User panel stuff on forum
  7 posts on 1 page  1
Client Talk
2006-10-31, 13:50
Member
2 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
im quite new to Quakeworld and one of the folks over at the PlanetQuake forums recommended ezQuake as a good client to connect to online Quakeworld games. I downloaded and installed the Mac OS X version but it doesnt seem to work for me at all. I open the app and am faced with a black empty screen, and nothing happens. any ideas?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/e/e1/Citiza_kane.jpg/200px-Citiza_kane.jpg
2006-11-01, 17:49
News Writer
278 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Your hardware, OS, all version and etc, plz.
2006-11-01, 22:31
Member
2 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
733 MHz G4 running OS 10.3.9

using EZQuake-GL Build 1517 and GLQuakeWorld version 1.0.6
2006-11-02, 00:27
Member
622 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
One thing you shuld do is to visit #ezquake on quakenet for further information.
There you will find the ezquake team, developers for MAC os and more.
2006-11-02, 00:53
Member
7 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
Don't try to run the non-GL version, it doesn't work.

To get the GL app to work, you'll need to go into the package contents, into the SharedSupport directory, and copy libpng12.0.1.whatever.dylib to the Quake root directory. Then go to the console and make a symbolic link to that file, and call it libpng12.dylib. The commands will look something like

cd /Applications/Quake/
cp EZQuake-GL.app/Contents/SharedSupport/libpng12.0.1.2.8.dylib ./
ln -s libpng12.0.1.2.8.dylib libpng12.dylib

Obviously change the first line to whatever directory where you've got your Quake files.
2006-11-02, 00:55
Member
7 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
also, there is no prepackaged Build 1517 for mac. The download is called ezquake-1514.dmg or something and when you run the game it says build 1521. I'm pretty sure there's a mismatch between the provided config files and the actual game binary, too, because sometimes when you are switching detail modes it spills a bunch of unknown command errors to the console.
2006-11-10, 21:27
Member
58 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
xnk wrote:
Don't try to run the non-GL version, it doesn't work.

Sure it does. I use it exclusively! Even after all these years software still owns my bones....
finem respice
  7 posts on 1 page  1