called clan Doppelganger. I returned to QW in 2010 and unsurprisingly everyone’s skills had far surpassed mine. Since the game of QW was more fun than I ever remembered, I knew that I would improve throughout the year as I practiced and bought new hardware (instead of a ball mouse).

Part of the fun of QW for me is the process of practicing, improving, and comparing myself to others. Since I am a software engineer by day, I wanted to use this coding ability to somehow quantify my improvements throughout the year. In the spring of 2010 I wrote a crude utility to parse MVDs and extract match results. I downloaded hundreds of demos from the USA servers for several months, and I came up with a very simple rating system that would calculate a player’s ‘skill’ based upon all of the match results. It turned out to be quite accurate, but I put this project on hold. Until now.

The QR System – Introduction

There are many ways to measure a player’s performance. The most common and most used is a Win/Loss ratio. Other rating systems use more detailed match data such as number of frags, efficiency, number of matches, etc. I wanted to create a rating system that was

• Simple
• Accurate
• Accounts for opponent rating
• Rating can be calculated after just 1 match
• Not affected by # of matches

One of the downsides of the W/L ratio is that it makes it almost impossible to compare the performance of two players by just looking at this ratio, since is easy to go undefeated against much less skilled players.