User panel stuff on forum
  20 posts on 1 page  1
Graphics Discussion
2008-02-11, 21:32
21 posts

Jun 2007
As a quake3cpm player, and as a quakeworld rookie, I was wondering why shaft is a forbidden topic in quakeworld.

All other shaft animations seem to be considered cheats, and even the implemented gl_lightning 1 detailed particle shaft seems to be considered a cheat by some people.

I wonder why this is, why is the quakeworld community so against different shaft animations, and why are models like this http://gfx.qwdrama.com/details/42/ considered a cheat?

I don't get the reasoning behind it, a cheat to me is,
Something that takes over a function the player should perform himself.
Using a tool, external program, or technique to gain an unfair advantage over the opponent.

But how does a different animation give you such advantage, or take over a function?

You could say that a straight shaft animation gives you an advantage, where as it's just less anoying really, not 'easier' nor does it give you uberaim magically.

Any decent player with straight shaft still wouldnt outaim any player that has been playing with the default shaft animation for a long time, it's all a matter of user preference and getting used to.
2008-02-11, 21:51
Administrator
2059 posts

Jan 2006
I think this was a bit different topic when the cl_fakeshaft command was banned too, then the straight shaft would give more of an edge than it does if you use cl_fakeshaft 1 at the moment.

I'm no good shafter though, but as you aren't allowed to change any model to be compliant to the f_modified command, i think it's like it should be at the moment.

Edit: For reference: A list of models/sounds checked by the f_modified command
www.facebook.com/QuakeWorld
2008-02-11, 21:57
11 posts

Nov 2006
u can change lg color by changing bolt2_0.png

gl_lightning 1 and other animation allows you to see your opponent better when he shooting your face
2008-02-11, 21:59
626 posts

Jan 2006