User panel stuff on forum
  32 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
General Discussion
2008-03-19, 11:05
Administrator
1025 posts

Apr 2006
Been discussing with several people about how skills in pov, meaning lg- and movement skills, are usefull at all
when playing regular maps dmm3. Might be a 4on4 on dm3 or something like it.

Taking myself as example:
When I started playing again seriously in december 07 I used fakeshaft 1.0 and played pretty much povdmm4. I felt that
this might not have been the best solution to practice LG-aim in general, since you don't have a clue about where the real shaft is (doh).
But this made me keep the crosshair on the opponent and as I feel this has given me a much better SG aim than before.
(Ofcouse when playing with 12ms, fakeshaft 0 or 1 doesn't make That much difference, so LG aim will improve too ofc. )

Regarding movement I also feel that you improve your dodingskills both when it comes to lg and especially RL.
Both beeing useful in all types of games.

Most people on the otherside think that povdmm4 doesn't tell anything about aim or movement on a regular map, and I agree
to some level, for example when the map has several floors (like dm4), and being pretty narrow, with a lot of things to hide behind and so on.
Otherwise I feel that it has improved my aim and movement overall. (playing with fakeshaft 0 or 0.5 atm)

What are your experience?
2008-03-19, 12:21
Administrator
2059 posts

Jan 2006
My experience is that i get beaten black and blue on povdmm4 and also on end to some extent, but do OK in the other game modes anyway.
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2008-03-19, 12:23
485 posts

Feb 2006
I have found dmm4 the quickest way of getting my aim somewhat tolerable after a week of not playing at all. More than 15 minutes of it at once causes utter boredom, though.
2008-03-19, 12:37
55 posts

Jul 2006
Play som E1M7 for RL practice.
2008-03-19, 12:47
1329 posts

Apr 2006
fog wrote:

No help at all.