User panel stuff on forum
  52 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
LAN tournaments
2010-01-10, 01:58
47 posts

Mar 2006
Background (skip this if you're not interested in why)
As many of you must have noticed, the standard of organization of qhlan hasn't been the same the last 5 years or so as it used to. This is mainly due to three things.
1. Most of the old Qhlan crew quit lanning (got married, moved away, busy with jobs etc)
2. Galaxen (where we had qhlan 3, 5, 5.1, 6, 7, 7.1, 8, 8.1 and 9) was no longer an option.
3. I myself have had a lot of stuff going on giving me much less time and energy to pull stuff together.

When it became painfully apparent that we couldn't get a lot of things done in time for Qhlan 13 (getting the website up in time etc) I started to think more seriously about the future. I've been saying for a few years now that "by the time of next Qhlan I will be less busy and be able to do a lot more" but that has never happened, and I can't guarantee it will in the future either. So I've come up with a solution which doesn't depend on as many unknown factors, and which will solve most of the problems we've had for the last couple of lans.

Hazard
Since Qhlan 3, we've been working together with a lan organization called hazard. We help out at each others lans, lend out equipment etc.
They are holding 2 lans of their own each year, week 9 (sportlovet) and week 44 (höstlovet), with an attendance between 150 and 300 for the past few years. They are now expanding a bit, with dedicated "progaming" sections for Counterstrike and DotA at their next lan, and a prize pool of 76 000 SEK (~7 500 euro).
They have a really good venue (a big school 15km south of Stockholm which was renovated for 20M euro a few years ago) with room for about 500 lanners, great spectating areas, showers, heating and ac =), good electricity/Internet connection etc... all at a pretty low rent.