User panel stuff on forum
  52 posts on 2 pages  First page12Last page
Graphics Discussion
2008-02-19, 13:54
21 posts

Jun 2007
First read 'the forbidden topic':
http://www.quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2720

As a quake3cpm player, and as a quakeworld rookie, I was wondering why shaft is a forbidden topic in quakeworld.

All other shaft animations seem to be considered cheats, and even the implemented gl_lightning 1 detailed particle shaft seems to be considered a cheat by some people.

I wonder why this is, why is the quakeworld community so against different shaft animations, and why are models like this http://gfx.qwdrama.com/details/42/ considered a cheat?

I don't get the reasoning behind it, a cheat to me is,
Something that takes over a function the player should perform himself.
Using a tool, external program, or technique to gain an unfair advantage over the opponent.

But how does a different animation give you such advantage, or take over a function?

You could say that a straight shaft animation gives you an advantage, where as it's just less anoying really, not 'easier' nor does it give you uberaim magically.

Any decent player with straight shaft still wouldnt outaim any player that has been playing with the default shaft animation for a long time, it's all a matter of user preference and getting used to.

And with that said, what would you like to see in ezQuake 1.9?
2008-02-19, 15:44
805 posts

Mar 2006
We already have a alternative eye-candy particle system in ezQuake, wich can be used to spectate games and watch demos.

Straightshaft makes Quake looks weird and totally not Quakeish. Then I'm totally against this thing to become some sort of default.
https://tinyurl.com/qwbrasil - QuakeFiles
2008-02-19, 16:12
21 posts

Jun 2007
Who said it would be some sort of default?
2008-02-19, 16:19
1435 posts

Jan 2006
Terife: changing subject + adding some text to your post would be nice, otherwise we don't know what you want
2008-02-19, 17:29