User panel stuff on forum
  16 posts on 1 page  1
Rookies' Corner
2007-10-11, 19:14
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Ok I am wanting to run Quake 1 on this rig

P3 733
512 mb ram
on board Intel grx card, 82815 if anyone needs to know...that's the 810 chipset.

Now I have it installed and all is working fine except for when someone shoots then I get a lot of scene clipping as well as the sound.

Obviously I can run Q1 as I run Q2 and other older fps'ers like that on this rig.

I have res set at 1024@75Mhz refresh rate.

Other then that I have the stock setting's.

I am thinking that it has to do with the GL drivers, since my GL is software rendered.

Anyone can help me?

I'd be most grateful...

CC.
2007-10-11, 19:20
Member
1026 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
screenshots please
god damn hippies >_<
2007-10-11, 19:35
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Aquashark wrote:
screenshots please

What do you want a ss of?

It looks normal, just cllips a lot when shooting happens...why I don't know.

How will a SS help?

CC.
2007-10-11, 20:08
Member
1099 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
What do you mean by "clipping"? I guess Aquashark wonders about this too.
2007-10-11, 20:14
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
I have solved the probelm...Sorry guys to waste your time.

It really helps when I RTFM instead of rushing into it...lol.

What I did was install the nquake installer right into my quake dir.

I read the man pages and it said to create a new dir and include the 2 pak files only then install ezquake into that dir...doh!

So I reinstalled it and it works flawlessly...lol...

I'm certainly getting off on the right foot around here....

CC.
2007-10-11, 22:18
Member
229 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Quake 1 or quakeworld? If its quakeworld try lowering your resolution to 640x480 and use "fast settings" in graphics settings in latest ezquake.
2007-10-11, 23:58
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Hrm...well I didn't realize there was a difference I guess.

It is in fact Quakeworld.

Now When I install EzQuake, it works flawlessly except there is no bot included as far as I know and when I install the nQuake option available on this site, it clips a lot...the sound and video. It says that my pings are 120 when I atemting to play on my own pc!

EzQuake works just fine at any res I set so why wouldn't nQuake?

The only difference I can see is the addition of a bot with which to practice...

Now I want to add that I am quite ignorant of how either of these applications work...I am not a programmer or anything of the sort. I started of playing Q1 as my first fps when it first came out...it spawned my addiction.

If anyone can help further it would be great as I would install nQuake in a minute but I cannot get it work right...

CC.
2007-10-12, 00:02
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
Spirit wrote:
What do you mean by "clipping"? I guess Aquashark wonders about this too.

By clipping, I mean stuttering...the video and sound show and doesn't go black but they seem to skip or stutter.

Thanks.

CC.
2007-10-12, 00:20
Member
705 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
nQuake is quite more cpu intensive cause of the included (higher quality) models textures etc. nothing wrong here.. please move along
2007-10-12, 01:29
Member
11 posts

Registered:
Oct 2007
ruskie wrote:
nQuake is quite more cpu intensive cause of the included (higher quality) models textures etc. nothing wrong here.. please move along

I'm sure that you're small minded spam was intended to hurt me in some way as small minded folks with little life experience tend to do but it actually helped me, along with J0n's post.

As I did not take this into consideration....I lowered the res and voila, it works great...

I tried it on my main rig and it worked fine so I couldn't quite figure it...ah but then the child speaks and it all becomes clear...lol.

What is it they say about a child's mind again....?

CC.

EDIT - Mods may close this thread t will....thanks...

- side note to developer's...if it isn't included perhaps you should include some min req specs...

Thanks.
2007-10-12, 07:22
Member
303 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
nQuake installer should have Orion's debug models with Prime skins, high poly models should be only an option.
2007-10-12, 14:54
Moderator
1329 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
CrazyCanuck wrote:
ruskie wrote:
nQuake is quite more cpu intensive cause of the included (higher quality) models textures etc. nothing wrong here.. please move along

I'm sure that you're small minded spam was intended to hurt me in some way as small minded folks with little life experience tend to do but it actually helped me, along with J0n's post.

As I did not take this into consideration....I lowered the res and voila, it works great...

I tried it on my main rig and it worked fine so I couldn't quite figure it...ah but then the child speaks and it all becomes clear...lol.

What is it they say about a child's mind again....?

CC.

EDIT - Mods may close this thread t will....thanks...

- side note to developer's...if it isn't included perhaps you should include some min req specs...

Thanks.

Don't take ruskie's post personally, he just stated the fact that nQuake comes with a bit more heavier graphics configuration and might cause some sort of stuttering on weaker machines.

P.S. I don't see any reason for closing the thread.
Servers: Troopers
2007-10-12, 23:11
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
whoa, i wouldn't have guessed there were any PIII alive still
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
2007-10-13, 13:27
Member
312 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
and i didnt guess anyone had an intergrated intel graphics card on which quake works fine. with mine it certainly doesnt
2007-10-13, 14:42
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I have a p100 standing in the wardrobe with failing HDDs and 8mb of ram. Do I win?
2007-10-15, 19:25
Member
447 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Not if it doesn't run. I have four 486 computers lying about at home, but the real reason that I win is that my cock is bigger than yours.
Teamplay is nothing. Aim is everything. OBEY YOUR AIM

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9017/end2ub.jpg
  16 posts on 1 page  1