User panel stuff on forum
  13 posts on 1 page  1
General Discussion
2007-04-12, 20:03
55 posts

Jul 2006
I just feel like commenting on the ongoing discussion regarding the future of QW (Quake1 in general):

I probably don't know most of you, but I was very active years ago. I started playing Quake1 online from late December 1996/January 1997, even before Quakenet was created by NBI-Garfield and another guy, and played in such Danish clans as TGM (The Green Machine), NBI (Nasty Beasts Inc), WI (Whiners Inc), CN (Chopstick Ninjas) and TUD (The Ugly Ducklings). Around 1998 or so, I was part of the TGM HPW team and we were ranked #1 on AFITD (A Frag in the Darkness) for about three straight months.

Personally, I have never given up the game but as you grow older your priorities change. I was swept away by Quake (ie. the REAL Quake - not rotten Quake 2 and 3. I haven't even bothered checking out Quake 4 as there can be only one), and I started playing online shortly before my 18th birthday. I am now 28 years old. I played competitively until early 2000, and my work, girlfriends and such took over. Although I was never gone from Quakenet (I administer #quake.dk), I had little time to play. From time to time I played a bit, and also NQ/RQ which I still find amusing and nostalgic.