User panel stuff on forum
  35 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
Client Talk
2009-10-20, 21:42
Member
188 posts

Registered:
Jan 2007
Just in time for EQL10, Fodquake 0.2 has been released!

If you just want to get right at it, here are the links to the archives:
PPC MorphOS
AMD64 Linux
i386 Linux
Source code - GPL v2

For those who don't know it already, Fodquake is what evolved from my modifications to Fuhquake to make it more portable and working better on Linux and MorphOS and non-i386 CPUs. It has also been my testbed for various fun projects, such as running Quake on a Nintendo Wii. This year, with Jogi joining in and helping with development, Fodquake has seen a lot of progress, and while it's not yet as polished as it could be, and thus not a version 1 release, we believe that it is now at a state where it could be useful to the public.

Notable changes from Fuhquake 0.31:
- New networking code, both on the lower and upper layer, making QW networking independent from rendering.
- Much improved support for Linux, MorphOS and PPC and AMD64 CPUs.
- New, integrated server browser to easily find a match.
- Command line arguments made obsolete. Starts and just works!
- Lots of security issues fixed. (though many undoubtedly still remain. Use at your own risk!)
- EQL ruleset, for use in the upcoming EQL10.

An - unfortunately incomplete - changelog is attached at the end of this post.

With this being a preview release that hasn't been too widely tested, various issues will no doubt crop up. Come visit us at #fodquake on Quakenet for help, bug reports, suggestions or flames!

And last but not least, a big thank you to everyone who helped test Fodquake and made it what it is now.

Fodquake changelog wrote:
Version 0.2
===========
- Rewrote the QW networking code.
- New ruleset code including EQL support.

Version 0.1 (since Fuhquake 0.31)
=================================
- Rewrote build system. It no longer sucks.
- Support for big endian systems.
- Support for 64 bit systems.
- Support for MorphOS.
- Support for FreeBSD.
- Support for NetBSD.
- Support for Nintendo Wii.
- Support for IPv6.
- Many fixes to the X11 support, including fullscreen support.
- GLX and X11 now share the same mouse code, which has had many improvements.
- Clipboard support for X11.
- Support for building Win32 target with MinGW.
- Non-platform specific code (lots of software rendering logic, mouse
acceleration handling, etc...) has been moved out from the platform
specific files where the code was previously duplicated before.
- FTE-compatible support for compression of network data.
- Command line arguments are no longer needed. Every option can be set by
regular Quake cvars. Command line options are converted into their
respective cvars for legacy reasons.
- Sound system parameters can be changed while Quake is running and sound can
be completely turned on/off as well without a restart.
- Fixed several security issues.
- General code clean up. Now uses fewer globals, especially doesnn't use
globals for argument passing.
- Console ctrl+pageup/pagedown scrolling fixed to scroll the correct amount of
lines in all cases. That means always having one line from the previous page
visible.
- Fixed an issue with small s_mixahead values and long QW uptimes.
- No longer consumes 100% CPU time when much less is actually required.
- Fixed GLX support for smart drivers and graphics hardware which isn't fast
enough.
- Fixed various issues with displays that don't have a 4:3 ratio.
- Added support for FTE chunked downloads. Downloads can be much faster now on
compatible servers.
- Now works correctly as a spectator on servers which support
Z_EXT_PM_TYPE/Z_EXT_PM_TYPE_NEW.
- Added scr_scoreboard_titleseperator, set to 1 draws the original QW
scoreboard title seperator.
- No longer lets broken mods (hint: they start with the letters 'kt') change
the rate cvar. If the server asks for the cvar to be changed, only the
userinfo will be changed, and the value will be restored when disconneting
from the server.
- '%%' can now be used to output a literal '%' in chat strings.
- Removed the 'lookstrafe', 'lookspring', 'freelook', 'v_centermove',
'v_centerspeed', 'cl_anglespeedkey' and 'cl_movespeedkey' cvars and the
'+mlook', '-mlook', '+klook', '-klook', '+speed', '-speed', '+strafe',
'-strafe' and 'centerview' commands.
- Added a server browser (made by Jogi)
- Added file checksumming used by f_modified.
- Added a video mode selection menu.
- ALSA support ripped off from FTE.
2009-10-20, 21:47
Member
81 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
Congrats Bigfoot and Jogi hogi .
2009-10-20, 21:51
Member
55 posts

Registered:
Jan 2009
this is sweet. will have to give it a try
2009-10-21, 04:20
Member
357 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Now I have a reason to reinstall ubuntu!
2009-10-21, 09:13
Member
1099 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
I am on Archlinux.

