User panel stuff on forum
  5 posts on 1 page  1
Strategies & Tactics
2010-04-06, 00:41
2 posts

Apr 2010
I started playing QuakeWorld around 2 months ago, but I seldom practiced. My practice was mainly jumping, and I started dueling yesterady. I had this match against trygve on DM6 and I would like some feedback on it (things I did wrong, things I need to practice, etc.)

http://challenge-tv.com/demos/view/37264

P.S.lease don't be too harsh, I've only had a bit of practice
2010-04-06, 09:56
30 posts

Oct 2008
Only watched 5 of the game but going to give you some tips.

first get a good weapon, you ignored the rl when you spawned at ra, that should be your first priority.

next, your jumping need some further practice and it will get better. you could try to do the jump-starter-twitch a little slower to gain the necessary speed to start the jump and maybe do it in a kind af arch (as illustrated). when you get better you will feel whats too slow/fast, dont worry, you'll get there =).

_____>
/
|
\

* = where you start, > = direction of jump.
at first only +forward and in the middle of the arch you also press +right, if turning right, to gain extra speed. then just let go of +forward when doing the jump, only to press +right when turning right and vice versa, but you probably already knew that =)

Try listening more where your opponent is, and try spamming some rockets/gl and see if some of them hits.

try focusing more on your opponent and not i.e the closest armor. if you're not shooting back at your opponent, putting some pressure on him, you're an easy target. try facing him all the time aswell so you could see where he is and what he does.

If you keep playing you'll get better, dont worry about it.
try doing some trickmaps to practice jumping and movement (ztrain, ztrain2, ssj, trick, zjump, ztrick, ztrick2).

good luck =)
2010-04-06, 20:58
226 posts

Jun 2006