User panel stuff on forum
  14 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2010-09-08, 22:33
Member
126 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
I've been thinking about change to Windows 7 from XP. Does Windows 7 work good with Ezquake?, any known problems?

X_X
2010-09-08, 23:05
Member
55 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
No problems here.
2010-09-09, 08:58
Member
10 posts

Registered:
Aug 2010
No problems here either.
2010-09-09, 09:19
Moderator
1329 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
GODIS! wrote:
Does Windows 7 work good with Ezquake?, any known problems?

Yes, there is a known problem that can occur on certain computers with integrated audio chip, making ezQuake to have higher ping and even pl, but this problem can be fixed easily.

Other than that, I think W7 runs ezQuake even better than XP, at least I have had less "problems" with it (ie. NVIDIA drivers + threaded optimization tricks not needed on W7).
Servers: Troopers
2010-09-10, 11:53
Member
459 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
Good to know. Planning to upgrade from XP sp3 to W7 soon, along with a SSD disk and some more RAM.
2010-09-10, 12:46
Member
10 posts

Registered:
Aug 2010
I love my SSD, stupidly quick
2010-09-10, 16:07
Administrator
869 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
SSD disk?
Win7 is ftw btw!
Join us on discord.quake.world
2010-09-10, 17:39
Member
284 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
bps wrote:
SSD disk?
Win7 is ftw btw!

Solid State Disk, ya heard?

I certainly recommend getting an SSD for the OS, games and apps and then a big quiet hd for media and other shit.

I'm rolling with:

Asus PT6SE - Intel i7-930 @ 3,5GHz - Corsair 6GB ram - 2x ATI 4850 - Intel X25-M 80GB - Western Digital 1TB - SilverStone Raven01 - ViewSonic Fuhzion VX2268wm 120hz - Windows 7

Been very happy with w7 so far. Overriding the USB polling rate was quite a bit more difficult than in XP, but outside of that it's been smooth and fast (except ati in qw )
2010-09-12, 00:39
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
I rather wait until the SSD tech can optimally use sata3 and until the prices are lower. Much lower. Absolutely no need for SSD whatsoever.

I'm still on P-ATA and have my monitor at 60hz and with Fodquake, it's probably just as smooth as these crazy setups I read about here
2010-09-16, 09:28
Member
126 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
megalodon wrote:
I rather wait until the SSD tech can optimally use sata3 and until the prices are lower. Much lower. Absolutely no need for SSD whatsoever.

I'm still on P-ATA and have my monitor at 60hz and with Fodquake, it's probably just as smooth as these crazy setups I read about here

60hz can never be smooth as 120...
2010-09-16, 12:35
Administrator
1022 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
megalodon wrote:
I rather wait until the SSD tech can optimally use sata3 and until the prices are lower. Much lower. Absolutely no need for SSD whatsoever.

I'm still on P-ATA and have my monitor at 60hz and with Fodquake, it's probably just as smooth as these crazy setups I read about here

Good joke

SSD is by far the best upgrade one can do, imo, if the computer otherwise is pretty decent.
2010-09-16, 15:11
Administrator
326 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Have to agree, megadolon has no frakking idea what he is talking about
ready!
2010-09-25, 11:00
Member
5 posts

Registered:
Sep 2010
No issues here. Runs perfectly.
2011-10-07, 10:10
Member
693 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Renzo wrote:
GODIS! wrote:
Does Windows 7 work good with Ezquake?, any known problems?

Yes, there is a known problem that can occur on certain computers with integrated audio chip, making ezQuake to have higher ping and even pl, but this problem can be fixed easily.

Other than that, I think W7 runs ezQuake even better than XP, at least I have had less "problems" with it (ie. NVIDIA drivers + threaded optimization tricks not needed on W7).

I think I have this issue - how is this problem fixed?
  14 posts on 1 page  1