User panel stuff on forum
  125 posts on 5 pages  First page12345Last page
Client Talk
2007-09-18, 13:57
188 posts

Jan 2007
dakoth wrote:
I wouldn't say he doesn't care. He obviously does, or he wouldn't go through all the trouble of explaining WHY the fundamental idea behind the current security module is stupid.

I think it's too late. Either it's because I'm part of that evil FTE gang where we apparently a few years ago ran a smear campaign against Ezquake, despite me not having touched the FTE code until more than half a year after the supposed incident, or maybe it's because I'm somehow 'helping' a leage Molgrum is running which I until a few minutes ago didn't even know he was running, and I still don't know which one it is. Or well, insert your own silly conspiracy theory here.

dakoth wrote:
Here's my question though (and forgive me if it's a bit dumb, but I'm not a coder), shouldn't it be possible to place the security check server-side instead of client-side, and let a closed-source client-side module (sort of like the security module currently) verify itself and then send info from the client that is connected to the server (which the client-module and the server-module can ensure are one and the same) which allows the server-module to verify that the client is unmodified?

The thing is that you're being deceived by the 'closed-source' thing. Just because you don't easily have the source code does not mean you can't figure out how it works or even work around it without even knowing how it works.

What you described is pretty much how it works now, except that the server would be the other clients. The problem is not in the verifying the response from the obscurity module, which is the part you want to move to the server. The problem is that you're asking the client to reliably determine if it is cheating or not, which it's completely impossible as long as the player has access to the computer he is playing on.

dakoth wrote: