User panel stuff on forum
  7 posts on 1 page  1
Help
2008-06-25, 07:04
Member
3 posts

Registered:
Jun 2008
Hi, i recently decided to get back into Quake after many many years away.

I downloaded the game from Steam, then installed the EzQuake launcher,
but when i run the game i get really screwed graphics.

Pic here: http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n12/Ravish_27/ezquakewtf.jpg

Im running XP sp3, Geforce6600GT with latest driver set.
Fully updated DX 9.
Using 19inch CRT and also have it running on my 32inch LCD with similar results.

I've attempted to remove and reinstall the drivers and DirectX several times without any change.

Please help!

Thanks in advance.
2008-06-25, 08:17
Member
21 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Get http://nquake.com/ and see if the problem still exist.
2008-06-25, 12:28
Member
3 posts

Registered:
Jun 2008
That is the installer i used, the application it installs is called ezQuake.

Sorry for the confusion and thanks for the reply.


Ps- I reinstalled Warsow to play around with until i found a solution and it does much the same thing so its not just ezQuake/nQuake. Perhaps this helps?
2008-06-25, 12:52
Member
705 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
try gl_clear and gl_ztrick 1 and 0, also make sure you use the latest graphics card driver from your manufacturer (to all devices/chips) mobo cpu bios etc.
2008-06-25, 12:55
Member
792 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
do other 3d games work? i don't think it has to do with a lack of updated drivers, if anything your hard-/ software is *too* new

edit: ok just checked, the geforce6600GT isn't one of these dx10 high end monsters. i was confused about that.
2008-06-25, 13:06
Member
3 posts

Registered:
Jun 2008
Thank you for your help, but i just found the solution.

While reinstalling my drivers for about the 5th time, i tried playing around with the performance settings.

It seems the "performance" settings on the nvidia control panel was causing the issue, once set to "Let the 3d application decide" it works perfectly. (As opposed to max performance setting i had it on previously)

Weird but either way it works now thank god. =D

Probably something to remember next time someone has an issue with an nvidia card.
2008-06-25, 15:01
Member
47 posts

Registered:
Feb 2007
the gl_ztrick fixed the same issue for me before
  7 posts on 1 page  1