User panel stuff on forum
  13 posts on 1 page  1
Advanced Configuration
2007-01-27, 20:22
Member
2 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
I've turned a bit of a corner in my Quaking after all of these years, and it comes I think from totally reorganizing my config. Since I've FPS to spare and a fat pipe, I've turned all eyecandy to max and, for the first time in 9 years, turned on the gun. I've done this recently in Q3 and found it really improved my aim with the railgun but damn, I'm shooting better than ever now in QW too. With the ability to bind all of the Logitech mouse buttons I'm also more efficient with weapon switching (although I'm still getting used to thinking differently than the run-and-gun approach I've used all these years).

Now to the point of this thread. I'm looking to refine my config more, and I'd like some discussions/suggestions. First topic is mwheel. I've currently bound rl to mwheelup and lg to mwheeldown. STEEK says this is a bad config, and that I should have important weapons like rl and lg set to space (Ive nothing bound here at the mo) and shift. I've double shotgun bound to shift, and STEEK has argued that there is no time when you need to get to this gun fast. He has mwheel bound to quad timer, and uses the wheel to set the time up or down.

But that's STEEK What are your opinions on these matters?
2007-04-01, 00:52
Member
252 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
Personally, I would use +rl +lg +gl et cetera scripts
here are mine:

alias +gl "impulse 6 5 4 3 2 1;+attack"
alias -gl "-attack"
alias +lg "impulse 8 5 3 4 2;+attack"
alias -lg "-attack"
alias +rl "impulse 7 6 8 5 3 4 2;+attack"
alias -rl "-attack"
alias +sg "impulse 2 1;+attack"
alias -sg "-attack"
alias +sng "impulse 5 4 3 2 1;+attack"
alias -sng "-attack"
alias +ssg "impulse 3 2 1;+attack"
alias -ssg "-attack"
alias +axe "impulse 1;+attack"
alias -axe "-attack"

other commands that i think are important and my values: v_viewheight -6 (makes your vision the perfect centre of where fire comes out), cl_rollangle 5, cl_rollspeed 200//for prediction of motion.
'on 120 ping i have beaten mortuary dirtbox and reload' (tm) mz adrenalin
'i watched sting once very boring and not good at all' (tm) mz adrenalin
[i]'i shoulda won all
2007-04-01, 01:23
Member
2259 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
alias +qboom "impulse 2 3 5 4 1;+attack"
alias -qboom "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"
alias +qgrenade "impulse 6 5 3 4 2 1;+attack"
alias -qgrenade "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"
alias +qrocket "impulse 7 6 3 5 2 4 1;+attack"
alias -qrocket "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"
alias +qshaft "impulse 8 5 3 4 2 1;+attack"
alias -qshaft "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"
alias +qsng "impulse 5 4 3 2 1;+attack"
alias -qsng "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"
alias +qssg "impulse 3 5 2 4 1;+attack"
alias -qssg "-attack; impulse 2 4 1"

thats what I use

for more here:
http://quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?id=27
2007-04-01, 18:21
Member
1754 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
qboom?
qrocket?
why all the q ?
I agree with Runamok.foe, those aliases are in place
2007-04-02, 05:38
Member
252 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
it doesnt affect processing time at all to have different length aliases does it?
'on 120 ping i have beaten mortuary dirtbox and reload' (tm) mz adrenalin
'i watched sting once very boring and not good at all' (tm) mz adrenalin
[i]'i shoulda won all
2007-04-02, 06:36
Administrator
2058 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
no
2007-04-07, 02:48
Member
28 posts

Registered:
Apr 2007
So far I'm using mwheel for only 3 things.
By default, mwheel is bound to volume control.
Mouse4 button toggles volume/mp3 control used for mwheel

F12 changes the way mouse4 rebinds my mwheel, mode2 (by default) only toggles volume -> mp3
F12 mode1 toggles volume -> mp3 -> timers

I could only use mouse4 to change mwheel modes from Volume to Mp3 to Timers, but since I'm very often moving volume/mp3 sounds up and down, I made it easier for me, and since I dont play DM team games most of the time, I like to leave it at MP3/Vol toggle mode by default.

Here's my configs for mwheel so far

alias _mwheel_vol_mode1 "echo * MWHEEL(1) : Volume; bind mwheelup inc volume 0.05; bind mwheeldown inc volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_mp3_mode1"
alias _mwheel_mp3_mode1 "echo * MWHEEL(1) : Mp3 vol; bind mwheelup mp3_volume +0.05; bind mwheeldown mp3_volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_timers"
alias _mwheel_timers "echo * MWHEEL(1) : F7=Display F8=Q F9=RA F10=RL F11=666; bind mwheelup _timerInc; bind mwheeldown _timerDec; bind mouse4 _mwheel_vol_mode1"
alias _mwheel_vol_mode2 "echo * MWHEEL(2) : Volume; bind mwheelup inc volume 0.05; bind mwheeldown inc volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_mp3_mode2"
alias _mwheel_mp3_mode2 "echo * MWHEEL(2) : Mp3 vol; bind mwheelup mp3_volume +0.05; bind mwheeldown mp3_volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_vol_mode2"
alias _mwheel_mode1 "echo * Mode1 MWHEEL(1) : bound to switches : Volume/Mp3/Timers; bind mwheelup inc volume 0.05; bind mwheeldown inc volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_mp3_mode1; bind F12 _mwheel_mode2"
alias _mwheel_mode2 "echo * Mode2 MWHEEL(2) : bound to Switches : Volume/Mp3; bind mwheelup inc volume 0.05; bind mwheeldown inc volume -0.05; bind mouse4 _mwheel_mp3_mode2; bind F12 _mwheel_mode1"


bind F12 "_mwheel_mode1" // Changes the MWHEEL modes orders (on mouse4)


bind MOUSE4 "_mwheel_mp3_mode2" // Default mode, mouse4 toggles Volume/Mp3
bind MWHEELUP "_mwheel_vol_mode2" // Default MWHEEL item (volume) with default toggle mode 2 (vol-mp3)
bind MWHEELDOWN "_mwheel_vol_mode2"


I'm planning on making alot more use of it, like adding a scroll for player cam, demo speed, and maybe some others, also, maybe have a volume/mp3 echo toggler lol

Doum
2007-04-07, 06:20
Member
401 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
You can also remove all impulse commands in new ezquake.
This is what I use.


cl_weaponhide "1"
cl_weaponpreselect "1"

alias +lg "weapon 8 2; +attack"
alias -lg "-attack"

alias +rl "weapon 7 3 5 4 2 6; +attack"
alias -rl "-attack"

alias +gl "weapon 6 5 4 3 2; +attack"
alias -gl "-attack"

bind MOUSE1 "+lg"
bind MOUSE2 "+rl"
bind MOUSE3 "+gl"
bind MWHEELUP "_point" //point at teammates and items
bind MWHEELDOWN "_report" //status report
2007-04-09, 10:48
Member
4 posts

Registered:
Mar 2007
Well, I think you can bind weapons, but... At least most newbs (like me and other ppl I know) and other not-too-pro ppl just bind smiles, sound and other non-important stuff. It isn't professional, but IMHO keyboard has enough buttons
2007-04-09, 12:17
Member
252 posts

Registered:
Dec 2006
terror, whats the difference between "weapon 7 6 1" and "impulse 7 6 1" ?
'on 120 ping i have beaten mortuary dirtbox and reload' (tm) mz adrenalin
'i watched sting once very boring and not good at all' (tm) mz adrenalin
[i]'i shoulda won all
2007-04-10, 13:26
Member
401 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Well basically weapon command supports weapon preselection while impulse does not. This page of ezquake manual explains it nicely http://ezquake.sourceforge.net/docs/?weapon-handling
2007-04-26, 14:52
Member
66 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Peppe wrote:
qboom?
qrocket?
why all the q ?
I agree with Runamok.foe, those aliases are in place

q = quick. I actually named my aliases the same with a "q" in front of everything lots of years ago.
2007-04-26, 19:00
Member
355 posts

Registered:
Jun 2006
siikah wrote:
Peppe wrote:
qboom?
qrocket?
why all the q ?
I agree with Runamok.foe, those aliases are in place

q = quick. I actually named my aliases the same with a "q" in front of everything lots of years ago.

And if I remember correctly, Sassa is using Angua's config . Angua was weird with those
  13 posts on 1 page  1