It does not load any map for me. When I enter for example "/map start" it does something invisible (loading symbol) but then I am left at the console. This happens in both sw and gl.

If you have focus stealing prevention (aka "do not give focus to new windows" you cannot interact with it. Ctrl-C is needed.

Startup time is amazing.
2009-10-21, 09:55
Member
188 posts

Registered:
Jan 2007
Spirit wrote:
I am on Archlinux.

It does not load any map for me. When I enter for example "/map start" it does something invisible (loading symbol) but then I am left at the console. This happens in both sw and gl.

I forgot to mention the things that there were no time to fix again. One of them is unfortunately local play. You currently have to connect to a server with it.

Spirit wrote:
If you have focus stealing prevention (aka "do not give focus to new windows" you cannot interact with it. Ctrl-C is needed.

I tried this by disabling automatic focusing of new windows with Window Maker, but both in window mode and fullscreen it works fine. In window mode I have to click the window first, of course, but in full screen mode input works fine. Which window manager are you using?
2009-10-21, 18:03
Member
28 posts

Registered:
Oct 2009
it is really good, feels awesome
ReppieDoksing!
2009-10-22, 18:05
Member
8 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
using linux gl..

1. Can't get all my mouse buttons working

2. Is it really using the evdev?
2009-10-22, 18:28
Member
8 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
3. feels very smooth..
2009-10-22, 18:31
Member
791 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
does this work on mac os x?
2009-10-23, 15:10
Member
319 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
I tried patching it to compile on OSX. Unfortunately I encounter an X11 error. I didn't bother figuring out why..
2009-10-23, 15:49
Member
188 posts

Registered:
Jan 2007
littleomar wrote:
using linux gl..

1. Can't get all my mouse buttons working

2. Is it really using the evdev?

It does if your X server does; if your X server doesn't, then configure it to do so

Newer versions of X.org seem to default to just using Evdev when available. If you're using an older X.org, it has to be configured manually which can be a bit tricky, but basically it goes like this:

1) Work out the event handler for your mouse.
cat /proc/bus/input/devices

will list them all. It can be quite spammy. In my case, it's this:
I: Bus=0003 Vendor=046d Product=c01e Version=0110
N: Name="Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse"
P: Phys=usb-0000:00:1d.0-1/input0
S: Sysfs=/class/input/input3
U: Uniq=
H: Handlers=mouse2 event3
B: EV=17
B: KEY=ff0000 0 0 0 0
B: REL=103
B: MSC=10

On the line starting with 'H:', it says event3... That's the information we need to know.

Next up, edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf. In the InputDevice section that probably mentions something like:
Driver "mouse"

Replace that with:
Driver "evdev"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/event3"

If your mouse had, say, event1 instead, you'd use event1 in xorg.conf.

After a restart of the X server, all mouse buttons should hopefully work.
2009-10-23, 15:55
Member
188 posts

Registered:
Jan 2007
dEus wrote:
does this work on mac os x?

Tuna wrote:
I tried patching it to compile on OSX. Unfortunately I encounter an X11 error. I didn't bother figuring out why..

A friend of mine has mentioned that he'd be interested in doing a Mac OS X port of Fodquake. He's a bit busy right now, but hopefully within a few weeks.
2010-04-13, 23:08
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
I like it. I miss my HUD_ownfrags, but in terms of smoothness it's amazing.

Now some people didn't like the old HUD style, but after messing around with conwidth/height settings, and some HUD graphics I got it to look like this:
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/8096/fodquake009.jpg



This is totally playable for me

I hope local host will be fixed in next release so I can play against bots too.

The only weird thing is that sometimes I got the feeling my weapon scripts didn't work as they are supposed to. I had the SSG a couple of times, but couldn't shoot with it... weird.

Oh, and for the guys that don't know, fakeshaft = cl_truelightning here. Once I set it to 0.8, I was shafting again like a madman
2010-04-13, 23:24
Member
357 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
Why everything is red?
"the quieter you become, the more you are able to hear"
2010-04-14, 00:56
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
time! wrote:
Why everything is red?

There's color change of the screen when a player has quad or pent. Haven't searched yet how to turn it off. It's the same when you go in the water, but different color. It's oldschool stuff I guess.

Now go to sleep
2010-04-14, 01:06
Member
357 posts

Registered:
Nov 2008
v_quadcshift 0
v_pentcshift 0
v_ringcshift 0
v_suitcshift 0
v_lightcshift 0

Will fix it
"the quieter you become, the more you are able to hear"
2010-04-14, 18:51
Member
370 posts

Registered:
May 2006
oldschool stuff FTW
Custom maps for the show, episodes for the pro.
2010-04-15, 00:53
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
All settings you want Fodquake to remember MUST be saved to autoexec which will be saved in the Fodquake/configs dir. So you must manually put the autoexec.cfg in the id1 dir if you want it to work next time you start FodQuake

And indeed Flepser, I love oldschool stuff, even though I like to blend it a bit with newschool as well I mean, even for making these simple brightskins I searched a bit on info for quake palette etc and I came across oldschool websites....I just love that stuff
2010-04-15, 00:54
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
time! wrote:
v_quadcshift 0
v_pentcshift 0
v_ringcshift 0
v_suitcshift 0
v_lightcshift 0

Will fix it

Ah .. must try that
2011-02-04, 00:19
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
gl_polyblend "0" (turns 'm all off = easier )
2011-02-07, 02:00
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
BTW: I created some new brightskins for myself, but perhaps other ppl like to use them as well...

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/7017/megfodskins.jpg



Here's the link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2FK2GEZV

//Skin Settings
enemyskin "MEGENEMY" // the yellow&white on screenshot
enemyquadskin "MEGQUAD" // blue&white
enemypentskin "MEGPENT" // red&white
enemybothskin "MEGPENTQUAD" // red&blue
r_fullbrightSkins "1"

(bright)Green isn't available in the Quake palette, so....Buffy/Zombie, don't ask me to make one
2011-02-07, 03:55
Administrator
1833 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
If you want bright green, you can just edit your palette
2011-02-07, 10:16
Member
35 posts

Registered:
May 2009
Hmm cool, although now enemies look like Power Rangers Thx mega
2011-02-07, 14:22
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
Zalon wrote:
If you want bright green, you can just edit your palette

But won't it look fucked up in-game? The Quake palette is very specific. pants and shirt must use specific colors, even within the palette. A wrong color on the pants or shirt, and BAM, the skin looks screwed up. I've noticed this with a lot of the old custom skins as well: most of them don't look good in-game. So basicly, I restricted myself to using these colors that I know will work. The blue color I use for example, is actually purple.

But if you know for sure a certain bright green color will work, I'd love to know the color #value...
2011-02-07, 15:13
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
angryfish wrote:
Hmm cool, although now enemies look like Power Rangers Thx mega

Yes, I didn't like the yellow&white... so I changed it into this:
http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/5305/enemyskin.jpg


Added some goggles as well I will do that for the other skins too and update the pack...
2011-02-07, 15:57
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
OK, done.

http://img806.imageshack.us/img806/7017/megfodskins.jpg



DL url:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=E8LLL73C
2011-02-07, 16:16
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/7711/fodquake006.jpg




BTW: I looked at my version and I use Fodquake 0.3, but on Fodquake.net I only see 0.2....
2011-02-07, 18:19
Member
81 posts

Registered:
Aug 2007
Here are ones which i use myself -> http://korni.ovh.org/temp/lobase.tar.bz2
http://korni.ovh.org/temp/lobase_preview.png


Example settings:


//Skin Settings
teamskin "lobase"
enemyskin "lobase"
teamquadskin "lobasequad"
enemyquadskin "lobasequad"
teampentskin "lobasepent"
enemypentskin "lobasepent"
teambothskin "lobaseboth"
enemybothskin "lobaseboth"
baseskin "lobase"
noskins "0"
r_fullbrightSkins "1"

teamcolor 5 4
enemycolor 13 2
2011-02-07, 18:37
Member
685 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
Korni, does this mean the user can choose the enemycolor himself?
  35 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page